Current Faculty

  
By Last Name:

B  C  D  E  F G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X Y  Z


 

SJSU logo 

Aamina Ahmad 
Lecturer
MFA, University of Iowa

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-7199
Aamina.Ahmad@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo 

Megan Alfaro
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 108 
408-924-4486 
Megan.Alfaro@sjsu.edu

Selena Anderson

Selena Anderson 
Assistant Professor
PhD, University of Houston

Faculty Offices 105 
408-924-4449
Selena.Anderson@sjsu.edu

 

Ariel Andrew

Ariel Andrew
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 114 
408-924-4442 
Ariel.Andrew@sjsu.edu

 Sally Ashton

Sally Ashton
Lecturer
MFA, Bennington College

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-4491
Sally.Ashton@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo 

Zehlia Babaci-Wilhite 
Lecturer
PhD, University of Oslo, Norway

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4706
Zehlia.Babaci-Wilhite@sjsu.edu

Cindy Baer

Cindy Baer
Assistant Professor, Stretch Program Coordinator
PhD, University of Washington, 1994

Faculty Offices 110
408-924-4451
Cindy.Baer@sjsu.edu

Interests: Renaissance & Early Modern Literature, Women Novelists Before 1800, History of the Novel, Rhetoric & Composition, Technical Writing

 
SJSU logo 

Shama Ball 
Lecturer
MFA, Notre Dame de Namur

Faculty Offices 115 
408-924-4072 
shama.ball@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo

Olivier Bochettaz 
Lecturer
MFA, California State University, Long Beach; MA, Stendhal University

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4517
Olivier.Bochettaz@sjsu.edu

Noelle Brada-Williams

Noelle Brada-Williams
Chair, Professor
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara, 1998

Faculty Offices 101 
408-924-4439
Noelle.Brada-Williams@sjsu.edu

Interests: Ethnic American Literature, Literary Theory. 18th-Century British Literature, Parody, Film and Literature, and Rhetoric & Composition

 
 Clare Browne

Clare J. Browne
Lecturer
Post Graduate Certificate of Education, Cambridge University

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4494
Clare.Browne@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th/20th Century British Novels, Young Adult/Children's Literature

Balance Chow

Balance Chow
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Georgia, 1991

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4430
Balance.Chow@sjsu.edu

Interests: Literary Theory, Ethnic Literature, Chinese Literature, Comparative Literature

 
Sara Cook

Sara E. Cook
Lecturer
MA, San José State University


Faculty Offices 115 
408-924-4423
Sara.Cook@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo

Johnny Damm 
Lecturer
MFA, University of New Orleans; PhD, University of Georgia

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-5066
John.Damm@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Steven Domingo
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 107 
408-924-4490 
Steven.Domingo@sjsu.edu

Paul Douglass
Professor
PhD, UCLA, 1981

Faculty Offices 108 
408-924-4429
Paul.Douglass@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Modernism, Byron

 
Mark Dowdy

Mark Dowdy
Lecturer
PhD, University of Iowa

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-5063
Mark.Dowdy@sjsu.edu

 
Adrienne Eastwood

Adrienne L. Eastwood
Associate Professor, Curriculum Coordinator
PhD, University of California, San Diego, 2004

Faculty Offices 116
408-924-4509
Adrienne.Eastwood@sjsu.edu

Interests: Early Modern English Literature and Culture, Shakespeare

 

John Engell

John Engell 
Professor
PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1982

Faculty Offices 218 
408-924-4499
John.Engell@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Environmental Literature, Creative Writing (Fiction), and Film & Literature

 
Karen English

Karen English
Lecturer
PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1992

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4506
Karen.English@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Transcendentalism (Emerson, Alcott, and Fuller), Literature and Medicine

SJSU logo 

Richard Flynn
Lecturer
MA, California State University, East Bay, Hayward

Faculty Offices TBD
408-924-TBD
Richard.Flynn@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Christopher Garrecht-Williams 
Lecturer
MFA, Columbia University, 2012

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-TBD
Christopher.Garrecht-Williams@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Don George 
Lurie Author-in-Residence 2018
MA, Hollins College

Faculty Offices TBD 
Phone TBD 
email TBD

Interests: author of The Way of Wanderlust and editor at large for National Geographic Traveler, special features editor for BBC Travel

Michelle Hager

Michelle Hager
Lecturer and Writing Center Director
MA, San José State University, 2005 

Faculty Offices 117 
408-924-4454 
Michelle.Hager@sjsu.edu

Interests: Grammar, Fantasy Literature, Children's Literature, Young Adult Literature, Technical Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, and Professional Editing & Career Writing

 
Jeffrey Hallford

Jeffrey Hallford
Lecturer
MA, San José State University, 1995

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4435
Jeffrey.Hallford@sjsu.edu

Interests: Poetry, Secondary English Education

SJSU Logo

Lois Hamor
Lecturer

Lois.Hamor@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo

Eli Hansen
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 108 
408-924-4316 
Eli.Hansen@sjsu.edu

Kathy Harris 

Katherine D. Harris
Associate Professor
PhD, City University of New York, 2005

Faculty Offices 220
408-924-4475
Katherine.Harris@sjsu.edu

Website

Interests: Digital Humanties and Digital Pedagogy, British Romanticism, Textual Theory, History of the Book, Feminist Theory, Digital/Hypertextual Studies

 

Kelly Harrison

Kelly Harrison
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University, 2004

Faculty Offices 114 
408-924-3034
Kelly.Harrison@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric & Composition, Creative Writing

 
Sherri Harvey

Sherri Harvey
Lecturer
BA, Indiana University, 1992; MA, California State University, Hayward, 1997

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4456
Sherri.Harvey@sjsu.edu

Interests: Contemporary Fiction, Creative Writing, Rhetoric & Composition

 
Daniel Hendel De La O

Daniel Hendel De La O
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-5019
Daniel.Hendeldelao@sjsu.edu

 
Shannon Hervey

Shannon Hervey
Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Riverside

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-TBD 
Shannon.Hervey@sjsu.edu

 

SJSU Logo

John H. Hessler
Lecturer
PhD, Stanford University

Faculty Offices
408-924-5073
John.Hessler@sjsu.edu

Robert James

Robert James
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 106 
408-924-5087 
Robert.James@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing (fiction, nonfiction)

 
SJSJ Logo

Ellen James-Penney 
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 115 
408-924-8978 
Ellen.James@sjsu.edu

Jennifer K. Johnson

Jennifer Johnson 
Assistant Professor, English Education
PhD, Columbia University, 2016

Faculty Offices 216 
408-924-4473
Jennifer.K.Johnson@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Roshini Joseph
Lecturer
MA, Madras University, India; MA TESOL, San José State University

Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4495
Roshini.Joseph@sjsu.edu

Maria Judnick

Maria Judnick
Lecturer
MFA, St. Mary's College of California; MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4154
Maria.Judnick@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo

Matthew Keast
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-3257 
Matthew.Keast@sjsu.edu

Spartan Logo 

Jessica Keaton
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 115
408-924-3188 
Jessica.Keaton@sjsu.edu

Sheree Kirby

Sheree Kirby
Lecturer
MFA, Warren Wilson College; MBA, Saint Mary's College

Faculty Offices 219
408-924-4448
Sheree.Kirby@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Faith Kirk
Lecturer
MFA, Michigan State University

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-5093
Faith.Kirk@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo

Belinda Kremer
Lecturer
MFA, University of Michigan 

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-4235
Belinda.Kremer@sjsu.edu

 

Revathi Krishnaswamy

Revathi Krishnaswamy
Professor, MA Advisor, and Graduate Coordinator
PhD, Kent State University, 1990

Faculty Offices 118 
408-924-1384 
Revathi.Krishnaswamy@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th- & 20th-Century British Fiction, Colonial & Post-Colonial Literature, Critical Theory

 
SJSU Logo

Linda Landau
Lecturer
PhD, Graduate School of Cultural Studies, Tel Aviv University

Faculty Office 115
408-924-4117
Linda.Landau@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th Century American Literature, Comparative Literature, Narrative Analysis, Semiotics, Critical Thinking, Rhetoric and Composition

Linda Lappin

Linda Lappin
Lecturer
MA, MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 128 
408-924-4601 
Linda.Lappin@sjsu.edu

 
Leanne Lindelof 

Leanne Lindelof
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 219 
408-924-4436 
Leanne.Lindelof@sjsu.edu

 

Laimin Lo

Laimin Lo
Lecturer
MBA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-4339
Laimin.Lo@sjsu.edu

 
Jill Logan 

Jill Logan
Lecturer
MFA, University of Iowa

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4024
Jill.Logan@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing (Fiction, Personal Essay), Composition

  
Craig Lore

Craig Lore
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4505
Craig.Lore@sjsu.edu

 

 Jonathan Lovell

Jonathan Lovell
Professor,
 San José Area Writing Project DirectorEnglish Education Supervisor
PhD, Yale, 1980

Faculty Offices 127
408-924-4437
Jonathan.Lovell@sjsu.edu

Interests: Theory and Practice in the Teaching of Writing, K-14, Theory and Practice in the Teaching of English, 7-12, Reader Response Theory

 

Samuel Maio

Samuel Maio
Professor
PhD, University of Southern California, 1986

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4483
Samuel.Maio@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing Poetry, Critical Theory, Modern Poetry

Sydney Marsh

Sydney Marsh
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Sydney.Marsh@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Kelley McClary
Lecturer
MFA, Naropa University

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-8451
Kelley.McClary@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Christie McCullen
Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Santa Cruz

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-7886
Christie.McCullen@sjsu.edu


McNabb

Richard McNabb
Associate Chair, Professor, Writing Programs Administrator, and Teaching Associates Coordinator
PhD Rhetoric & Composition, University of Arizona

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-1382
Richard.McNabb@sjsu.edu

Interests: the history of rhetoric (in particular epistolary theory in the Middle Ages) and the rhetoric of graphic design.

 
SJSU logo

Helen Meservey
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 112 
408-924-4323 
Helen.Meservey@sjsu.edu

 

 David Mesher

David Mesher
Professor
PhD, University of Washington, 1978

Faculty Offices 220
408-924-4440
D.Mesher@sjsu.edu

Interests: Modern, Post-Modern, Post-Colonial & Comparative Literature

 

Cathleen Miller

Cathleen Miller
Associate Professor; Director, Center for Literary ArtsReed Magazine 
MFA, Penn State, 1997

Faculty Offices 114 
408-924-4441
Cathleen.Miller@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Nonfiction, Travel Writing, Women's Issues 

 

Linda C. Mitchell

Linda C. Mitchell
Professor and Majors Advisor

PhD, University of Southern California, 1996

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4453
Linda.Mitchell@sjsu.edu

Interests: 17th & 18th Century, Language Theory/Grammar, English Education, History of Rhetoric

 
Mandana Mohsenzadegan

Mandana Mohsenzadegan
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 226
408-924-5118
Mandana.Mohsenzadegan@sjsu.edu

 

Tom Moriarty

Thomas Moriarty
Professor, Director of Writing Across the Curriculum
PhD English, Purdue University

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-4515
Thomas.Moriarty@sjsu.edu

Interests: WAC, political rhetoric, and designing undergraduate majors and minors in writing and rhetoric. 


Tommy Mouton

Tommy Mouton
Steinbeck Fellow, 2013-2014
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4479
Tommy.Mouton@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Carlos Mujal
Lecturer
PhD, University of California Berkeley

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4338 
Carlos.Mujal@sjsu.edu

SJSU Logo

Jillian Murphy
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 109 
408-924-5079 
Jillian.Murphy@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Joseph Navarro
Lecturer
MFA, Naropa University

Faculty Offices 224 
408-924-4420 
Joseph.Navarro@sjsu.edu

 
Peter O'Sullivan

Peter O'Sullivan
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 107
408-924-4419
Peter.O'Sullivan@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing, Fiction; Science Fiction and Fantasy; Intersectional Pop Culture; American Romanticism; and American Naturalism

SJSU logo

Lisa Parham
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 224 
408-924-4025 
Lisa.Parham@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Jada Patchigondla
Lecturer
MA, California State University, Northridge

Faculty Offices 109 
408-924-4447 
Jada.Patchigondla@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo

David Perez
Lecturer
MFA, Goddard College

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-4210
David.Perez@sjsu.edu

Alesya Petty

Alesya Petty
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 224 
408-924-4496 
Alesya.Petty@sjsu.edu

  
Sarah Prasad

Sarah Prasad
Lecturer
MA in English Composition with Certificate in Teaching of Post Secondary Reading, San Francisco State University

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4236
Sarah.Prasad@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric Composition, Technology in the Composition Classroom, Integrated Reading and Writing, Developmental and First-Year Writing

 
Avantika Rohatgi

Avantika Rohatgi
Lecturer
PhD, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, 1985; MA Indiana University, 1984 

Faculty Offices 107 
408-924-4488 
Avantika.Rohatgi@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric, Composition, British and American Literature, ESL, Global Literature

Ed Sams

Ed Sams
Lecturer
MA, University of Tennessee, 1975; MFA, San José State University, 2004

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4485
Edwin.Sams@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo

Kirsten Schwartz
Lecturer
MA, California State University, East Bay, Hayward

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-5083
Kirsten.Schwartz@sjsu.edu

Susan Shillinglaw

Susan Shillinglaw
Professor 
PhD University of North Carolina, 1985

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4487
Susan.Shillinglaw@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Steinbeck

 
SJSU logo

Namita Singhal
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-8561
Namita.Singhal@sjsu.edu

SJSU Logo

Dalia Sirkin
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-5089
Dalia.Sirkin@sjsu.edu

 Ryan Skinnell

Ryan Skinnell
Assistant Professor
PhD, Arizona State University, 2011

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-4207
Ryan.Skinnell@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric and Composition Histories, Rhetorical Historiography, Archival Theories and Methods, Modern Rhetorical Theory, Institutional Rhetoric, and Bureaucracy

SJSU logo 

Boris Slager
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4598 
Boris.Slager@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Amanda Smith
Lecturer
MA, Ruprecht-Karls-Universität, Heidelberg

Faculty Offices 219 
408-924-4071
Amanda.Smith@sjsu.edu

Alan Soldofsky
Professor, Creative Writing and MFA Director and Advisor, & Poets & Writers Coalition Faculty Advisor
MFA, Iowa, 1972

Faculty Offices 106
408-924-4432
Alan.Soldofsky@sjsu.edu

Interests: Contemporary Poetry, Modern American Poetry, Robinson Jeffers

 
Julie Sparks

Julie Sparks
Lecturer
PhD, Penn State, 1999

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-4434
Julie.Sparks@sjsu.edu

Interests: Bernard Shaw, Theater and Film, Victorian Literature, Irish Literature, Rhetoric and Composition

 SJSU logo

Josh Speers
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4493
Joshua.Speers@sjsu.edu


Allison St Dennis

Allison St. Dennis
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 226 
408-924-4956
Allison.Stdennis@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric and Composition, 19th Century British and American Literature, Satire

 

Nancy Stork

Nancy Stork 
Professor
PhD, University of Toronto, 1985

Faculty Offices 218
408-924-4477
Nancy.Stork@sjsu.edu

Interests: Medieval Literature, Editor of Translations from the Inquisition Record of Jacques Fournier.  For more translations from the Inquisition Records of Jacques Fournier, please see Nancy Stork at Academia.edu.

 

Nick Taylor

Nick Taylor
Associate Professor, Director of Steinbeck Center
MFA, Virginia, 2005

Faculty Offices 226 
408-808-2067 
Nicholas.Taylor@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing - Fiction

 

Mark Thompson

Mark Thompson
Assistant Professor and Director of Professional and Technical Writing Program
PhD, Carnegie Mellon, 2013

Faculty Offices 110 
408-924-4433 
Mark.Thompson@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric of the Workplace, Argumentation in Institutional Settings, Accommodation of Expert Knowledge to General Audiences


Roohi Vora

Roohi Vora
Lecturer
MA, San José State University; MD, Rawalpindi Medical College, Pakistan

Faculty Offices 116 
408-924-4428
Roohi.Vora@sjsu.edu

 

Mary Warner 

Mary Warner
Professor, English Education Director 
PhD, University of Michigan, 1992

Faculty Offices 127
408-924-4417
Mary.Warner@sjsu.edu

Interests: Young Adult Literature, Bible as Literature, Professional Development of Secondary-Level English Teachers

 
Mary Williams

Mary Williams
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 116
408-924-4579
Mary.Williams@sjsu.edu

 

William Wilson

William Wilson
Professor
PhD, Virginia, 1979

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4510
William.Wilson@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th-Century British Literature, Contemporary Irish Literature

SJSU logo

Emma Wood
Lecturer
MFA, University of Iowa

Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4416
Emma.Wood@sjsu.edu