Department Faculty and Staff

Department Staff 

Elba Maldonado-Colon
Department Chair
Sweeney Hall 305
Phone: (408) 924-3786
Email: elba.maldonado@sjsu.edu

Shelby Spain
Department Advisor
Sweeney Hall 305
Phone: (408) 924-3771
Email: shelby.spain@sjsu.edu

Dena Yee
Field Placement Director (Student Teaching)
Sweeney Hall 108A
Phone: (408) 924-4113
Email: dena.yee@sjsu.edu

Marie Kochevar
Administrative Support Coordinator II
Sweeney Hall 305
Phone: (408) 924-3754
Email: marie.kochevar@sjsu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Option Coordinators/Advisors

Flexible Option
Shelby Spain, Department Advisor
Sweeney Hall 305 
Phone: (408) 924-3771 
Email: shelby.spain@sjsu.edu

Critical Research Academy (CRA)
Colette Rabin, Option Coordinator 
Sweeney Hall 343 
Phone: (408) 924-3650 
Email: colette.rabin@sjsu.com

Middle Level Emphasis (MLE)
Stefanie Aichele-Chang, Option Coordinator 
Sweeney Hall 305 
Phone: (408) 924-3771 
Email: 

Spanish Bilingual Authorization 
Rocio Dresser, Option Coordinator 
Sweeney Hall 337 
Phone: (408) 924-3753 
Email: rocio.dresser@sjsu.edu

Teacher Collaborative Residency (TE)
Jolynn Asato, Option Coordinator 
Sweeney Hall 440
Phone: (408) 924-3638
Email: jolynn.asato@sjsu.edu

Literacy Across the Curriculum for and Equitable Society (LACES)
David Whitenack, Program Coordinator 
Sweeney Hall 415 
Phone: (408) 924-3736 
Email: david.whitenack@sjsu.edu