Department Faculty and Staff

 

Department Staff 

Ferdinand Rivera
Department Chair
Sweeney Hall 305
Phone: (408) 924-3751
Email: ferdinand.rivera@sjsu.edu
 
Marie Kochevar
Administrative Support Coordinator II

Sweeney Hall 305
Phone: (408) 924-3754
Email: marie.kochevar@sjsu.edu
 
Anne Baumgarten
Admissions/Advising/Recruitment Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 305
Phone: (408) 924-3771
Email: anne.baumgarten@sjsu.edu
 
Allison Briceno
Graduate Coordinator

Sweeney Hall 325
Phone: (408) 924-3775
Email: allison.briceno@sjsu.edu
 
 
David Whitenack 
Graduate Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 415
Phone: (408) 924-3736
Email: david.whitenack@sjsu.edu

Program Coordinators/Advisors

Traditional/Regular Student Teaching Program
Dena Sexton, Director
Sweeney Hall 108A 
Phone: (408) 924-4113 
Email: dena.sexton@sjsu.edu 
 
Intern Program
Anne Baumgarten, Director
Sweeney Hall 305 
Phone: (408) 924-3771 
Email: anne.baumgarten@sjsu.edu
 
Critical Research Academy
Colette Rabin, Coordinator 
Sweeney Hall 343 
Phone: (408) 924-3650 
Email: colette.rabin@sjsu.edu
 
Spanish Bilingual Authorization 
Rosalinda Quintanar, Coordinator 
Sweeney Hall 332 
Phone: (408) 924-3747 
Email: rosalinda.quintanar@sjsu.edu
 
Literacy Across the Curriculum for and Equitable Society 
Allison Briceno, Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 325 
Phone: (408) 924-3775 
Email: allison.briceno@sjsu.edu
 
David Whitenack, Coordinator
Sweeney Hall 415 
Phone: (408) 924-3736 
Email: david.whitenack@sjsu.edu

 

                                        Elementary Education Faculty 

                                               Professors

pic  

Rocio Dresser

EdD, University of San Francisco (Bilingual Education)

Sweeney Hall 421

(408) 924-4076

rocio.dresser@sjsu.edu

 pic  

Elba Maldonado-Colon

EdD, University of Massachussetts-Amherst (Bilingual Education)

Sweeney Hall 438

(408) 924-3786

elba.maldonado-colon@sjsu.edu

 pic  

Nancy Markowitz

PhD, University of California Los Angeles (Social Emotional Learning and Teaching)

Sweeney Hall 337

(408) 924-3748

nancy.markowitz@sjsu.edu

 pic  

Rosalinda Quintanar

PhD, Stanford University (Bilingual Education)

Sweeney Hall 322

(408) 924-3747

rosalinda.quintanar@sjsu.edu

pic   

Ferdinand Rivera, Department Chair

PhD, Ohio State University (Mathematics Education)

Sweeney Hall 306

(408) 924-3751

ferdinand.rivera@sjsu.edu

 pic  

Patricia Swanson

PhD, Stanford University (Mathematics and Social Studies Education)

Sweeney Hall 341

(408) 924-3769

patricia.swanson@sjsu.edu

 

                                                               Associate Professors

pic  

Roxana Marachi

PhD, University of Michigan (Educational Psychology)

Sweeney Hall 

(408) 924-

roxana.marachi@sjsu.edu

pic  

Colette Rabin

PhD, Mills College (Critical Theory)

Sweeney Hall 

(408) 924-

colette.rabin@sjsu.edu

pic  

Grinell Smith

PhD, University of Alabama (Science Education, Critical Theory)

Sweeney Hall 

(408) 924-

grinell.smithi@sjsu.edu

pic  

David Whitenack

PhD, Stanford University (Bilingual Education)

Sweeney Hall 

(408) 924-

david.whitenack@sjsu.edu

 

                                                                 Assistant Professors

pic  

Jolynn Asato

PhD, University of California Los Angeles (Literacy Education)

Sweeney Hall 440

(408) 924-3638

jolynn.asato@sjsu.edu

pic  

Allison Briceno

EdD, University of San Francisco (Literacy Education)

Sweeney Hall 339

(408) 924-3775

allison.briceno@sjsu.edu

 

                                                        Supervisors

pic   Stefanie Aichele-Chang

stefanie.aichele@sjsu.edu

    Nancy Atkinson nancy.atkinson@sjsu.edu
pic   Anne Baumgarten anne.baumgarten@sjsu.edu
pic   Pat Belvel patricia.sequeira_belvel@sjsu.edu
pic   Bonnie Jacobson bonnie.jacobson@sjsu.edu

 

 

 

  Alice Lopez alice.lopez@sjsu.edu

 

 

 

  Marianne Mehuys marianne.mehuys@sjsu.edu

 

 pic

 

  Dale Mitchell dale.mitchell@sjsu.edu
pic   Randy Mitchell randal.mitchell@sjsu.edu
pic   Julie Stewart julie.stewart@sjsu.edu

 

                                                             Lecturers

pic   Bettina Pedemonte bettina.pedemonte@sjsu.edu
pic   Joyce Hill joyce.hill@sjsu.edu
pic   Cindy Sammet cindy.sammet@sjsu.edu

 

                                            Emeritus Professors

 

William Hanna

PhD (History Education)

billhanna8@gmail.com   
pic

Judith Lessow-Hurley

PhD, University of Colorado Boulder (Bilingual Education)

judith.lessow-hurley@sjsu.edu