Graduate Faculty

Meet our COMM Studies Graduate Faculty! Please see below for a directory of all current graduate faculty, alphabetized by last name. If you are looking for the full faculty/staff directory, please navigate to the Faculty/Staff Directory page. 

Tip: If you're looking for a specific individual, you can search within your browser by pressing Control+F on Windows and Command+F on Mac, then typing in the desired name or keyword to jump to that location in the directory.
   

Contact Info & Office Hours

 

Kristen Cole

Assistant Professor

Critical Health Communication, Rhetoric, and Cultural Studies

HGH 210

kristen.cole@sjsu.edu

408-924-5387

Office hours: Mon 4 PM - 5 PM; Wed 11 AM - 12 PM & by appt
 

Stephanie Coopman

Professor

stephanie.coopman@sjsu.edu

831-477-7780

Office hours: By appointment via Zoom
 

Marie Haverfield

Assistant Professor

Health, Interpersonal, and Family Communication

HGH 204

marie.haverfield@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Thurs 3 PM - 5 PM & by appointment
 

Felipe Gómez

Associate Professor

Organizational Communication

HGH 207

felipe.gomez@sjsu.edu

On sabbatical from Fall 2019 to Spring 2020
 

Rona Halualani

Professor

Critical Intercultural Communication

HGH 203

rona.halualani@sjsu.edu

Office hours: By appointment via zoom, phone, chat, or email
 

Tabitha Hart

Associate Professor,
GTA Program Director (interim)

Cultural Communication; Ethnography of Communication; High Impact Educational Practices

HGH 216

tabitha.hart@sjsu.edu

408-924-5510

Office hours: Mon 10:15 AM - 11:15 AM
 

Oona Hatton

Assistant Professor,
Graduate Coordinator

Performance Studies; Whiteness and Race

HGH 204

oona.hatton@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Tues 12 PM - 2:30 PM & by appointment
 

Kathleen McConnell

Professor

Rhetoric, Public Advocacy. Communication Education, Critical Cultural Studies

HGH 207

kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Posted weekly on Canvas & by appointment
 

Alexis Pulos

Visiting Associate Professor

Game Studies and Design, Media Studies, Critical Cultural Studies, Rhetoric, Procedural Rhetoric

HGH 205

kathleen.mcconnell@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Mon 1 PM - 3 PM & by appointment
 

Priya Raman

Associate Professor,
Curriculum & Assessment Chair, University Institutional Review Board (IRB) Chair

Media and Communication

HGH 205

priya.raman@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Wed 11 AM - 1 PM; by appointment
 

Matthew Spangler

Professor

Performance Studies

HGH 206

matthew.spangler@sjsu.edu

408-924-1373
Office hours: Wed 4 PM - 5 PM
 

Shawn Spano

Professor

Applied Interpersonal Communication, Dialogue Theory and Practice

HGH 211

shawn.spano@sjsu.edu

408-924-5379
Office hours: Wed 5:45 PM - 6:45 PM; by appointment
 

Anne Marie Todd

Professor;
Department Chair

Rhetorical Studies, Environmental Communication

HGH 106

annemarie.todd@sjsu.edu

408-924-5391

Office hours: By appointment
 

Andrew Wood

Professor

Rhetoric, Urban Studies, Tourism

HGH 210

andrew.wood@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Online via Canvas
 

Nikki Yeboah

Assistant Professor

Performance Studies, Oral History

HGH 216

nikki.yeboah@sjsu.edu

Office hours: Mon 1 PM - 2:30 PM & by appointment