Department Faculty and Staff

 

Department Staff

 

Patricia Swanson
Chair
Sweeney Hall 305
(408) 924-3751
patricia.swanson@sjsu.edu
 
Linda Sizelove
Admissions/Advising/Recruitment Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 303
(408) 924-3814
linda.sizelove@sjsu.edu

Marie Kochevar
Administrative Support Coordinator II

Sweeney Hall 305
(408) 924-3754
marie.kochevar@sjsu.edu
 
Deb Codiroli
Records Specialist
Sweeney Hall 305
(408) 924-3759
deb.codiroli@sjsu.edu

Program Coordinators/Advisors

Traditional/Regular Student Teaching Program
Intern Program
Dena Sexton, Director
Sweeney Hall 303
(408) 924-4113 
dena.sexton@sjsu.edu  

Spanish Bilingual Authorization 
Allison Briceno, Coordinator 
Sweeney Hall 337
 (408) 924-3730
allison.briceno@sjsu.edu

Multiple Subject Credential/MA Program
David Whitenack, Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 415 
 (408) 924-3736 
david.whitenack@sjsu.edu

Literacy Across the Curriculum for and Equitable Society [LACES] 
Jolynn Asato, Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 341
(408) 924-3638
jolynn.asato@sjsu.edu 
 

 

Elementary Education Faculty

 

Permanent Faculty

Name

Contact Information

 briceno

Briceño, Allison

Ed.D., University of San Francisco
(Literacy Education)


SH 337
(408) 924-3730
allison.briceno@sjsu.edu

 pic

Asato, Jolynn
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles

SH 341
(408) 924-3638
jolynn.asato@sjsu.edu
 
 kassab

Kassab, Lara

Ed.D., University San Francisco
(Digital Tech Teaching & Learning)

SH 421
(408) 924-4091
lara.kassab@sjsu.edu
 pic

Maldonado-Colon, Elba

Ed.D., University of Massachussetts-Amherst
(Bilingual Education)


SH 322

(408) 924-3786
elba.maldonado-colon@sjsu.edu

 marachi

Marachi, Roxana

Ph.D., University of Michigan
(Educational Pyschology)


SH 337

(408) 924-3729
roxana.marachi@sjsu.edu

 munoz

Munoz-Munoz, Eduardo

Stanford University
(Bilingual Education, Race, Inequality and Language in Education)


SH 440
(408) 924-3771
eduardo.munoz-munoz@sjsu.edu

 pic

Quintanar, Rosalinda

Ph.D, Standford University
(Bilingual Education)


SH 322

(408) 924-3747
rosalinda.quintanar@sjsu.edu

 pic

Rabin, Colette

Ph.D., Mills College
(Critical Theory)


SH 343

(408) 924-3650
colette.rabin@sjsu.edu

 pic

Smith, Grinell

Ph.D., University of Alabama
(Science Education, Critical Theory)

SH 342
(408) 924-3776
grinell.smith@sjsu.edu

 pic

Swanson, Patricia

Ph.D., Stanford University
(Mathematics and Social Studies Education)

SH 306
(408) 924-3751
patricia.swanson@sjsu.edu

 visintainer

Visintainer, Tammie

Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley
(Education)


SH 319
(408) 924-3778
tammie.visintainer@sjsu.edu

 whitenak

Whitenack, David

Ph.D., Stanford University
(Bilingual Education)


SH 415

(408) 924-3736
david.whitenack@sjsu.edu

 

 

Adjunct Faculty

Name Position Phone  Email Office Location
Aichele-Chang, Stefanie Lecturer 408-924-3771 stefanie.aichele@sjsu.edu SH 305
Asato, Jolynn Lecturer 408-924-3638 jolynn.asato@sjsu.edu SH 341
Atkinson, Nancy Lecturer 408-924-3771 nancy.atkinson@sjsu.edu SH 305
Baumgarten, Anne Lecturer 408-924-4077 anne.baumgarten@sjsu.edu SH 301
Bilbao, Nancy Lecturer 408-924-3771 nbilbao@dons.usfca.edu SH 305
Brandt, Laurie Lecturer  408-924-3771 laurie.brandt@sjsu.edu SH 305
Cox, Emily Lecturer 408-924-3616 emily.cox@sjsu.edu SH 305
Hartunian, Carol Lecturer 408-924-3771  chartunian@nhusd.k12.ca.us SH 305
Henderson, Alicia Lecturer  408-924-3771  alicia.henderson@sjsu.edu SH 305
Hughes, Suzanne Lecturer  408-924-3771  suzanne.hughes@sjsu.edu SH 305
Kaay, Jan Lecturer 408-924-3771 janet.d.kaay@sjsu.edu SH 305 
Knofler, Jewel Lecturer 408-924-3771 jewel.knofler@sjsu.edu SH 305 
Lux, Marty Lecturer 408-924-3771 martha.lux@sjsu.edu SH 305 
Mehuys, Marianne Lecturer 408-924-3771 marianne.mehuys@sjsu.edu SH 305 
Messina, Rebecca Lecturer 408-924-3771  rebecca.messina@sjsu.edu SH 305
Mitchell, Dale Lecturer 408-924-3771 dale.mitchell@sjsu.edu SH 343
Nemecek, Deb Lecturer 408-924-3771 deborah.nemecek@sjsu.edu SH-305
Ramirez, Ana Lecturer  408-924-3771 ana.ramirez@sjsu.edu  SH 305 
Rogers, Pat Lecturer  408-924-3771  patricia.rogers@sjsu.edu  SH 343 
Sexton, Dena Lecturer 408-924-4113 dena.sexton@sjsu.edu SH 303
Sizelove, Linda Lecturer 408-924-3814 linda.sizelove@sjsu.edu SH 301
Smith, Helen Lecturer 408-924-4618 helen.smith@sjsu.edu SH 319
Stewart, Julie Lecturer 408-924-3771  julie.stewart@sjsu.edu SH 305 
Villarreal, Sylvia Lecturer 408-924-3771  sylvia.villarreal@sjsu.edu SH 305