SJSU Cultural Showcase - Save the Date!

The Second Annual SJSU Cultural Showcase invites you to an evening of cultural performances by various student groups, with interactive cultural activities, food tasting from around the world, a culturally themed visual art exhibition, and more!

This event is part of an ongoing SJSU Salzburg Project or a collaboration among SJSU Salzburg Scholars (students), advising SJSU Salzburg Fellows (faculty and staff), and other students and campus organizations throughout the university. The entire Cultural Showcase Core Team staff are student volunteers, some of whom receive internship credit through the Global Studies and Geography Departments.

Our mission is to unite our diverse campus community, celebrate our multicultural campus identity, and promote global citizenship at SJSU and beyond!

Contact Name: MaryOkin, Cultural Showcase Coordinator
Contact Email:
Follow us on Facebook:
Follow us on Twitter @SJSU_Showcase
Follow us on Instagram: @SJSU_Showcase



San Jose State believes that thinking about diversity helps us understand and build our capacity to make a better world. The purpose of this site is to steward the university’s embrace of diversity through providing information on the newly established commission on diversity, institutional policies, educational practices, programs and current diversity status. The goal is to move beyond thinking about the compositional diversity of our university community in terms of demographic characteristics only, towards a more intentional, comprehensive approach that places diversity at the center of our university mission to foster learning.

Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s "Letter from Birmingham Jail"


April 16th, 2013, marked the 50th anniversary of the day Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., penned his prophetic epistle “Letter from Birmingham Jail” after being arrested for his non-violent protest against racial segregation three days earlier.

To commemorate the anniversary, the Birmingham Public Library sponsored a worldwide event where with Dr. King’s Letter was read aloud at various locations around the globe. The Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Library was honored to be one of the worldwide locations to celebrate the courage of those who continue to fight bravely for the right to live as equals.