SJSU English Department Scholarship Awards

Congratulations to our Spring 2015 Scholarship Recipients



The Bonita M. Cox Award for Classical and Medieval Literature:
Kym Cunningham                       

The Academy of American Poets/Virginia de Araujo Prize:
1st Place:                                      Katherine Reed
Honorable Mention:                       Kym Cunningham

The Marjorie McLaughlin Folendorf Award for Creative Writing:
Lauren Kilborn

James Phelan Literary Awards:

Metrical Verse:
1st Place, Graduate:                       Jacqueline Gross
1st Place, Undergraduate:               Raven Sisco

Free Verse:
1st Place, Graduate:                       Jacqueline Gross
1st Place, Undergraduate:               Katherine Reed

Short Story:
1st Place, Graduate:                        Jacqueline Gross
2nd Place, Graduate:                       Andrew Tucker

1st Place, Undergraduate:                Benjamin Olsen
2nd Place, Undergraduate:               Jenna Glover

Critical Essay/Familiar Essay/Humor/Satire:
1st Place, Graduate:                        Shane Diven
2nd Place, Graduate:                       Jesse Mardian

1st Place, Undergraduate:                Katherine Reed
2nd Place, Undergraduate:               Fatema Elbakoury



The Schelby A. Sweeney Beowulf Prize for outstanding achievement in a course in which students read untranslated literature from the Old English literary period:
Hannah Wiltbank

The Shirley Nelson Iverson Scholarship to a freshmen English major with intentions of becoming a high school teacher:
Zohal Karimy

The Judy & Jim Schultze Scholarship to a junior level English major with an exceptional academic record and a commitment to teaching at any level:
Roya Lillie

The Rico Ressman Scholarship to a full time MFA student:
Jessica Keaton