Staff Directory

About our Team

The San José State University Alumni Association is supported by a dynamic and caring staff that is responsive to the needs of our alumni. Additionally, students gain practical experience and put their classroom lessons to work through internships and student assistantships in our offices.

Who We Are

Brian Bates

Executive Director
Associate Vice President, Alumni Engagement and Annual Giving
408-924-6518 | brian.bates@sjsu.edu

Melissa Ferguson '03

Administrative Assistant
408-924-6515 | melissa.ferguson@sjsu.edu

Alumni Engagement and Events

Lauren Avina '08

Event Planner
408-924-1472 | lauren.avina@sjsu.edu

April Cole

Associate Director, Student Programs and Alumni Networks
408-924-6527 | april.cole@sjsu.edu

Clifton Gold '05

Event Planner
408-924-6505 | clifton.gold@sjsu.edu

Valerie Gonzales '04, '13

Assistant Director, Alumni Relations
408-924-1148 | valerie.gonzales@sjsu.edu

Nick Messing

Event Planner
408-924-8166 | nick.messing@sjsu.edu

Christy Poole '00

Membership and Finance Coordinator
408-924-6520 | christy.poole@sjsu.edu

Annual Giving

Nancy Stewart

Director of Annual Giving
408-924-1136 | nancy.stewart@sjsu.edu

Jason Brown

Annual Giving Officer
408-924-1190 | jason.brown@sjsu.edu

Carolyn Canete

Annual Giving Manager
408-924-1782 | carolyn.canete@sjsu.edu

Daan Giron '11

Director of Leadership Annual Giving
408-924-1143 | daan.giron@sjsu.edu

Muriel Isaac

Director of Leadership Annual Giving
408-924-1196 | muriel.isaac@sjsu.edu