Current Faculty

  
By Last Name:

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z


 

 Sally Ashton

Sally Ashton
Lecturer
MFA, Bennington College

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-4491
Sally.Ashton@sjsu.edu

 

Cindy Baer

Cindy Baer
Assistant Professor, Stretch Program Coordinator
PhD, University of Washington, 1994

Faculty Offices 110
408-924-4451
Cindy.Baer@sjsu.edu

Interests: Renaissance & Early Modern Literature, Women Novelists Before 1800, History of the Novel, Rhetoric & Composition, Technical Writing

Cara Bayles

Cara Bayles
Lecturer
MFA, Boston University

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4072
Cara.Bayles@sjsu.edu

 
Noelle Brada-Williams

Noelle Brada-Williams
Associate Chair, Professor & MA Advisor and Graduate Coordinator
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara, 1998

Faculty Offices 102 
408-924-4439
Noelle.Brada-Williams@sjsu.edu

Interests: Ethnic American Literature, Literary Theory. 18th-Century British Literature, Parody, Film and Literature, and Rhetoric & Composition

 
 Clare Browne

Clare J. Browne
Lecturer
Post Graduate Certificate of Education, Cambridge University

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4494
Clare.Browne@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th/20th Century British Novels, Young Adult/Children's Literature

 Kirstin Chen

Kirstin Chen
Lecturer
MFA, Emerson College, Steinbeck Fellow 2011-2012

Faculty Offices 219
408-924-4025
Kirstin.Chen@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing (Fiction), Contemporary American Fiction, Postcolonial  Literature

 
Balance Chow

Balance Chow
Associate Professor Majors Advisor
PhD, University of Georgia, 1991

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4430
Balance.Chow@sjsu.edu

Interests: Literary Theory, Ethnic Literature, Chinese Literature, Comparative Literature

 
Gloria Collins

Gloria Collins
Writing Skills Test Coordinator
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4495
Gloria.Collins@sjsu.edu

Interests: Composition, Poetry

 
Sara Cook

Sara E. Cook
Lecturer
MA, San José State University


Faculty Offices 115
408-924-4423
Sara.Cook@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU Logo

Shane Diven
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4493
Shane.Diven@sjsu.edu

 

Paul Douglass
Professor
PhD, UCLA, 1981

Faculty Offices 108 
408-924-4429
Paul.Douglass@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Modernism, Byron

 
Mark Dowdy

Mark Dowdy
Lecturer
PhD, University of Iowa

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-5063
Mark.Dowdy@sjsu.edu

 
Adrienne Eastwood

Adrienne L. Eastwood
Associate Professor
PhD, University of California, San Diego, 2004

Faculty Offices 116
408-924-4509
Adrienne.Eastwood@sjsu.edu

Interests: Early Modern English Literature and Culture, Shakespeare

 

John Engell

John Engell 
Professor
PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1982

Faculty Offices 218 
408-924-4499
John.Engell@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Environmental Literature, Creative Writing (Fiction), and Film & Literature

 
Karen English

Karen English
Lecturer
PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1992

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4506
Karen.English@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Transcendentalism (Emerson, Alcott, and Fuller), Literature and Medicine

 

Andrew Fleck

Andrew Fleck 
Associate Professor ON LEAVE 2015-2016
PhD, Claremont Graduate University, 2000

Andrew.Fleck@sjsu.edu

Interests: Early Modern British Literature, Shakespeare, the Dutch in English Literature

Cristina García 

Cristina García 
Lurie Visiting Author-in-Residence
MA, The Johns Hopkins University, 1981

Faculty Offices 218 
408-924-4512 
cristinagarcianovelist@gmail.com

 

Luke Goebel

Luke Goebel
Lecturer
MFA, University of Massachusetts

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-4449
Luke.Goebel@sjsu.edu

 

Jessy Goodman

Jessy Goodman 
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University 

Faculty Offices 109 
408-924-4447 
Jessy.Goodman@sjsu.edu

 
Michelle Hager

Michelle Hager
Lecturer and Writing Center Director
MA, San José State University, 2005 

Faculty Offices 117 
408-924-4454 
Michelle.Hager@sjsu.edu

Interests: Grammar, Fantasy Literature, Children's Literature, Young Adult Literature, Technical Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, and Professional Editing & Career Writing

 
Jeffrey Hallford

Jeffrey Hallford
Lecturer
MA, San José State University, 1995

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4435
Jeffrey.Hallford@sjsu.edu

Interests: Poetry, Secondary English Education

SJSU Logo

Lois Hamor
Lecturer

Lois.Hamor@sjsu.edu

 

Kathy Harris 

Katherine D. Harris
Associate Professor
PhD, City University of New York, 2005

Faculty Offices 220
408-924-4475
Katherine.Harris@sjsu.edu

Website

Interests: Digital Humanties and Digital Pedagogy, British Romanticism, Textual Theory, History of the Book, Feminist Theory, Digital/Hypertextual Studies

 

Kelly Harrison

Kelly Harrison -- ON LEAVE 2015-2016
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University, 2004


Kelly.Harrison@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric & Composition, Creative Writing

 
Sherri Harvey

Sherri Harvey
Lecturer
BA, Indiana University, 1992; MA, California State University, Hayward, 1997

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4456
Sherri.Harvey@sjsu.edu

Interests: Contemporary Fiction, Creative Writing, Rhetoric & Composition

 

SJSU Logo

Jeffrey Heid
Center for Literary Arts

Faculty Offices 226
408-924-5118
Jeffrey.Heid@sjsu.edu

Daniel Hendel De La O

Daniel Hendel De La O
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-5019
Daniel.Hendeldelao@sjsu.edu

 
Shannon Hervey

Shannon Hervey
Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Riverside

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4496
Shannon.Hervey@sjsu.edu


SJSU Logo

John H. Hessler
Lecturer
PhD, Stanford University

Faculty Offices 115
408-924-5073
John.Hessler@sjsu.edu

Leslie Jacoby

Leslie Jacoby
Lecturer
MA, MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4492 
Leslie.Jacoby@sjsu.edu

Interests: Medieval Studies, 14th-Century French Falconry, Children's Literature, Art History

 

Robert James

Robert James
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 106 
408-924-5087 
Robert.James@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing (fiction, nonfiction)


SJSU Logo

Ellen James-Penney
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-8978
Ellen.James@sjsu.edu

 

Maria Judnick

Maria Judnick
Lecturer
MFA, St. Mary's College of CA; MA, San Jose State University 

Faculty Offices 115
408-924-4154
Maria.Judnick@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Nonfiction; Children and Young Adult Literature; Rhetoric & Composition; American / California Literature; and Ecocriticism 

Persis Karim

Persis Karim 
Professor
PhD, University of Texas, 1998
Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4476
Persis.Karim@sjsu.edu

Interests: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Ethnic American Literature, Postcolonial Literature, Iranian Diaspora Literature, editor of Globalizing Literary Studies

 

SJSU Logo

Jessica Keaton
Teaching
Associate

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4070
Jessica.Keaton@sjsu.edu

William Kelly

William Kelly
Teaching
 Associate

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4598
William.Kelly@sjsu.edu

Sheree Kirby

Sheree Kirby
Lecturer
MFA, Warren Wilson College; MBA, Saint Mary's College

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4448
Sheree.Kirby@sjsu.edu

 

Revathi Krishnaswamy

Revathi Krishnaswamy
Professor & Curriculum Coordinator
PhD, Kent State University, 1990

Faculty Offices 125 
408-924-1384 
Revathi.Krishnaswamy@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th- & 20th-Century British Fiction, Colonial & Post-Colonial Literature, Critical Theory

 
SJSU Logo

Linda Landau
Lecturer
PhD, Graduate School of Cultural Studies, Tel Aviv University

Faculty Office 115
408-924-4117
Linda.Landau@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th Century American Literature, Comparative Literature, Narrative Analysis, Semiotics, Critical Thinking, Rhetoric and Composition

Linda Lappin

Linda Lappin
Lecturer
MA, MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4601 
Linda.Lappin@sjsu.edu

 
Leanne Lindelof 

Leanne Lindelof
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 114 
408-924-4436 
Leanne.Lindelof@sjsu.edu

 

Laimin Lo

Laimin Lo
Lecturer
MBA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-4339
Laimin.Lo@sjsu.edu

 
Jill Logan 

Jill Logan
Lecturer
MFA, University of Iowa

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4024
Jill.Logan@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing (Fiction, Personal Essay), Composition

  
Craig Lore

Craig Lore
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4505
Craig.Lore@sjsu.edu

 

 Jonathan Lovell

Jonathan Lovell
Professor; 
 San José Area Writing Project DirectorEnglish Education Supervisor
PhD, Yale, 1980

Faculty Offices 127
408-924-4437
Jonathan.Lovell@sjsu.edu

Interests: Theory and Practice in the Teaching of Writing, K-14, Theory and Practice in the Teaching of English, 7-12, Reader Response Theory

 

Samuel Maio

Samuel Maio ON SABBATICAL 2015-2016
Professor
PhD, University of Southern California, 1986

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4483
Samuel.Maio@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing Poetry, Critical Theory, Modern Poetry

Sydney Marsh

Sydney Marsh
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Sydney.Marsh@sjsu.edu


McNabb

Richard McNabb
Professor, Writing Programs Administrator, Teaching Associates Coordinator
PhD Rhetoric & Composition, University of Arizona

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-1382
Richard.McNabb@sjsu.edu

Interests: the history of rhetoric (in particular epistolary theory in the Middle Ages) and the rhetoric of graphic design.

 

 David Mesher

David Mesher
Professor
PhD University of Washington, 1978

Faculty Offices 220
408-924-4440
D.Mesher@sjsu.edu

Interests: Modern, Post-Modern, Post-Colonial & Comparative Literature

 

Cathleen Miller

Cathleen Miller
Associate Professor; Director, Center for Literary ArtsReed Magazine 
MFA, Penn State, 1997

Faculty Offices 125
408-924-4441
Cathleen.Miller@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Nonfiction, Travel Writing, Women's Issues 

Shannon Miller

Shannon Miller
Chair, Professor
PhD English Literature, UC Santa Barbara

Faculty Offices 102
408-924-4518
Shannon.Miller@sjsu.edu

Interests: Renaissance Literature (especially John Milton's Paradise Lost and women writers of the 16th and 17th century). Miller is currently working on a project entitled "On the Margins of History," which examines 17th century collections of documents, most with extensive marginal commentary. 

 

Linda C. Mitchell

Linda C. Mitchell
Professor

PhD, University of Southern California, 1996

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4453
Linda.Mitchell@sjsu.edu

Interests: 17th & 18th Century, Language Theory/Grammar, English Education, History of Rhetoric

 
Mandana Mohsenzadegan

Mandana Mohsenzadegan
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 226
408-924-5118
Mandana.Mohsenzadegan@sjsu.edu

 

Tom Moriarty

Thomas Moriarty
Professor, Director of Writing Across the Curriculum
PhD English, Purdue University

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-4515
Thomas.Moriarty@sjsu.edu

Interests: WAC, political rhetoric, and designing undergraduate majors and minors in writing and rhetoric. 


Tommy Mouton

Tommy Mouton
Steinbeck Fellow, 2013-2014
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4479
Tommy.Mouton@sjsu.edu

SJSU Logo

Carlos Mujal
Lecturer
PhD, University of California Berkeley

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4338 
Carlos.Mujal@sjsu.edu

 
Peter O'Sullivan

Peter O'Sullivan
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 107
408-924-4419
Peter.O'Sullivan@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing, Fiction; Science Fiction and Fantasy; Intersectional Pop Culture; American Romanticism; and American Naturalism

SJSU Logo

Sophie Papacosta
Teaching
 Associate

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4720
Katrina.Papacosta@sjsu.edu

  
Sarah Prasad

Sarah Prasad
Lecturer
MA in English Composition with Certificate in Teaching of Post Secondary Reading,    San Francisco State University

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4236
Sarah.Prasad@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric Composition, Technology in the Composition Classroom, Integrated Reading and Writing, Developmental and First-Year Writing

 
Avantika Rohatgi

Avantika Rohatgi
Lecturer
PhD, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, 1985; MA Indiana University, 1984 

Faculty Offices 107 
408-924-4488 
Avantika.Rohatgi@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric, Composition, British and American Literature, ESL, Global Literature

 
Ilyssa Russ

Ilyssa Russ
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-8451
Ilyssa.Russ@sjsu.edu

Ed Sams

Ed Sams
Lecturer
MA, University of Tennessee, 1975; MFA, San José State University, 2004

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4485
Edwin.Sams@sjsu.edu

 
Sweeney Schragg

E.D. "Sweeney" Schragg
Lecturer
BA Literature, University of California, Santa Cruz, 1995 ; MFA, Fiction Writing, San José State University, 2003

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-4069 
Sweeney.Schragg@sjsu.edu

SJSU Logo

Emily Selle
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4486
Emily.Selle@sjsu.edu

 
Susan Shillinglaw

Susan Shillinglaw
Professor 
PhD University of North Carolina, 1985

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4487
Susan.Shillinglaw@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Steinbeck

 
SJSU logo

Namita Signal
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 107
408-924-8561
Namita.Singhal@sjsu.edu

SJSU Logo

Dalia Sirkin
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-5089
Dalia.Sirkin@sjsu.edu

 Ryan Skinnell

Ryan Skinnell
Assistant Professor
PhD, Arizona State University, 2011

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-4457
Ryan.Skinnell@sjsu.edu


SJSU Logo

Amanda Smith
Teaching Associate 

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4071
Amanda.Smith@sjsu.edu

Alan Soldofsky
Professor, Creative Writing and MFA Director and Advisor, & Poets & Writers Coalition Faculty Advisor
MFA, Iowa, 1972

Faculty Offices 106
408-924-4432
Alan.Soldofsky@sjsu.edu

Interests: Contemporary Poetry, Modern American Poetry, Robinson Jeffers

Owen Sonntag

Owen Sonntag
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 222 
408-924-5114
Owen.Sonntag@sjsu.edu

 
Julie Sparks

Julie Sparks
Lecturer
PhD, Penn State, 1999

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-4434
Julie.Sparks@sjsu.edu

Interests: Bernard Shaw, Theater and Film, Victorian Literature, Irish Literature, Rhetoric and Composition


Allison St Dennis

Allison St. Dennis
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 223 
408-924-4956
Allison.Stdennis@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric and Composition, 19th Century British and American Literature, Satire

 

Nancy Stork

Nancy Stork  ON SABBATICAL SPRING 2016
Professor
PhD, University of Toronto, 1985

Faculty Offices 218
408-924-4477
Nancy.Stork@sjsu.edu

Interests: Medieval Literature, Editor of Translations from the Inquisition Record of Jacques Fournier.  For more translations from the Inquisition Records of Jacques Fournier, please see Nancy Stork at Academia.edu.

 

Nick Taylor

Nick Taylor
Associate Professor, Director of Steinbeck Center
MFA, Virginia, 2005

Faculty Offices 219
408-808-2067 
Nicholas.Taylor@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing - Fiction

 

Mark Thompson

Mark Thompson
Assistant Professor & Director of Professional and Technical Writing Program
PhD, Carnegie Mellon, 2013

Faculty Offices 110 
408-924-4433 
Mark.Thompson@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric of the Workplace, Argumentation in Institutional Settings, Accommodation of Expert Knowledge to General Audiences

SJSU Logo

Au-Co Tran
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-4065
AuCo.Tran@sjsu.edu

SJSU Logo  

Shara Tran
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-5064
Shara.Tran@sjsu.edu


Roohi Vora

Roohi Vora
Lecturer
MA, San José State University; MD, Rawalpindi Medical College, Pakistan

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4428
Roohi.Vora@sjsu.edu

 

Mary Warner 

Mary Warner
Professor, English Education Director 
PhD, University of Michigan, 1992

Faculty Offices 127
408-924-4417
Mary.Warner@sjsu.edu

Interests: Young Adult Literature, Bible as Literature, Professional Development of Secondary-Level English Teachers

 
Mary Williams

Mary Williams
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 116
408-924-4579
Mary.Williams@sjsu.edu

 

William Wilson

William Wilson
Professor
PhD, Virginia, 1979

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4510
William.Wilson@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th-Century British Literature, Contemporary Irish Literature

 
Candice Wynne

Candice Wynne
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-5093
Candice.Wynne@sjsu.edu