Research Groups

All Groups Alphabetically Analytical Chemistry Chemical Biology Inorganic Chemistry Organic Chemistry Physical Chemistry

New knowledge in chemistry is produced systematically through research. Chemical research is at the core of all Ph.D. programs in chemistry as well as most research and development (R&D) divisions in high technology companies developing products ranging from pharmaceuticals to consumer electronics. Participation in research not only prepares students for these activities, but is also one of the best ways to learn advanced problem solving skills. For these reasons, research is central to our department's mission and many of our faculty have assembled a team of undergraduate and graduate students to actively engaged in the pursuit of new knowledge.

This page contains some basic information about the research interests of our faculty. Several faculty also have research group pages that give more detailed information. If you are interested in exploring the possibility of participating in some of the exciting research projects in our department, the first step is to contact the faculty member(s) with whom you are considering working and inquire about the availability of opportunities. Most faculty prefer to be contacted by e-mail.

Chemical Safety Rules for Research Laboratories

Juana Acrivos

Juana Acrivos

Professor Emerita
Materials Chemistry

DH 17
(408) 924-4972
juana.acrivos@sjsu.edu
Acrivos Group Page

Determining how the 2D structure is related to superconductivity in layer compounds and how the intercalation of donors and/or acceptors into the lattice change the transition temperature to superconductivity, Tc.

David Brook

David Brook

Professor
Organic and Inorganic Chemistry

SCI 166
(408) 924-4994
david.brook@sjsu.edu
Brook Group Page

Synthesis and coordination chemistry of stable free radicals, magnetochemistry, self assembly and supramolecular chemistry, molecular devices.

Dr. Lionel Cheruzel

Lionel Cheruzel

Assistant Professor
Bioinorganic and Inorganic Chemistry and Biochemistry

DH 281
(408) 924-5283
lionel.cheruzel@sjsu.edu
Cheruzel Group Page

Development of hybrid enzymes as bioctalysts for hydroxylation of organic substrates using light and water. Molecular imprinted polymers.

 Elaine Collins

Elaine Collins

Professor and Associate Dean
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

elaine.collins@sjsu.edu
Research Page

Vitamin D endocrinology, protein expression and purification, RNA viruses.

Marc d'Alarcao

Marc d'Alarcao

Professor
Chemical Biology, Organic Chemistry, and Biochemistry

DH 607
(408) 924-4962
marc.dalarcao@sjsu.edu
d'Alarcao Group Page

Synthesis and biological evaluation of carbohydrates. Medicinal chemistry.

Dr. Daryl Eggers

Daryl Eggers

Professor
Biochemistry and Biophysical Chemistry

DH 604
(408) 924-4960
daryl.eggers@sjsu.edu
Eggers Group Page

Crowding and hydration effects on macromolecular structure.

Dr. Resa Kelly

Resa Kelly

Associate Professor
Chemical Education

DH 418
(408) 924-4940
resa.kelly@sjsu.edu
Kelly Group Page

How animations of microscopic chemistry concepts affect student learning and influence the correction adn and creation of misconceptions.

Dr. Brooke Lustig

Brooke Lustig

Lecturer
Adjunct Professor in Biomedical, Chemical, and Materials Engineering
Computational Biochemistry

DH 417
(408) 924-4968
brooke.lustig@sjsu.edu

Computational/theoretical methods to characterize entropy and related effects in proteins and RNA; drug design that includes potential anti-HIV agents.

 

Laura Miller

Assistant Professor
Chemical Biology, Organic Chemistry, Biochemistry

DH 608
laura.c.miller@sjsu.edu

Synthesis and investigation of anti-quorum sensing and anti-virulence compounds in bacteria.

Dr. Gilles Muller

Gilles Muller

Professor and Chair
Inorganic Chemistry

Director
Nuclear Science

DH 518A
(408) 924-5000
gilles.muller@sjsu.edu
Muller Group Page
Lanthanides, complexes, circularly polarized luminescence, chirality, thermodynamics, and spectroscopy.

Dr. Roy Okuda

Roy Okuda

Professor
Organic Chemistry

DH 009A
(408) 924-2525
roy.okuda@sjsu.edu
Research Group Page

Bio-organic chemistry of enzymes, marine natural products.

Dr. Joseph Pesek

Joseph Pesek

Professor
Analytical Chemistry

DH 501
(408) 924-4950
joseph.pesek@sjsu.edu
Pesek Group Page

Chemical modification of surfaces, separation methods.

Alberto Rascon 

Alberto A. Rascón, Jr.

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry

DH 612
alberto.rascon@sjsu.edu

Biochemistry, Bacterial Protein Expression, Protein/Enzyme Purification and Isolation Techniques, Mosquito Midgut Proteases, Proteolytic Enzymes, Inhibitors, and Enzyme Kinetics.

Herbert Silber

Herbert Silber

Professor
Inorganic Chemistry and Nuclear Science

DH 517 
(408) 924-4954 
herbert.silber@sjsu.edu
Research Group Page

Actinides, lanthanides, kinetics, thermodynamics, and chemical education.

Karen Singmaster

Karen Singmaster

Professor
Physical Chemistry

DH 016
(408) 924-4980
karen.singmaster@sjsu.edu

Photochemical reactions in cryogenic matrices and on surfaces.

Dr. Bradley Stone

Bradley Stone

Professor 
Chemical Physics

DH 412A
(408) 924-4938
bradley.stone@sjsu.edu
Research Group Page

Chemical physics, molecular spectroscopy, laser-induced fluorescence, and molecular astrophysics. Detection of complex organic molecules in the interstellar medium. Computational studies of fluid flow in microfluidic channels. Experimental simulations of aerosol formation in planetary atmospheres.

Dr. Daniel Straus

Daniel A. Straus

Professor
Organic and Organometallic Chemistry

SCI 141
(408) 924-4998
daniel.straus@sjsu.edu
Straus Group Page

Synthesis and reactivity of organotransition metal complexes.

Dr. Roger Terrill

Roger H. Terrill

Associate Professor
Analytical Chemistry and Electrochemistry

DH 004B
(408) 924-4970
roger.terrill@sjsu.edu
Terrill Group Page

Surface, interfacial, and thin film chemistry

Annalise Van Wyngarden

Annalise Van Wyngarden

Assistant Professor
Physical and Atmospheric Chemistry

DH 012
(408) 924-5282
annalise.vanwyngarden@sjsu.edu
Research Group Page

Physical chemistry and analytical chemistry are used to determine the climate effects of atmospheric particles - specifically optical properties and cloud forming properties.