Contact Advisors

To schedule an advising appointment:

  • Professional and Technical Writing - please email Professor Mark Thompson.
  • All other English majors - please call 408-924-4425  

Students must fill out the appropriate major worksheets before meeting with their advisor (Mac users - to complete the form, please download PDF (not Preview):

Balance Chow      Major Advisor
       Linda Mitchell
       Faculty Offices 117
       408-924-4453 
      linda.mitchell@sjsu.edu
Mary Warner      Director of the English Credential Program 
       Dr. Mary Warner 
       Faculty Offices 127 
       (408) 924-4417 
     mary.warner@sjsu.edu
Jennifer K. Johnson

     Assistant Professor, English Education 
       
Dr. Jennifer K. Johnson 
       Faculty Offices 125 
       (408) 924-4473 
     jennifer.k.johnson@sjsu.edu

Mark Thompson       Professional and Technical Writing Advisor
       
Mark Thompson 
       Faculty Offices 110 
       (408) 924-4433 
     mark.thompson@sjsu.edu
Revathi Krishnaswamy      Graduate Program Coordinator 
       Revathi Krishnaswamy
       Faculty Offices 109 
       (408) 924-1384 
     revathi.krishnaswamy@sjsu.edu
Alan Soldofsky      Creative Writing & Grad. MFA Director 
       Alan Soldofsky 
       Faculty Offices 106 
       (408) 924-4439 
     Alan.Soldofsky@sjsu.edu
Faculty Office Building      Student Contacts

We have over 300 majors in our Department. If you're interested in speaking to some of them, contact the department office at (408) 924-4425.