Research Groups

All Groups Alphabetically Analytical Chemistry Chemical Biology Inorganic Chemistry Organic Chemistry Physical Chemistry

New knowledge in chemistry is produced systematically through research. Chemical research is at the core of all Ph.D. programs in chemistry as well as most research and development (R&D) divisions in high technology companies developing products ranging from pharmaceuticals to consumer electronics. Participation in research not only prepares students for these activities, but is also one of the best ways to learn advanced problem solving skills. For these reasons, research is central to our department's mission and many of our faculty have assembled a team of undergraduate and graduate students to actively engaged in the pursuit of new knowledge.

This page contains some basic information about the research interests of our faculty. Several faculty also have research group pages that give more detailed information. If you are interested in exploring the possibility of participating in some of the exciting research projects in our department, the first step is to contact the faculty member(s) with whom you are considering working and inquire about the availability of opportunities. Most faculty prefer to be contacted by e-mail.

Safety Sheet for Research Laboratories

 

B

David Brook

Professor
Organic Chemistry

SCI 166
(408) 924-4994
david.brook@sjsu.edu
Brook Research Group Page

Synthesis and coordination chemistry of stable free radicals, magnetochemistry, self assembly and supramolecular chemistry, molecular devices.

C

Lionel Cheruzel

Associate Professor
Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry

DH 286
(408) 924-5283
lionel.cheruzel@sjsu.edu
Cheruzel Research Group Page

Development of hybrid P450 enzymes, photocatalytic chemistry, development of microspherical polymers.

E

Daryl Eggers

Professor
Biochemistry

DH 604
(408) 924-4960
daryl.eggers@sjsu.edu
Eggers Research Group Page

Effects of crowding and solvation on protein folding, CD spectroscopy, biocalorimetry, microscale thermophoresis.

R

Resa Kelly

Professor
Chemical Education

DH 418
(408) 924-4940
resa.kelly@sjsu.edu
Kelly Research Group Page

How animations of microscopic chemistry concepts affect student learning and influence the correction and creation of misconceptions.

L

Brooke Lustig

Adjunct Professor
Biomedical, Chemical, and Materials Engineering
Computational Biochemistry

DH 417
(408) 924-4968
brooke.lustig@sjsu.edu
Lustig Research Group Page

Computation and theoretical methods to characterize entropy and related effects in proteins and RNA, design of potential anti-HIV agents.

Miller_L_108x142 

Laura Miller Conrad

Assistant Professor
Chemical Biology, Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry

DH 608
(408) 924-4957
laura.miller.conrad@sjsu.edu
Miller Conrad Research Group Page

Quorum sensing, blocking of virulence factors.

M

Gilles Muller

Associate Dean of Research, Office of Research
Inorganic Chemistry and Chemical Biology

IRC 212
(408) 924-2632
gilles.muller@sjsu.edu
Muller Research Group Page

Lanthanides, complexes, circularly polarized luminescence, chirality, thermodynamics, and spectroscopy.

O

Roy Okuda

Professor
Organic Chemistry

DH 009A
(408) 924-2525
roy.okuda@sjsu.edu
Okuda Research Group Page

Marine natural products and enzyme applications.

P

Joseph Pesek

Professor
Analytical Chemistry

DH 501
(408) 924-4950
joseph.pesek@sjsu.edu
Pesek Research Group Page

Chemical modification of surfaces, separation methods.

Radlauer

Madalyn Radlauer

Assistant Professor
Organometallic Chemistry, Catalysis and Polymer Chemistry

DH 517
(408) 924-5482
madalyn.radlauer@sjsu.edu
Radlauer Reasearch Group Page

Polymer synthesis for organometallic catalysis.

R 

Alberto A. Rascón, Jr.

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry

DH 612
(408) 924-4969
alberto.rascon@sjsu.edu
Rascón, Jr. Reasearch Group Page

Expression, characterization, and inhibition of mosquito proteases.

Chester Simocko 

Chester Simocko

Assistant Professor
Organic and Polymer Chemistry

DH 001
(408) 924-5496
chester.simocko@sjsu.edu
Simocko Reasearch Group Page

Nanotechnology.

S

Bradley Stone

Professor
Chemical Physics

DH 412A
(408) 924-4938
bradley.stone@sjsu.edu
Stone Research Group Page

Chemical physics, molecular spectroscopy, laser-induced fluorescence, and molecular astrophysics; detection of complex organic molecules in the interstellar medium.

T

Roger Terrill

Associate Professor
Analytical Chemistry and Electrochemistry

DH 004B
(408) 924-4970
roger.terrill@sjsu.edu
Terrill Research Group Page

Surface, interfacial, and thin film chemistry.

V

Annalise Van Wyngarden

Associate Professor
Physical and Atmospheric Chemistry

DH 002
(408) 924-5282
annalise.vanwyngarden@sjsu.edu
Van Wyngarden Research Group Page

Formation and optical properties of organic coatings on atmospheric aerosols, chemical transformations and photochemistry in aerosols.

Wang_N

Ningkun Wang

Assistant Professor
Biochemistry and Chemical Biology

DH 607
(408) 924-4955
ningkun.wang@sjsu.edu
Wang Research Group Page

Protein structure, protein-protein interactions, allosteric regulation.

Abraham Wolcott 

Abraham Wolcott

Assistant Professor
Physical Chemistry

DH 005A
(408) 924-5449
abraham.wolcott@sjsu.edu
Wolcott Research Group Page

Application of nanotechnology and nanodiamonds in neurobiology.