Faculty

The Counselor Education Department faculty are committed to providing the highest quality education to all students. We model best practices by providing a strong student-centered curriculum with an emphasis on ongoing formative feedback to help candidates develop personally, academically, and professionally.

 

Department Chair     

Name: Dr. Dolores DeHaro Mena

Dolores

Phone: 408.924.3627
Email:dolores.mena@sjsu.edu
Location: Sweeney Hall (SH) 405


Administrative Support Coordinator

Name: Sherilyn Williams
Phone: 408.924.3634
Email: sherilyn.williams@sjsu.edu
Location: Sweeney Hall (SH) 404


Tenure-Line/Permanent Faculty

Name Email Address Office Phone

Dr. Kyoung-Mi Choi, Associate Professor

 kyoungmi.choi@sjsu.edu

SH 416  408.924.3511
Dr. Xiaolu Hu, Professor

 xiaolu.hu@sjsu.edu

SH 417  408.924.3668
Dr. Jason Laker, Professor

 jlaker.sjsu@gmail.com

SH 403  408.924.3654
Dr. Dolores Mena, Professor

 dolores.mena@sjsu.edu

SH 405  408.924.3627
Dr. Lisa Oliver, Associate Professor

 lisa.oliver@sjsu.edu

SH 222  408.924.1684


 

Lecturers/Adjunct Faculty

Name Email Address Office Phone
Dr. Imee Almazan  imee.almazan@sjsu.edu  SH 222  408.924.3728
Dr. Marion Beach

 marion.schinn@sjsu.edu

SH 418  408.924.3709
Steve Berta

 steve.berta@sjsu.edu

SH 416  408.924.4118
Michele Burns

 michele.burns@sjsu.edu

SH 425  408.924.3623
Dr. Lorri Capizzi

 lorri.capizzi@sjsu.edu

SH 420  408.924.3829
Jimma Cortes-Smith

 jimma.cortes@sjsu.edu

SH 419  408.924.3618
Dr. Robert Gliner

 bglinger@hotmail.com

SH 419  408.924.1796
Amy Gutierrez, Graduate Fieldwork Coordinator

 amy.gutierrez@sjsu.edu

SH 419  408.924.1722
Dr. Devon Hibbert

 devon.hibbert@sjsu.edu 

SH 425  408.924.3655 
Dr. Esther Hugo 

 esther.hugo@sjsu.edu 

SH 425  408.924.3621 
Amna Jaffer

 amna.jaffer@sjsu.edu

SH 420  408.924.3652
Kelly Kruger 

 kelly.kruger@sjsu.edu 

SH 417  408.924.7164 
Michael Mann Stock

 michael.mann.stock.m.s.w@gmail.com

SH 423  408.924.3667
Kristin Phillips-Matson

 kristin.phillips-matson@sjsu.edu 

SH 222  408.924.3767 
Dr. Latisha Roberts 

 latisha.roberts@sjsu.edu 

SH 416  408.924.3636 
Murry Schekman 

 murry.schekman@sjsu.edu

SH 417  408.924.3630 
Dr. Shannon Stovall 

 shannon.stovall@sjsu.edu 

SH 418  408.924.3651 
Dr. Alen Yaghoubi 

 alen.yaghoubi@sjsu.edu

SH 423  408.924.3667 
Erika Zepeda

 erika.zepeda@sjsu.edu

SH 420  408.924.210


Faculty at Fall 2019 Forum

 

Meet Some of the Counselor Education Faculty


Meet Murry Schekman, who recently reached 15 years of teaching service at SJSU!


Meet Jimma Cortes-Smith, who recently reached 15 years of teaching service at SJSU!


Meet Marion Beach, who recently reached 20 years of teaching service at SJSU!


Meet Bob Gliner, who recently reached 45 years of teaching service at SJSU!