Staff

 

staff 

Amy Leisenring PhD, Director of The ACCESS Center, 408.924.5756, amy.leisenring@sjsu.edu

Dr. Amy Leisenring joined ACCESS as the director in August 2016. She also serves as a Professor of Sociology in the Department of Sociology and Social Sciences and has been a member of the faculty at SJSU since 2005. She received her Ph.D. in sociology from the University of Colorado in 2004, where she also received certification in Women's Studies and the Graduate Teacher Training Program. She holds a B.A. in sociology from Miami University of Ohio (1994) and an M.A. in sociology from New Mexico State University (1998).

She has published multiple articles in the areas of violence and victimization, focusing particularly on the experiences of women who have experienced intimate partner violence and the criminal justice system response to domestic violence. Her more recent scholarship is in the area of the sociology of higher education, focusing particularly on race, gender, and class-based inequalities and the way that they shape students’ experiences.

 

 Mel

Mel Brown M.Ed, Academic Advising Lead, 408.924.5461, melvin.brown@sjsu.edu

Before coming to ACCESS, Mel had been been working at SJSU for fifteen years as an Academic Advisor in Academic Advising & Retention Services. In that role, he served as an Orientation Advisor, College of Business Liaison, and Campus Late Drop & Withdraw Coordinator. He received a B.A. in Social Science here at San Jose State University and a Masters Degree in Education, Emphasis Higher Education Leadership at Northcentral University. He has also taught First-Year Experience courses Science 2 and Science 90 here at SJSU. Mel is also a Part Time Online Adunct Faculty at Southern New Hampshire University and Bakers College.

 

staff

Randy Caldwell, MA, Academic Advisor, 408.924.6267, randy.caldwell@sjsu.edu

Randy came from Big Bear High School in Southern California, Graduated with his B.A. in Psychology in 1990, and finished his Masters Degree in Educational Counseling in May of 2016, both here at San Jose State University. Randy also coordinates ACCESS Center Peer Advisors, and the Social Science 90 Course.

 

staff

Michael West, MA, Academic Advisor, 408.924.5364, michael.west@sjsu.edu

Michael is a multiracial first-generation college student who moved to San José from a small town in California's Central Valley, Lemoore. As an undergraduate student at San José State University, he majored in Behavioral Sciences and Psychology and was involved with organizations such as Generate, Psi Chi, ASPIRE, and the McNair Scholars Program. As a graduate student at San José State University, he completed an M.A. Degree in Counselor Education. He has served as a peer advisor for students at risk of academic disqualification, an intern with the Health and Wellness Promotion Center, and served as an instructor for an academic success course for incoming freshman titled Science 2. He has a strong passion to help students succeed and achieve their goals.

 

Rose Hunter, MA, Academic Advisor, rose.hunter@sjsu.edu 

Rose graduated from SJSU with a B.A. in Behavioral Science in 2012, and earned a Master’s Degree at SJSU in Counselor Education in May 2016. She is looking forward to working with students in the Social Science majors to assist them in accomplishing their academic goals.

Tabia Shawel, MA Academic Advisor, tabia.shawel@sjsu.edu

Tabia grew up in Southern California and attended Cal State LA where she received a B.A. in African American Studies. In 2012, she moved to the Bay Area to work with the AmeriCorps program which brought her to the SJSU campus. Since then, she's gained invaluable experience working with amazing departments and campus organizations. In addition to advancing professional endeavors, she is pursuing a Masters Degree in Justice Studies at SJSU and will finish the degree in May 2017.

 

staff

Hoan Nguyen, MA, AARS Liaison, 408.924.2043, hoan.nguyen@sjsu.edu

Hoan comes to us from Academic Advising & Retention Services. He is in the office part time assisting ACCESS in Undeclared Advising.

 

 

Our Student Peer Advisors

Our Peer Advisors come from various majors. They provide advising support for our Probation Students.

Celina Cesenacelina.cesena@sjsu.edu

Janna Dumlaojannadumlao@gmail.com

Gabriela Figueroa, gabriela.figueroa@sjsu.edu

Khaila Flores, khailazherine.flores@sjsu.edu

Suleyma Garcia, gpsuleyma@gmail.com

Kristin Lamkristin.lam@sjsu.edu

Jihun Lyujihun.lyu@sjsu.edu

Gema Ortizgema.ortiz@sjsu.edu

Sharon Qisharon.qi@sjsu.edu

Kelsey Riley, kelsey.riley@sjsu.edu

Payal Rohitpayal.rohit16@gmail.com

Claudia Sanchezclaudia.sanchez@sjsu.edu

Nay Tinnay.mintin@sjsu.edu