Department Faculty and Staff

 

Department Staff 

Paul Cascella
Administrator in Charge
Sweeney Hall 305
Phone: (408) 924-3771
Email: paul.cascella@sjsu.edu
  
Linda Sizelove
Admissions/Advising/Recruitment Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 301
Phone: (408) 924-3814
Email: linda.sizelove@sjsu.edu
 
Marie Kochevar
Administrative Support Coordinator II

Sweeney Hall 305
Phone: (408) 924-3754
Email: marie.kochevar@sjsu.edu
Deb Codiroli
Records Specialist
Sweeney Hall 305
Phone: (408) 924-3759
Email: debra.codiroli@sjsu.edu
 

 

Program Coordinators/Advisors

Traditional/Regular Student Teaching Program
Dena Sexton, Director
Sweeney Hall 304
Phone: (408) 924-4113 
Email: dena.sexton@sjsu.edu  
Intern Program
Anne Baumgarten, Director
Sweeney Hall 301
Phone: (408) 924-4077
Email: anne.baumgarten@sjsu.edu
Spanish Bilingual Authorization 
Rocio Dresser, Coordinator 
Sweeney Hall 319
Phone: (408) 924-4076 
Email: rocio.dresser@sjsu.edu
Multiple Subject Credential/MA Program
 David Whitenack, Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 415 
Phone: (408) 924-3736 
Email: david.whitenack@sjsu.edu
Literacy Across the Curriculum for and Equitable Society 
Allison Briceno, Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 337
Phone: (408) 924-3730
Email: allison.briceno@sjsu.edu
 
 
 

 

                                        Elementary Education Faculty 

                                               Professors

pic  

Rocio Dresser

Ed.D., University of San Francisco (Bilingual Education)

Sweeney Hall 421

(408) 924-4076

rocio.dresser@sjsu.edu

 pic  

Elba Maldonado-Colon

Ed.D., University of Massachussetts-Amherst (Bilingual Education)

Sweeney Hall 438

(408) 924-3786

elba.maldonado-colon@sjsu.edu

 pic  

Rosalinda Quintanar

Ph.D., Stanford University (Bilingual Education)

Sweeney Hall 322

(408) 924-3747

rosalinda.quintanar@sjsu.edu

 pic  

Patricia Swanson

Ph.D., Stanford University (Mathematics and Social Studies Education)

Sweeney Hall 341

(408) 924-3769

patricia.swanson@sjsu.edu

 

                                                               Associate Professors

pic  

Roxana Marachi

Ph.D., University of Michigan (Educational Psychology)

Sweeney Hall 

(408) 924-3729

roxana.marachi@sjsu.edu

pic  

Colette Rabin

Ph.D., Mills College (Critical Theory)

Sweeney Hall 

(408) 924-3650

colette.rabin@sjsu.edu

pic  

Grinell Smith

Ph.D., University of Alabama (Science Education, Critical Theory)

Sweeney Hall 

(408) 924-3776

grinell.smithi@sjsu.edu

pic  

David Whitenack

Ph.D., Stanford University (Bilingual Education)

Sweeney Hall 

(408) 924-3736

david.whitenack@sjsu.edu

 

                                                                 Assistant Professors

pic  

Jolynn Asato

Ph.D., University of California Los Angeles (Literacy Education)

Sweeney Hall 440

(408) 924-3638

jolynn.asato@sjsu.edu

pic  

Allison Briceno

Ed.D., University of San Francisco (Literacy Education)

Sweeney Hall 339

(408) 924-3730

allison.briceno@sjsu.edu

 

                                                        Supervisors

pic   Stefanie Aichele-Chang

stefanie.aichele@sjsu.edu

    Nancy Atkinson nancy.atkinson@sjsu.edu
pic   Anne Baumgarten anne.baumgarten@sjsu.edu
pic   Pat Belvel patricia.sequeira_belvel@sjsu.edu
pic   Bonnie Jacobsen bonnie.jacobsen@sjsu.edu

 

 

 

  Marianne Mehuys marianne.mehuys@sjsu.edu

pic

  Dale Mitchell dale.mitchell@sjsu.edu
pic   Randy Mitchell randal.mitchell@sjsu.edu
pic   Julie Stewart julie.stewart@sjsu.edu

 

                                                             Lecturers

pic   Joyce Hill joyce.hill@sjsu.edu
pic   Cindy Sammet cindy.sammet@sjsu.edu

 

                                            Emeritus Professors

 

William Hanna

Ph.D., University of Michigan, (History-Social Science Education)

billhanna8@gmail.com   
pic

Judith Lessow-Hurley

Ph.D., University of Colorado Boulder (Bilingual Education)

judith.lessow-hurley@sjsu.edu  
 pic

Nancy Markowitz

 Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles (Social Emotional Learning and Teaching)

 nancy.crtwc@gmail.com