Current Faculty

  
By Last Name:

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z


 

 

SJSU Logo

 

Areeba Abid
Teaching
Associate

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4072
Areeba.Abid@sjsu.edu

Andrew F. Altschul

Andrew F. Altschul
Associate Professor, Director of CLA
MFA, University of California, Irvine, 1997

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-4489
Andrew.Altschul@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing, Contemporary Fiction, Poetry, Postmodernism.

 
 SJSU Logo

Sally Ashton
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-4491
Sally.Ashton.@sjsu.edu

 

Cindy Baer

Cindy Baer
Lecturer, Stretch Program Coordinator
PhD, University of Washington, 1994

Faculty Offices 110
408-924-4451
Cindy.Baer@sjsu.edu

Interests: Renaissance & Early Modern Literature, Women Novelists Before 1800, History of the Novel, Rhetoric & Composition, Technical Writing

 

SJSU Logo

Cara Bayles
Lecturer
MFA, Boston University, Steinbeck Fellow 2014-2015


Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4720
Cara.Bayles@sjsu.edu
 
Noelle Brada-Williams

Noelle Brada-Williams
Associate Chair, Professor & MA and GA Advisor and Coordinator
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara, 1998

Faculty Offices 102 
408-924-4439
Noelle.Brada-Williams@sjsu.edu

Interests: Ethnic American Literature, 18th-Century British Literature, Parody, Film and Literature, and Rhetoric & Composition

 
 SJSU Logo

Clare J. Browne
Lecturer
Post Graduate Certificate of Education, Cambridge University, 1978; MA, San José State University, 1989

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4494
Clare.Browne@sjsu.edu

 

SJSU Logo

Kirstin Chen
Lecturer
MFA, Emerson College, Steinbeck Fellow 2011-2012

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4025
Kirstin.Chen@sjsu.edu
 
Balance Chow

Balance Chow
Associate Professor & Majors Advisor
PhD, University of Georgia, 1991

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4430
Balance.Chow@sjsu.edu

Interests: Literary Theory, Ethnic Literature, Chinese Literature, Comparative Literature

 
Gloria Collins

Gloria Collins
Lecturer & Writing Skills Test Coordinator
MA, San José State University, 1980

Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4495
Gloria.Collins@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric & Composition, ESL, Poetry

 
SJSU Logo

Sara E. Cook
Lecturer


Faculty Offices 115
408-924-4423
Sara.Cook@sjsu.edu

 

Bonita M. Cox

Bonita M. Cox
Associate Professor & Honors Program Coordinator
PhD, Stanford, 1995

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-4449
Bonnie.Cox@sjsu.edu

Interests: Classical & Medieval Literature, British History 500-1500, Celtic Studies, Technical Writing & Editing, Composition & Rhetoric, History of the Language.

 
Robert Cullen

Robert Cullen
Professor
PhD, University of California, Los Angeles, 1981

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4454
Robert.Cullen@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric and Composition, American Literature

 

Paul Douglass
Professor
PhD, UCLA, 1981

Faculty Offices 108 
408-924-4429
Paul.Douglass@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Modernism, Byron

 
SJSU Logo

Mark Dowdy
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-5063
Mark.Dowdy@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU Logo

Adrienne L. Eastwood
Associate Professor
PhD, University of California, San Diego, 2004

Faculty Offices 116
408-924-4509
Adrienne.Eastwood@sjsu.edu

Interests: Early Modern English Literature and Culture, Shakespeare

 

John Engell

John Engell
Professor
PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1979

Faculty Offices 218 
408-924-4499
John.Engell@sjsu.edu

Interests: Colonial American Literature, American Novel, Native-American Studies, Film & Literature

 
SJSU Logo

Karen English
Lecturer
PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1992

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4506
Karen.English@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Transcendentalism, Autobiography

 

Andrew Fleck

Andrew Fleck
Associate Professor
PhD, Claremont Graduate University, 2000

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-4457
Andrew.Fleck@sjsu.edu

Interests: Early Modern British Literature, Shakespeare, the Dutch in English Literature

Gayathri Goel

Gayathri Goel
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4071
gayathri.goel@sjsu.edu

 

SJSU Logo

Jessy  Goodman
Lecturer
MFA, SJSU

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-4447
Jessy.Goodman@sjsu.edu

 

SJSU Logo

Jacqueline Gross
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4072
Jacqueline.Gross@sjsu.edu
 
SJSU Logo

Leah Griesmann -- ON LEAVE 2014-2015
Lecturer & Steinbeck Fellow 2010-2011
MA, Boston University, 2005

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4072
leah.griesmann@sjsu.edu

 
Michelle Hager

Michelle Hager
Lecturer and Writing Center Director
MA, San José State University, 2005 

Faculty Offices 115 
408-924-5073 
Michelle.Hager@sjsu.edu

Interests: Grammar, Fantasy Literature, Children's Literature, Young Adult Literature, Technical Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, and Professional Editing & Career Writing

 
SJSU Logo

Jeffrey Hallford
Lecturer
MA, San José State University, 1995.

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4435
Jeffrey.Hallford@sjsu.edu

Interests: Poetry, Secondary English Education.

 

Katherine D. Harris 

Katherine D. Harris
Associate Professor
PhD, City University of New York, 2005

Faculty Offices 220
408-924-4475
Katherine.Harris@sjsu.edu

Website

Interests: Ditigal Humanties and Digital Pedagogy, British Romanticism, Textual Theory, History of the Book, Feminist Theory, Digital/Hypertextual Studies

 

Kelly Harrison

Kelly Harrison -- ON SABBATICAL 2014-2015
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University, 2004

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-4496 
Kelly.Harrison@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric & Composition, Creative Writing

 
SJSU Logo

Sherri Harvey
Lecturer
BA, Indiana University, 1992; MA, California State University, Hayward, 1997

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4456
Sherri.Harvey@sjsu.edu

Interests: Contemporary Fiction, Creative Writing, Rhetoric & Composition

 

SJSU Logo

Jeffrey Heid
Teaching
Associate

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-5118
Jeffrey.Heid@sjsu.edu

Daniel Hendel De La O 
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-5019
Daniel.Hendeldelao@sjsu.edu

 

John H. Hessler
Lecturer
 

John.Hessler@sjsu.edu


Carrie  Holmberg
Lecturer

Carrie.Holmberg@sjsu.edu


Leslie Jacoby

Leslie Jacoby
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4492 
Leslie.Jacoby@sjsu.edu

Interests: Medieval Studies, 14th-Century French Falconry, Children's Literature, Art History

 

Robert James

Robert James
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University, 2004

Faculty Offices 106 
408-924-5087 
Robert.James@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing (fiction, nonfiction)




Ellen James-Penney
Lecturer
MFA, SJSU

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4512


 

Jill Logan
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4024 




Maria Judnick
Lecturer
MFA, St. Mary's College of CA; MA, San Jose State University 

Faculty Offices 115
408-924-4154
Maria.Judnick@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Nonfiction; Children and Young Adult Literature; Rhetoric & Composition; American / California Literature; and Ecocriticism 

Persis Karim

Persis Karim  -- ON SABBATICAL 2014-2015
Professor
PhD, University of Texas, 1998
Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4476
Persis.Karim@sjsu.edu

Interests: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Ethnic American Literature, Postcolonial Literature, Iranian Diaspora Literature, editor of Globalizing Literary Studies

 



Jessica Keaton
Teaching
Associate

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4070
Jessica.Keaton@sjsu.edu

Sheree Kirby
Lecturer
MFA, Warren Wilson College

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4448
Sheree.Kirby@sjsu.edu

 

Revathi Krishnaswamy

Revathi Krishnaswamy
Professor & Curriculum Coordinator
PhD, Kent State University, 1990

Faculty Offices 125 
408-924-1384 
Revathi.Krishnaswamy@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th- & 20th-Century British Fiction, Colonial & Post-Colonial Literature, Critical Theory

 


Linda Landau
Lecturer
PhD, Porter School of Cultural Studies, Tel Aviv University

Faculty Office 115
408-924-4117
Linda.Landau@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th Century American Literature, Comparative Literature, Narrative Analysis, Semiotics, Critical Thinking, Rhetoric and Composition

Linda Lappin
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4601 
Linda.Lappin@sjsu.edu

 

Laimin Lo
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-4339
Laimin.Lo@sjsu.edu

 

Craig Lore
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4505
Craig.Lore@sjsu.edu

 

 Jonathan Lovell

Jonathan Lovell
Professor
San José Area Writing Project Director& English Education Co-Coordinator
PhD, Yale, 1980

Faculty Offices 127
408-924-4437
Jonathan.Lovell@sjsu.edu

Interests: Theory and Practice in the Teaching of Writing, K-14, Theory and Practice in the Teaching of English, 7-12, Reader Response Theory

 

Samuel Maio

Samuel Maio
Professor
PhD, University of Southern California, 1986

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4483
Samuel.Maio@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing Poetry, Critical Theory, Modern Poetry


McNabb

Richard McNabb
Writing Programs Administrator, Teaching Associates Coordinator
PhD Rhetoric & Composition, University of Arizona

Interests: the history of rhetoric (in particular epistolary theory in the Middle Ages) and the rhetoric of graphic design.

Faculty Offices 226
408-924-1382
Richard.McNabb@sjsu.edu

 

 David Mesher

David Mesher
Professor
PhD University of Washington, 1978

Faculty Offices 220
408-924-4440
David.Mesher@sjsu.edu

Interests: Modern, Post-Modern, Post-Colonial & Comparative Literature

 

Cathleen Miller

Cathleen Miller
Associate Professor & Reed Magazine Advisor
MFA, Penn State, 1997

Faculty Offices 125
408-924-4441
Cathleen.Miller@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing: Nonfiction

Shannon Miller

Shannon Miller
Chair
PhD English Literature, UC Santa Barbara

Interests: Renaissance Literature (especially John Milton's Paradise Lost and women writers of the 16th and 17th century). Miller is currently working on a project entitled "On the Margins of History," which examines 17th century collections of documents, most with extensive marginal commentary. 

Faculty Offices 102
408-924-4518
Shannon.Miller@sjsu.edu


 

Linda C. Mitchell

Linda C. Mitchell
Professor

PhD, University of Southern California, 1996

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4453
Linda.Mitchell@sjsu.edu

Interests: 17th & 18th Century, Language Theory/Grammar, English Education, History of Rhetoric

 

Mandana Mohsenzadegan
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-5118
Mandana.Mohsenzadegan@sjsu.edu

 
Neli Moody

Neli Moody
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University, 2006

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4493 
Neli.Moody@sjsu.edu

 

Moriarty

Thomas Moriarty
Director, Writing Across the Curriculum
PhD English, Purdue University

Interests: WAC, political rhetoric, and designing undergraduate majors and minors in writing and rhetoric. 

Faculty Offices 226
408-924-4515
Thomas.Moriarty@sjsu.edu




Tommy Mouton
Steinbeck Fellow, 2013-2014
MFA, SJSU

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4479
Tommy.Mouton@sjsu.edu

Carlos Mujal
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4338 
Carlos.Mujal@sjsu.edu

 

John Murphy
Lecturer
MA, San Diego State University, 1985; MLS, San José State University, 1996

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-5064
John.Murphy@sjsu.edu

 

Peter O'Sullivan
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 107
408-924-4419
Peter.O'Sullivan@sjsu.edu

 

Alesya Petty
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4235
Alesya.Petty@sjsu.edu

  
Sarah Prasad

Sarah Prasad
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4236
Sarah.Prasad@sjsu.edu

 

Avantika Rohatgi
Lecturer
Ph.D. , Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, 1985; MA Indiana University, 1984 

Faculty Offices 107 
408-924-4488 
Avantika.Rohatgi@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric, Composition, British and American Literature, ESL, Global Literature

 
Ilyssa Russ

Ilyssa Russ
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-4065
Ilyssa.Russ@sjsu.edu

Ed Sams

Ed Sams
Lecturer
MA, University of Tennessee, 1975; MFA, San José State University, 2004

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4485
Edwin.Sams@sjsu.edu

 

Georgia Saratsiotis
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 219
408-924-4473
Georgia.Saratsiotis@sjsu.edu

 

E.D. "Sweeney" Schragg
Lecturer
BA Literature, University of California, Santa Cruz, 1995 ; MFA, Fiction Writing, San José State University, 2003

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-4069 
Sweeney.Schragg@sjsu.edu




Emily Selle
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4064
Emily.Selle@sjsu.edu
 

Ted Shank
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4235
Ted.Shank@sjsu.edu

 
Susan Shillinglaw

Susan Shillinglaw -- ON SABBATICAL 2014-2015
Professor
PhD University of North Carolina, 1985

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4487
Susan.Shillinglaw@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Steinbeck

 

Inga Silva
Lecturer
BS Nursing, 1995; MA English, San José State, 2000

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4512
Inga.Silva@sjsu.edu

 

Dalia Sirkin
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-5089
Dalia.Sirkin@sjsu.edu




Amanda Smith
Teaching Associate 

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4064
Amanda.Smith@sjsu.edu
 

Alan Soldofsky
Professor, Creative Writing and MFA Director and Advisor, & Poets & Writers Coalition Faculty Advisor
MFA, Iowa, 1972

Faculty Offices 106
408-924-4432
Alan.Soldofsky@sjsu.edu

Interests: Contemporary Poetry, Modern American Poetry, Robinson Jeffers

 

Julie Sparks
Lecturer
PhD, Penn State, 1999

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-4434
Julie.Sparks@sjsu.edu

Interests: Bernard Shaw, Drama, British Literature, World Literature, Rhetoric and Composition




Allison St.Dennis
Lecturer
MA, SJSU

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4956


 

Nancy Stork

Nancy Stork
Professor & Majors Advisor
PhD, University of Toronto, 1985

Faculty Offices 218
408-924-4477
Nancy.Stork@sjsu.edu

Interests: Medieval Literature, Editor of Translations from the Inquisition Record of Jacques Fournier

 

Nick Taylor

Nick Taylor
Associate Professor, Director of Steinbeck Center
MFA, Virginia, 2005

Faculty Offices 219
408-924-4458
Nicholas.Taylor@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing - Fiction

 

Mark Thompson

Mark Thompson
Assistant Professor & Director of Professional and Technical Writing Program
PhD, Carnegie Mellon University, 2013

Faculty Offices 110
408-924-4433
Mark.Thompson@sjsu.edu 

Interests: Rhetoric of the Workplace, Argumentation in Institutional Settings, Accommodation of Expert Knowledge to General Audiences
Andrew Tucker

Andrew Tucker 
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-4515
Andrew.Tucker@sjsu.edu


Roohi Vora
Lecturer
MA, San José State University, 2003

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4428
Roohi.Vora@sjsu.edu

 

Mary Warner 

Mary Warner
Professor, English Education Director, Co-Director of the San José Area Writing Project
PhD, University of Michigan, 1992

Faculty Offices 127
408-924-4417
Mary.Warner@sjsu.edu

Interests: Young Adult Literature, Bible as Literature, Professional Development of Secondary-Level English Teachers

 

Mary Williams
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 116
408-924-4579
Mary.Williams@sjsu.edu

 

William Wilson

William Wilson
Professor
PhD, Virginia, 1979

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4510
William.Wilson@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th-Century British Literature, Contemporary Irish Literature

 

Candice Wynne
Lecturer

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-5093
Candice.Wynne@sjsu.edu