Chairs and Committees

Council of Chairs

The Lurie College of Education Department Chairs are faculty members who serve in a leadership capacity to provide guidance and direction to the growth and development of each academic department and the college as a whole.  The current department chairs are:

Arnold Danzig Ed.D Leadership Program
Dolores Mena Counselor Education
June McCullough (Interim) Audiology
Patty Swanson Teacher Education
Peg Hughes Special Education
Ravisha Mathur Child and Adolescent Development
Shaum Bhagat Communicative Disorders and Sciences
Vacant Educational Leadership


To contact the Council of Chairs, email



The Lurie College of Education, as a community of scholars and practitioners, believes firmly in the need for broad-based, inclusive college governance.  This belief is actualized in the use of three standing committees and numerous ad hoc committees that are formed and used throughout an academic year.


Standing Committees


Committee Bylaws

Policy to Change Bylaws for Lurie College of Educations Standing Committees (PDF)