Advisors

For non-major advising (frosh and sophomores):

Contact the College of Humanities and the Arts (H&A) Student Success Center in Clark Hall 244, or call (408) 924-5095 for an appointment. 

For major advising (juniors and seniors):

  • Professional and Technical Writing - please email Professor Mark Thompson.
  • English, English Education, and Creative Writing - Book Appointment Online
  • Single Subject Credential (Post-baccalaureate) - Summer advising hours: July 2-12 and after July 30                                                       Book Appointment Online

Students must fill out the appropriate advising form(s) before meeting with their advisor.

Go to Advising Forms to download the appropriate form(s). 

 

Linda Mitchell      Advisor, English & Creative Writing
       Professor Linda Mitchell
       Faculty Offices - FOB 117
       408-924-4453
       linda.mitchell@sjsu.edu
Mark Thompson      Advisor, Professional and Technical Writing 
       
Professor Mark Thompson 
       Faculty Offices - FOB 110 
       (408) 924-4433 
     mark.thompson@sjsu.edu
Jennifer K. Johnson       Advisor, English Preparation for Teaching
       
Dr. Jennifer K. Johnson 
       Faculty Offices - FOB 216 
       (408) 924-4473 
     jennifer.k.johnson@sjsu.edu
Mary Warner      Director, English Credential Program 
       Dr. Mary Warner 
       Faculty Offices - FOB 127 
       (408) 924-4417 
     mary.warner@sjsu.edu
Revathi Krishnaswamy      Coordinator, MA Graduate Program  
       Professor Revathi Krishnaswamy
       Faculty Offices - FOB 109 
       (408) 924-1384 
     revathi.krishnaswamy@sjsu.edu
Alan Soldofsky      Director, MFA Creative Writing Program 
       Professor Alan Soldofsky 
       Faculty Offices - FOB 106 
       (408) 924-4439 
     Alan.Soldofsky@sjsu.edu
Faculty Office Building      Student Contacts

We have over 300 majors in our Department. If you're interested in speaking to some of them, contact the department office at (408) 924-4425.