Scholarship application workshops

Associated Students offers the following scholarships to San Jose State University students to help offset the costs of attending college. Apply through the Financial Aid and Scholarship Office starting in spring 2019 for the 2019-2020 academic year awards

Eligibility Requirements (for all awards):

  • All applicants must be matriculated students who have completed a minimum of 15 semester units at SJSU and are in good standing
  • Outgoing and past elected Associated Students officials are eligible to apply and receive an award.
  • Incoming elected officials are not eligible to receive the award
  • Awards based on financial need must be verified by the Financial Aid Office and require supporting documentation as determined from the FAFSA application.
  • Recipients are restricted to one A.S. Scholarship while attending SJSU.
  • Must meet eligibility based on S05-04 University Qualifications.
  • Award may not exceed a student's "cost of attendance" at San Jose State University and may affect their financial award package.
  • GPA requirement shall be determined by a cumulative GPA of 2.75 or 3.0 as indicated.

2018-2019 A.S. Scholarship Recipients

Students awarded an Associated Students' scholarship demonstrate exemplary leadership and involvement in campus and community life including: student organizations, sports, campus committees, volunteerism, community and civic activism. They also meet the following requirements for each scholarship type. A total of $82,000 was awarded to our deserving and admirable Spartans!

A.S. Legacy Award ($2,000)
Alicia Fernandez
Yovanna Gonzalez
Christopher Kim
Ming Qin Ooi
Rafael Ruvalcaba-Herrera

St Saffold Leadership Scholarship ($1,000)
Seena Eghtedar-Shenas
Carlos Escobar
Nazanin Ghavami
Melissa Maria Martinez
Jason Taylor, Jr.

A.S. Advocacy Award ($1,000)
Daniela Araya
Andrea Coto
Audrey Garcia
Helen Herrera-Montano
Maximillian Khan
Xiaoyan Macias
Stephanie Marquis
Kimiko McNeill
Sang Nguyen
Nicholas Nguyen
Nia Ricketts
Ariyon White
Stratos Xanthus
HaoXian Xian

A.S. First-Generation Student Scholarship ($500)
Elizabeth Aguilera
J. Alexander Gonzales Jr.
Kyle Hieb
Mya Irving
Rachel Juliano
Damien Levitt
Yongyi Lin
Leonela Lopez
Cynthia Luong
Amy-Elyse Neer
Salvatore Nicosia
Bryan Peraza
Pedro Salcedo
Jaire Sandoval
Jacqueline Valdivias Trujillo
Cameo Walker

A.S. Global Scholar Award ($500)
Omar Habra
Madeline Horn
Andrea Wong

A.S. Environmental Champion Award ($500)
Awarded to students who are champions for environmental sustainability in all aspects of campus and community life, foster awareness and education for peers, and demonstrate a passion for "going green." Students who have experience in developing or assisting sustainability initiatives and want to provide an eco-friendly world for generations to come.
Liana Hua

SJSU Salzburg Scholarship ($3500)
Awarded to students who help promote global citizenship. Chosen by a university-wide committee, the awardees attend a week-long session of the Global Citizenship Program hosted by the Salzburg Global Seminar in Schloss Leopoldskron palace in Austria. A.S. provides funding for students to attend the program.