Preliminary Administrative Services Credential (Tier 1)

photo: El Paseo de Ceasar Chavez

Credential Eligibility

  • Hold a clear California teaching, pupil personnel, health, librarian or clinical rehabilitative services credential
  • Have five years of experience in a position requiring one of the above credentials when you apply to CTC
  • Pass the California Basic Educational Skills Test (CBEST)
  • Complete a Preliminary Administrative Services Credential Program.

Credential Coursework (45 units)

The Tier I program requires that you earn 45 semester units of credit over four semesters through courses and fieldwork. 

Course Description Units
EDAD 200 The School Manager 3
EDAD 201 The School Leader 3
EDAD 202 The Educator 3
EDAD 203 The School Human Resources Administrator 3
EDAD 204 School Fiscal and Legal Leadership 3
EDAD 205 The School Leader in the Community 3
EDAD 206 Advocate for All Students 3
EDAD 221A Research Seminar in Educational Leadership 3


EDAD 242ABCD: 21 units of Fieldwork completed in four semesters.