Faculty and Staff

Full Time Faculty

Picture of Department Chair Theodorea Berry Theodorea Regina Berry, Ed.D.
Professor and Chair

Email: theodorea.berry@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5871
Office: Washington Square Hall 216C
Steven M. Millner, Ph.D. Steven M. Millner, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Email: steven.millner@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5864
Office: Washington Square Hall 216G
Portrait of Associate Professor Akilah Carter Francique

Akilah R. Carter-Francique, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Email: akilah.carter-francique@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5853
Office: Washington Square Hall 216F

Wendy Thompson Taiwo, Ph.D. Wendy Thompson Taiwo, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: wendy.thompsontaiwo@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5878
Office: Washington Square Hall 216B
Photograph of Professor Ruth Wilson Ruth P. Wilson, Ph.D.
Professor

Email: ruth.wilson@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5861
Office: Dudley Moorhead Hall 224

Part-Time Faculty

Portrait of Dr. Gaines

Leah T. Gaines, Ph.D.
Lecturer & Outreach Coordinator

Email: leah.gaines@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5864
Office: WSQ 216G

Mark Akubundu Lott, M.U.P. Mark Akubundu Lott, M.U.P.
Lecturer

Email:mark.lott@sjsu.edu
Phone:
Office:
Portrait of Frank Ortega Frank Ortega, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Email: frank.ortega@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-5862
Office: Washington Square Hall 216G
Picture of Lecturer Bobby Seals Bobby Seals, M.A.
Lecturer

Email:bobby.m.seals@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-2706
Office: Washington Square Hall 216F
Tabia Shawel, M.S. Tabia Shawel, M.S.
Lecturer

Email: tabia.shawel@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-4587
Office: 
 Photo of Lecturer Leslye Tinson

Leslye M. Tinson, M.S., LMFT
Lecturer

Email:leslye.tinson@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-6596, (408) 924-6415 (WSQ)
Office: DMH 232, WSQ 216F

Portrait of Michelle Tran Michelle Tran, M.A.
Lecturer

Email: michelle.tran02@sjsu.edu
Phone:
Office:
Emmanuel J. Watkins, M.A. Emmanuel J. Watkins, M.A.
Lecturer

Email:emmanuel.watkins@sjsu.edu
Phone:
Office:
Khalid White, Ph.D. Khalid White, Ph.D.
Lecturer

Email:
Phone:
Office:
Photograph of Bernell Smithen

Bernell Smithen, M.A.
Lecturer

Email: bernell.smithen@sjsu.edu
Phone: (408) 924-2620
Office: Washington Square Hall 216F
Picture of Jacques Watkins

Jacques M. Turner-Watkins, M.A.
Lecturer

Email: jacques.watkins@sjsu.edu
Phone:
Office:
 Photograph of Briana Barner

Briana Barner, M.A.
Lecturer

Email: briana.barner@sjsu.edu
Phone:
Office:


Office Staff

Portrait of Tiffany Martinez

Department Coordinator: Tiffany Martinez
Portrait of Aarron Booker
Office Assistant: Aarron Booker
Portrait of AFAM Student Intern Aja Adams
AFAM Intern: Aja Adams