Faculty

 

Tzvia Abramson

Tzvia Abramson
Director of SJSU Bridges Stem Cell Program (SCILL)

Office: DH 446
Phone: (408) 924-4872
E-mail: tzvia.abramson@sjsu.edu

Shannon Bros

Shannon Bros-Seemann

Office: DH 548
Phone: (408) 924-4896
E-mail: shannon.bros@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Ecology, Bio-statistics, Experimental design and Invertebrate Zoology. 

Shelley Cargill

Shelley Cargill

Office:
DH 541
Phone: (408) 924-4891
E-mail: shelley.cargill@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Female reproductive physiology, female reproductive impact on aging particularly ovarian influences on overall aging, effects of analgesics on angiogenesis in ovarian transplantation.

Rachael French

Rachael French

Office: DH 438
Phone: (408) 924-4894
E-mail: rachael.french@sjsu.edu

Jeffrey Honda

Jeffrey Honda

Office: DH 340
Phone: (408) 924-4877
E-mail:jeffrey.honda@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Entomology, biological control, insect ecology, molecular systematics and insect behavior.

Joanne Kerr

Joanne Kerr

Office:
DH 252
Phone: (408) 924-4893
E-mail: joanne.kerr@sjsu.edu

Susan Lambrecht

Susan Lambrecht

Office: DH 354
Phone: (408) 924-4838
E-mail:susan.lambrecht@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Plant ecology, especially reproductive and physiological ecology. Conservation, invasive plants, & climate change effects on plants, especially their ability to reproduce. Evolution of floral form & the relationships among floral form, plant physiology, and environment.

Elizabeth McGee

Elizabeth McGee

Office: DH 546
Phone: (408) 924-5277
E-mail: elizabeth.mcgee@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Macroevolutionary patterns and processes in primate evolution, particularly the effects of climate and geography on taxonomic survivorship in primates; application of stable isotope methods in paleoclimatic reconstructions; taphonomy and sampling bias in the fossil record; computer-based paleodiversity models.

William Murray

William Murray

Office:
DH 651
Phone: (408) 924-4856
E-mail:william.murray@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Bacterial molecular pathogenesis, epidemiology of infectious disease, zoonotic diseases, especially parasitic infections of humans, ecology of non-human vertebrate reservoirs of pathogens, molecular diagnostic techniques, clinical microbiology, cell imaging, public health microbiology.

Cleber Ouverney

Cleber Ouverney

Office: DH 439
Phone: (408) 924-4806
E-mail: cleber.ouverney@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Microbial ecology of emerging human pathogens by type and function through culture-independent molecular techniques.

Dr. Ouverney's Research Lab

Leslee Parr

Leslee Parr

Office: DH 555
Phone: (408) 924-4897
E-mail:leslee.parr@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Conservation genetics, population genetics, evolution, and systematics, especially related to marine mammals. Management of endangered marine mammals. Genetics of marine invertebrates in relation to larvae distribution and the size and spacing of marine preserves.

Sabine Rech

Sabine Rech
Director of the Master of Biotechnology Program

Office: DH 644
Phone: (408) 924-4832
E-mail:sabine.rech@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Environmental microbiology (specifically biodegradation of toluene and chlorinated aromatics) regulation of gene expression in bacteria, transport of metals.

Scott Shaffer

Scott Shaffer

Office: DH 340
Phone: (408) 924-4871
E-mail: scott.shaffer@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Physiological ecology of birds and mammals, with particular emphasis on marine species. Specialties include the use of doubly labeled water to measure field metabolic rates and animal energetics and the application of tracking and data logging technologies to study animal behavior, physiology, and ecology in the field.

Dr. Shaffers Lab

Elizabeth Skovran

Elizabeth Skovran

Office:
DH 535
Phone: (408) 924-4846
E-mail: elizabeth.skovran@sjsu.edu

Research interest:
Physiology and genetics of methylotrophic bacteria.  We use systems biology approaches along with classical genetic and biochemical techniques to understand the metabolic capacity of Methylobacterium extorquens in order to engineer these organisms to produce value added chemicals like biofuel from methanol.

Michael Sneary

Michael Sneary
Department Chair

Office: DH 254
Phone: (408) 924-4854
E-mail: michael.sneary@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Neurobiology: inner ear sensory systems; intracellular electrophysiology and iontophoresis of marker substances; reconstruction of innervation ultrastructure in 3 dimensions; evolution and biology of amphibians and reptiles.

Julio Soto

Julio Soto

Office: DH 447
Phone: (408) 924-4925
E-mail: julio.soto@sjsu.edu

Research interest: Identification of proteins involved in mRNA localization during embryonic development; mRNA stability; translational regulation; lineage analysis of mesodermally derived cells; identification of genes involved in mesoderm determination and differentiation.

Miri VanHoven

Miri VanHoven

Office: DH 554
Phone: (408) 924-4845
E-mail:miri.vanhoven@sjsu.edu

Research interest: We are interested in the molecular and genetic mechanisms of neural development and behavior in the microscopic nematode C. elegans.  Specifically, we are interested in neural circuit formation and function of the phasmid sensory circuit.  These studies may help us to understand neurological disorders such as autism and schizophrenia.

VanHoven Lab Website

Brandon White

Brandon White

Office: DH 644
Phone: (408) 924-4839
E-mail:brandon.white@sjsu.edu

White Lab Website

Katie Wilkinson

Katherine  Wilkinson

Office:
DH 554
Phone: (408) 924-4916
E-mail:katherine.wilkinson@sjsu.edu

Research interest:
Neurophysiology; Muscle sensory function; The effect of chronic inflammation and tissue damage on sensory function; Chronic pain.