Professional Development Meetings

In collaboration with the Banking and Investment Association (BIA), the CBFS organizes events where students can interact with professionals from the financial services industry. These events include scheduled 45-60 minutes presentations by representatives from the financial sector on pertinent topics that supplement the students' classroom experience.

The BIA is a university-sanctioned association open to any SJSU student interested in topics related to financial institutions and in pursuing careers in the banking and financial services industry. Currently, the BIA has more than 110 active members.

BIA-Fall 2014 Calendar

Professional Development Meetings 

Date & Time Location Event Speaker

Wednesday, September 10
4:30 – 5:45PM

BBC 032    Orientation BIA Officers

Wednesday, September 17
4:30 – 5:45PM

BBC 032 Private Ocean  

Wednesday, September 24
4:30 – 5:45PM

BBC 032    Tech CU  

Wednesday, October 1
6:00– 7:00PM

BBC 032 CFA Institute  

Wednesday, October 8
4:30 – 5:45PM

BBC 032 Vista Wealth Management  

Wednesday, October 15
4:30 – 5:45PM

BBC 032 Princeton Capital  

Wednesday, October 22
4:30 – 5:45PM

BBC 032 Franklin Templeton  

Wednesday, October 29
4:30 – 5:45PM

BBC 032 La Meer Inc  

Wednesday, November 5
4:30 – 5:45PM

BBC 032 Bridge Bank  

Wednesday, November 12
4:30 – 5:45PM

TBD SRI Ventures  

Wednesday, November 19
4:30 – 5:45PM

BBC 032 Fantex    

Wednesday, December 3
4:30 – 5:45PM

TBD BIA New officers and Social  

BIA Officers and
Advisors

 

Bank Tours

Date & Time Firm Location
Friday, 9/26; 10:00Am – 2:00PM KeyPoint CU

2805 Bowers Ave.,
Santa Clara, CA 95051

Friday, 10/10; 10:00AM – 1:00PM Focus Business Bank

10 Almaden Blvd,
San Jose, CA 95113

TBD (11/14?) Heritage Bank (?)

150 S Almaden Blvd,
San Jose, CA 95113


social events

Date & Time Firm Location
TBD Alumni Social TBD
TBD Capital Club Mixer Knight Ridder Building

Saturday, October 4
11:00AM – 4:00PM

Homecoming Spartan Stadium