Student Affairs Committee

Student affairs committee members participated in the Alzheimer's Walk 2019

The Student Affairs Committee (SAC) has existed since 1986. The primary function of the committee is to advise the Dean of the College of Health and Human Sciences of any student problems or needs, to recommend policy or suggest courses of action, and to suggest improvements to the College. The students that participate in the Student Affairs Committee are the liaisons between the department/school, the students, and the Dean's Office. The Committee discusses issues of concern brought to the committee by the students-at-large or by committee members themselves.

Be informed and be involved

If you would like answers to your questions, please contact the representative of your department or school. If you want to be more involved with the College of Health and Human Sciences, please contact the chair or director of your department or school.

Meetings

The Student Affairs Committee meets once a month on a Tuesday, from 3:30 p.m. to 4:30 p.m., in MacQuarrie Hall, Room 438A.

Choosing committee members

During Spring term, Student Affairs Committee members are chosen by the respective departments or schools and current student representatives. After the representatives are chosen, the committee begins meeting in August.

The committee is composed of one representative from each academic unit offering a major. These academic units include:

  • Health Science
  • Hospitality, Tourism and Event Management
  • Justice Studies
  • Kinesiology
  • Nursing
  • Nutrition, Food Science, and Packaging
  • Occupational Therapy
  • Social Work

In addition to these representatives, one faculty advisor is chosen on a rotating basis, along with one staff person, who also sits on the committee.

Fall 2019 – 2020 Academic Year

Kylee Kiesow, Hospitality, Tourism and Event Management
kylee.kiesow@sjsu.edu

Raquel Navas, Justice Studies
raquel.navas@sjsu.edu

Gabi Trakhter, Kinesiology
gtrakhter@gmail.com

Maria Juinio, Nursing
mariajuinio1@gmail.com

Raquel Martinez-Herrera, Nutrition, Food Science and Packaging
rmartinez2259@gmail.com

Claire Rickly, Occupational Therapy
claire.rickly@sjsu.edu

Rae-Ann Santos, Public Health and Recreation
rae-ann.santos@sjsu.edu

Khaterah Sayed, Public Health and Recreation
khaterahsayed@gmail.com

Destiny Santana, Social Work
destiny.santana@sjsu.edu

CHHS Faculty and Staff

Pamela Richardson
Dean's Office
408-924-2900
pamela.richardson@sjsu.edu

Liliana Gomez
Dean's Office Support Staff
408-924-2907
liliana.gomez@sjsu.edu