Faculty

A

B

C

D

E

F

G

H

I

J

K

L

M

N

O

P

Q

R

S

T

U

V

W

X

Y

Z

A

B

Branz 

Stephen Branz

Professor
Organic Chemistry

B.A. Chemistry, Brandeis University, 1973
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1978

SCI 141
(408) 924-7405
stephen.branz@sjsu.edu

B

David Brook

Professor
Organic Chemistry

B.S. Chemistry with Honours, University of Lancaster, 1989
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of Colorado, 1993

SCI 166
(408) 924-4994
david.brook@sjsu.edu
Brook Research Group Page

C

 Campo

Eva Campo Sahagun

Lecturer

M.S. Analytical Chemistry, University of Zaragoza, 2003
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of Zaragoza, 2006

DH 412B
(408) 924-4912
eva.camposahagun@sjsu.edu

C

Lionel Cheruzel

Associate Professor
Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry

French Engineer Diploma, Montpellier, France, 2000
Ph.D. University of Louisville, Kentucky (with Robert M. Buchanan), 2004

DH 286
(408) 924-5283
lionel.cheruzel@sjsu.edu
Cheruzel Research Group Page

 SCuellarOrtiz

Sonia Cuellar-Ortiz

Lecturer

M.S. Biochemistry, Biotechnology Institute UNAM, 2001
Ph.D. Biochemistry, Biotechnology Institute UNAM, 2008

DH 447
(408) 924-3808
sonia.cuellar-ortiz@sjsu.edu

D

dirlam

Philip Dirlam

Assistant Professor
Organic Chemistry

M.S. Polymers and Coating Science, Cal Poly, 2011
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of Arizona, 2016

DH 516
(408) 924-4998
philip.dirlam@sjsu.edu

 Do

Minh Quan Do

Lecturer

B.A. Chemistry, San Jose State University, 2018

DH 504
(408) 924-5504
minhquan.do@sjsu.edu

E

E

Daryl Eggers

Professor
Biochemistry

B.S. Chemical Engineering, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, 1981
M.S. Chemical Engineering, University of California Berkeley, 1987
Ph.D. Pharmacology, University of California San Francisco, 1997

DH 604
(408) 924-4960
daryl.eggers@sjsu.edu
Eggers Research Group Page

  E 

Melody Esfandiari

Lecturer

B.A. Chemistry, San Jose State University, 2008
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, University of California Irvine, 2012

DH 516
(408) 924-4973
melody.esfandiari@sjsu.edu

 esker

Nicholas Esker

Assistant Professor

B.A. Liberal Arts & Sciences, Florida Atlantic University, 2010
Ph.D. Chemistry, UC Berkeley, 2016

DH 501
(408) 924-4950
nicholas.esker@sjsu.edu

F

 Freeman

Richard Freeman

Lecturer

B.S. Chemistry, MIT 1981
Ph.D. Analytical Chemistry, Purdue University, 1989

DH 412B
(408) 924-4912
richard.freeman@sjsu.edu

G

 Mircea Gheorghiu

Mircea Gheorghiu

Lecturer

M.S. Organic Chemistry, Bucharest Polytechnic Institute, 1964
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, Bucharest Polytechnic Institute, 1975

SCI 140
(408) 924-4997
mircea.gheorghiu@sjsu.edu

H

I

J

K

 Kapitzky

Laura Kapitzky

Lecturer

B.S. Chemistry, University of Massachusetts Amherst, 2001
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, University of California Santa Cruz, 2008

SCI 140
(408) 924-4997
laura.kapitzky@sjsu.edu

R

Resa Kelly

Professor
Chemical Education

B.A. Psychology, University of Notre Dame, 1990
B.A. Chemistry, University of Northern Iowa, 1992
M.A. Science Education, University of Northern Iowa, 2000
M.S. Chemistry, University of Northern Colorado, 2004
Ph.D. Chemical Education, University of Northern Colorado, 2005

DH 418
(408) 924-4940
resa.kelly@sjsu.edu
Kelly Research Group Page

L

L

Brooke Lustig

Adjunct Professor
Biomedical, Chemical, and Materials Engineering
Computational Biochemistry

B.A. Molecular Biology & Biochemistry, University of Colorado at Boulder, 1976
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of California at Santa Cruz, 1987

DH 417
(408) 924-4968
brooke.lustig@sjsu.edu
Lustig Research Group Page

M

Maraschin

Victor Maraschin

Lecturer

B.S. Biochemistry, San Jose State University, 1995

DH 182
(408) 924-4825
victor.maraschin@sjsu.edu 

Migicovsky

Elizabeth Migicovsky

Lecturer

B.A. Biochemistry, DePauw University, 2006
Ph.D. Biochemistry & Biophysic, University of North Carolina, 2012

DH 605
(408) 924-5012
elizabeth.migicovsky@sjsu.edu

 M

Laura Miller Conrad

Assistant Professor
Chemical Biology, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry

B.A. Chemistry with Biochemistry Emphasis, Macalester College, 2005
Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, University of California Berkeley, 2010

DH 608
(408) 924-4957
laura.miller.conrad@sjsu.edu
Miller Conrad Research Group Page

M

Gilles Muller

Professor
Inorganic Chemistry and Chemical Biology

B.S. Chemistry, Univ. Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France, 1993
M.S. Chemistry, Univ. Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France, 1994
D.E.A. Post-Master Degree, Inorganic Chemistry, Univ. Louis Pasteur, Strasbourg, France, 1995
Ph.D. Coordination Chemistry,Univ. of Lausanne, Switzerland, 2001

DH 412A
(408) 924-2632
gilles.muller@sjsu.edu
Muller Research Group Page

N

O

O

Roy Okuda

Professor
Organic Chemistry

B.A. Chemistry & Biology, University of California San Diego, 1979
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of Hawaii, 1983

DH 009A
(408) 924-2525
roy.okuda@sjsu.edu
Okuda Research Group Page

P

K

Kala Padmanabhan

Lecturer

B.S. Chemistry, MES College of Arts & Science, 1990
M.A. Chemistry, San Jose State University, 2001

DH 605
(408) 924-5292
kala.padmanabhan@sjsu.edu

 P

John Perumattam

Lecturer

Ph.D. Organic Chemistry, The City University of New York, 1985

SCI 140
(408) 924-4997
john.perumattam@sjsu.edu

P

Joseph Pesek

Professor Emeritus
Analytical Chemistry

B.S. Chemistry, University of Illinois, 1966
Ph.D. Analytical Chemistry, University of California Los Angeles, 1970

DH 518
(408) 924-5000
joseph.pesek@sjsu.edu
Pesek Research Group Page

Q

R

 M-Radlauer

Madalyn Radlauer

Assistant Professor
Organometallic, Inorganic, and Polymer Chemistry

B.S. Chemistry, Stanford University, 2008
Ph.D. Chemistry, California Institute of Technology, 2014

DH 517
(408) 924-5482
madalyn.radlauer@sjsu.edu
Radlauer Research Group Page

 R

Alberto A. Rascón, Jr.

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry

B.S. Chemistry, California State University Bakersfield, 2002
Ph.D. Biochemistry, University of Arizona, 2010

DH 612
(408) 924-4969
alberto.rascon@sjsu.edu
Rascón, Jr. Research Group Page

S

N

Niloofar Salehi

Lecturer

B.S. Chemistry, Shiraz University, 1990
M.S. Organic Chemistry, San Jose State University, 2012

DH 502
(408) 924-4943
niloofar.salehi@sjsu.edu

S

Brenda Serrano

Lecturer

B.S. Ceramic Engineering, University of Washington, 1992
B.S. Chemistry, San Jose State University, 1996
M.S. Materials Engineering, San Jose State University, 1998

DH 502
(408) 924-4936
brenda.serrano@sjsu.edu

Simocko_Chester 

Chester Simocko

Assistant Professor
Organic and Polymer Chemistry

B.S. Chemistry, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 2008
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of Florida, 2013

DH 001
(408) 924-5496
chester.simocko@sjsu.edu
Simocko Research Group Page

Singh

Shreeyukta Singh

Lecturer

M.S. Chemistry, Rajasthan University, 1999
Ph.D. Chemistry, Rajasthan University, 2003

DH 016
(408) 924-4975
shreeyukta.singh@sjsu.edu

S

Karen Singmaster

Professor and Chair
Physical Chemistry

B.S. Chemistry, University of Puerto Rico, 1982
Ph.D. Physical Chemistry, University of California Berkeley, 1987

DH 518
(408) 924-5000
karen.singmaster@sjsu.edu

slobodov

Irina Slobodov

Lecturer

B.S. Chemistry, San Jose State University, 2000
M.S. Chemistry, University of California San Diego, 2002

DH 016
(408) 924-4971
irina.slobodov@sjsu.edu

Stepp 

Stephanie Stepp

Lecturer

B.S. Chemistry/Biochemistry, University of California San Diego, 2006
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of California Santa Cruz, 2012

SCI 140
(408) 924-4997
stephanie.stepp@sjsu.edu

S

Bradley Stone

Professor Emeritus
Chemical Physics

B.S. Chemistry with Honors, University of Illinois at Chicago, 1977
Ph.D. Chemical Physics, Indiana University, 1984

DH 417
(408) 924-4938
bradley.stone@sjsu.edu
Stone Research Group Page

S

Daniel Straus

Professor Emeritus
Organic and Organometallic Chemistry

B.S. Chemistry, University of California Santa Barbara, 1977
Ph.D. Chemistry, California Institute of Technology, 1983

DH 518
(408) 924-5000
daniel.straus@sjsu.edu
Straus Research Group Page

T

T

Roger Terrill

Associate Professor
Analytical Chemistry and Electrochemistry

B.A. Chemistry, University of California Santa Cruz, 1986
M.S. Chemistry, Fresno State University, 1990
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of North Carolina, 1995

DH 004B
(408) 924-4970
roger.terrill@sjsu.edu
Terrill Research Group Page

T

Anh-Tuyet Tran

Lecturer

M.S. Chemistry, San Jose State University, 1996
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of California Davis, 2002

DH 605
(408) 924-4966
anh-tuyet.tran@sjsu.edu

U

V

V

Annalise Van Wyngarden

Associate Professor
Physical and Atmospheric Chemistry

B.A. Spanish, Hope College, Holland, Michigan, 2000
B.S. Chemistry, Hope College, Holland, Michigan, 2000
Ph.D. Chemistry, University of California Berkeley, 2006

DH 002
(408) 924-5282
annalise.vanwyngarden@sjsu.edu
Van Wyngarden Research Group Page

W

 Wang_N

Ningkun Wang

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry and Chemical Biology

B.S. Biochemistry, University of Utah, 2008
Ph.D. Biochemistry, University of Michigan, 2013

DH 607
(408) 924-4955
ningkun.wang@sjsu.edu
Wang Research Group Page

W

Xiao "Rose" Wang

Lecturer

B.S. Chemistry, Suzhou University, 1982
M.S. Organic Chemistry, South China Normal University, 1985

M.S. Organic Chemistry, University of Idaho, 1996

SCI 140
(408) 924-4997
xiao.wang@sjsu.edu

Wirth

Krista Wirth

Lecturer

B.S. Biological Science, Systems Physiology & Chemistry Minor, San Jose State University, 2017

DH 502
(408) 924-4910
krista.wirth@sjsu.edu

abe 

Abraham Wolcott

Assistant Professor
Physical Chemistry

B.S. Chemistry, University of California Santa Cruz, 2003
Ph.D. Physical Chemistry, University of California Santa Cruz, 2009

DH 005A
(408) 924-5449
abraham.wolcott@sjsu.edu
Wolcott Research Group Page

X

Y

Z