BA in Communication Studies


video by Brett Hasegawa, COMM grad, Fall 2010, Video transcript (doc)

Major Requirements

With 4-unit upper-division courses, the Communication Studies major gives students greater flexibility and more choices to tailor their program to their specific academic and professional goals. 

In addition to SJSU General Education and elective requirements, students must complete at least 42 units in the major.




Core Courses (10 units)

COMM 101C, Junior Seminar: Theorizing Communication (4 units)

COMM 198, Applied Activity in Communication (2 units) or COMM 157, Community Action/Community Service (3 units)

COMM 199C, Senior Seminar: Synthesis and Application (4 units)


Foundations, Inquiry, Practice Courses (24 units)

2 Foundations courses (2 courses X 4 units each = 8 units)

2 Inquiry courses (2 courses X 4 units each = 8 units)

2 Practice courses (2 courses X 4 units each = 8 units)


Additional COMM Courses

8 additional units in Communication Studies; may be lower- or upper-division courses and may be completed at SJSU or a another college (such as a community college) 







  • No more than 1 unit  of COMM 80 or COMM 91J may count toward the major. 

  • No more than 3 units of COMM 190 or COMM 191A,B,C,J, or M may count toward the major. 

  • Transfer students may transfer up to 8 lower-division communication studies semester equivalent units.  However, you may NOT double count Lower Division GE communication courses (i.e., count courses toward Core GE and toward the major. Typically, these are communication courses in Areas A1, A3, D1, and E).

  • Up to 6 units of SJSU Studies coursework (e.g., COMM 100W, COMM 157SL, COMM 168A/168B, COMM 174, COMM 179) may count toward SJSU Studies requirements and the major.

  • Credit/No Credit courses are limited to 6 units total. Note that COMM 198, a required course, counts as 2 units of Credit/No Credit. 

  • Completing a minor in another discipline is strongly encouraged but not required.