Current Faculty

  
By Last Name:

A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z


 

 Sally Ashton

Sally Ashton
Lecturer
MFA, Bennington College

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-4491
Sally.Ashton@sjsu.edu

 

C Baer

Cindy Baer
Assistant Professor, Stretch Program Coordinator
PhD, University of Washington, 1994

Faculty Offices 110
408-924-4451
Cindy.Baer@sjsu.edu

Interests: Renaissance & Early Modern Literature, Women Novelists Before 1800, History of the Novel, Rhetoric & Composition, Technical Writing

 

SJSU Logo

Marie Bischoff
Teaching Associate
MA, California State University, Sacramento

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4064
Marie.Bischoff@sjsu.edu

 
Noelle Brada-Williams

Noelle Brada-Williams
Associate Chair, Professor & MA and GA Advisor and Coordinator
PhD, University of California, Santa Barbara, 1998

Faculty Offices 102 
408-924-4439
Noelle.Brada-Williams@sjsu.edu

Interests: Ethnic American Literature, 18th-Century British Literature, Parody, Film and Literature, and Rhetoric & Composition

 
 SJSU Logo

Clare J. Browne
Lecturer
Post Graduate Certificate of Education, Cambridge University, 1978; MA, San José State University, 1989

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4494
Clare.Browne@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Raymand Buyco
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Dudley Moorhead Hall 237B
408-924-5517
Raymand.Buyco@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Karina Camacho
Lecturer
MA, California State University, Chico

Faculty Offices 226
408-924-4489
TBA@sjsu.edu

 

SJSU Logo

Kirstin Chen
Lecturer
MFA, Emerson College, Steinbeck Fellow 2011-2012

Faculty Offices 219
408-924-4025
Kirstin.Chen@sjsu.edu

 
Balance Chow

Balance Chow ON SABBATICAL FALL 2015
Associate Professor
PhD, University of Georgia, 1991

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4430
Balance.Chow@sjsu.edu

Interests: Literary Theory, Ethnic Literature, Chinese Literature, Comparative Literature

 
Gloria Collins

Gloria Collins
Lecturer & Writing Skills Test Coordinator
MA, San José State University, 1980

Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4495
Gloria.Collins@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric & Composition, ESL, Poetry

 
SJSU Logo

Sara E. Cook
Lecturer
MA, San José State University


Faculty Offices 115
408-924-4423
Sara.Cook@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo

Shane Diven
Teaching Associate


Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4493
Shane.Diven@sjsu.edu

 

Paul Douglass
Professor ON SABBATICAL FALL 2015
PhD, UCLA, 1981

Faculty Offices 108 
408-924-4429
Paul.Douglass@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Modernism, Byron

 
SJSU Logo

Mark Dowdy
Lecturer
PhD, University of Iowa

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-5063
Mark.Dowdy@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU Logo

Adrienne L. Eastwood
Associate Professor
PhD, University of California, San Diego, 2004

Faculty Offices 116
408-924-4509
Adrienne.Eastwood@sjsu.edu

Interests: Early Modern English Literature and Culture, Shakespeare

 

John Engell

John Engell
Professor
PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1979

Faculty Offices 218 
408-924-4499
John.Engell@sjsu.edu

Interests: Colonial American Literature, American Novel, Native-American Studies, Film & Literature

 
SJSU Logo

Karen English
Lecturer
PhD, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, 1992

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4506
Karen.English@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Transcendentalism, Autobiography

 

Andrew Fleck

Andrew Fleck 
Associate Professor ON LEAVE 2015-2016
PhD, Claremont Graduate University, 2000

Andrew.Fleck@sjsu.edu

Interests: Early Modern British Literature, Shakespeare, the Dutch in English Literature

 

SJSU Logo

Luke Goebel
Lecturer
MFA, University of Massachusetts

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-4449
Luke.Goebel@sjsu.edu

 

SJSU Logo

Jessy Goodman 
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University 

Faculty Offices 109 
408-924-4447 
Jessy.Goodman@sjsu.edu

 
Michelle Hager

Michelle Hager
Lecturer and Writing Center Director
MA, San José State University, 2005 

Faculty Offices 117 
408-924-4454 
Michelle.Hager@sjsu.edu

Interests: Grammar, Fantasy Literature, Children's Literature, Young Adult Literature, Technical Writing, Rhetoric & Composition, and Professional Editing & Career Writing

 
SJSU Logo

Jeffrey Hallford
Lecturer
MA, San José State University, 1995

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4435
Jeffrey.Hallford@sjsu.edu

Interests: Poetry, Secondary English Education

SJSU logo

Lois Hamor
Lecturer

Lois.Hamor@sjsu.edu

 

Katherine D. Harris 

Katherine D. Harris
Associate Professor
PhD, City University of New York, 2005

Faculty Offices 220
408-924-4475
Katherine.Harris@sjsu.edu

Website

Interests: Ditigal Humanties and Digital Pedagogy, British Romanticism, Textual Theory, History of the Book, Feminist Theory, Digital/Hypertextual Studies

 

Kelly Harrison

Kelly Harrison -- ON SABBATICAL 2015-2016
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University, 2004


Kelly.Harrison@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric & Composition, Creative Writing

 
SJSU Logo

Sherri Harvey
Lecturer
BA, Indiana University, 1992; MA, California State University, Hayward, 1997

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4456
Sherri.Harvey@sjsu.edu

Interests: Contemporary Fiction, Creative Writing, Rhetoric & Composition

 

SJSU Logo

Jeffrey Heid
Center for Literary Arts

Faculty Offices 226
408-924-5118
Jeffrey.Heid@sjsu.edu

Daniel Hendel De La O
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-5019
Daniel.Hendeldelao@sjsu.edu

 

Shannon Hervey
Lecturer
PhD, University of California, Riverside

Faculty Offices 222
408-924-4496
Shannon.Hervey@sjsu.edu


John H. Hessler
Lecturer
PhD, Stanford University

Faculty Offices 115
408-924-5073
John.Hessler@sjsu.edu

 SJSU Logo

James Hibbard
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4072
James.Hibbard@sjsu.edu

Leslie Jacoby

Leslie Jacoby
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4492 
Leslie.Jacoby@sjsu.edu

Interests: Medieval Studies, 14th-Century French Falconry, Children's Literature, Art History

 

Robert James

Robert James
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University, 2004

Faculty Offices 106 
408-924-5087 
Robert.James@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing (fiction, nonfiction)




Ellen James-Penney -- ON SABBATICAL 2015-2016
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University


Ellen.James@sjsu.edu

 



Maria Judnick
Lecturer
MFA, St. Mary's College of CA; MA, San Jose State University 

Faculty Offices 115
408-924-4154
Maria.Judnick@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Nonfiction; Children and Young Adult Literature; Rhetoric & Composition; American / California Literature; and Ecocriticism 

Persis Karim

Persis Karim 
Professor
PhD, University of Texas, 1998
Faculty Offices 216
408-924-4476
Persis.Karim@sjsu.edu

Interests: Comparative Literature, Creative Writing, Ethnic American Literature, Postcolonial Literature, Iranian Diaspora Literature, editor of Globalizing Literary Studies

 



Jessica Keaton
Teaching
Associate

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4070
Jessica.Keaton@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

William Kelly
Teaching
 Associate

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4598
William.Kelly@sjsu.edu

Sheree Kirby
Lecturer
MFA, Warren Wilson College

Faculty Offices 114
408-924-4448
Sheree.Kirby@sjsu.edu

 

Revathi Krishnaswamy

Revathi Krishnaswamy
Professor & Curriculum Coordinator
PhD, Kent State University, 1990

Faculty Offices 125 
408-924-1384 
Revathi.Krishnaswamy@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th- & 20th-Century British Fiction, Colonial & Post-Colonial Literature, Critical Theory

 

Linda Landau
Lecturer
PhD, Porter School of Cultural Studies, Tel Aviv University

Faculty Office 115
408-924-4117
Linda.Landau@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th Century American Literature, Comparative Literature, Narrative Analysis, Semiotics, Critical Thinking, Rhetoric and Composition

Linda Lappin
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4601 
Linda.Lappin@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo 

Leanne Lindelof
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 114 
408-924-4436 
Leanne.Lindelof@sjsu.edu

 

Laimin Lo
Lecturer
MBA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-4339
Laimin.Lo@sjsu.edu

 
SJSU logo 

Jill Logan
Lecturer
MFA, University of Iowa

Faculty Offices 105
408-924-4024
Jill.Logan@sjsu.edu

  

Craig Lore
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-4505
Craig.Lore@sjsu.edu

 

 Jonathan Lovell

Jonathan Lovell
Professor
San José Area Writing Project Director& English Education Co-Coordinator
PhD, Yale, 1980

Faculty Offices 127
408-924-4437
Jonathan.Lovell@sjsu.edu

Interests: Theory and Practice in the Teaching of Writing, K-14, Theory and Practice in the Teaching of English, 7-12, Reader Response Theory

 

Samuel Maio

Samuel Maio ON SABBATICAL 2015-2016
Professor
PhD, University of Southern California, 1986

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4483
Samuel.Maio@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing Poetry, Critical Theory, Modern Poetry

SJSU logo

Sydney Marsh
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Sydney.Marsh@sjsu.edu


McNabb

Richard McNabb
Writing Programs Administrator, Teaching Associates Coordinator
PhD Rhetoric & Composition, University of Arizona

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-1382
Richard.McNabb@sjsu.edu

Interests: the history of rhetoric (in particular epistolary theory in the Middle Ages) and the rhetoric of graphic design.

 

 David Mesher

David Mesher
Professor
PhD University of Washington, 1978

Faculty Offices 220
408-924-4440
David.Mesher@sjsu.edu

Interests: Modern, Post-Modern, Post-Colonial & Comparative Literature

 

Cathleen Miller

Cathleen Miller
Associate Professor & Reed Magazine Advisor
MFA, Penn State, 1997

Faculty Offices 125
408-924-4441
Cathleen.Miller@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing: Nonfiction

Shannon Miller

Shannon Miller
Chair
PhD English Literature, UC Santa Barbara

Faculty Offices 102
408-924-4518
Shannon.Miller@sjsu.edu

Interests: Renaissance Literature (especially John Milton's Paradise Lost and women writers of the 16th and 17th century). Miller is currently working on a project entitled "On the Margins of History," which examines 17th century collections of documents, most with extensive marginal commentary. 

 

Linda C. Mitchell

Linda C. Mitchell
Professor

PhD, University of Southern California, 1996

Faculty Offices 117
408-924-4453
Linda.Mitchell@sjsu.edu

Interests: 17th & 18th Century, Language Theory/Grammar, English Education, History of Rhetoric

 

Mandana Mohsenzadegan
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 226
408-924-5118
Mandana.Mohsenzadegan@sjsu.edu

 

Moriarty

Thomas Moriarty
Director, Writing Across the Curriculum
PhD English, Purdue University

Faculty Offices 214
408-924-4515
Thomas.Moriarty@sjsu.edu

Interests: WAC, political rhetoric, and designing undergraduate majors and minors in writing and rhetoric. 




Tommy Mouton
Steinbeck Fellow, 2013-2014
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 112
408-924-4479
Tommy.Mouton@sjsu.edu

Carlos Mujal
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4338 
Carlos.Mujal@sjsu.edu

 

Peter O'Sullivan
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 107
408-924-4419
Peter.O'Sullivan@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo

Sophie Papacosta
Teaching
 Associate

Faculty Offices 217
408-924-4720
Katrina.Papacosta@sjsu.edu

 

Alesya Petty
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4235
Alesya.Petty@sjsu.edu

  
Sarah Prasad

Sarah Prasad
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4236
Sarah.Prasad@sjsu.edu

 

Avantika Rohatgi
Lecturer
PhD, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, 1985; MA Indiana University, 1984 

Faculty Offices 107 
408-924-4488 
Avantika.Rohatgi@sjsu.edu

Interests: Rhetoric, Composition, British and American Literature, ESL, Global Literature

 
Ilyssa Russ

Ilyssa Russ
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 224
408-924-4065
Ilyssa.Russ@sjsu.edu

Ed Sams

Ed Sams
Lecturer
MA, University of Tennessee, 1975; MFA, San José State University, 2004

Faculty Offices 212
408-924-4485
Edwin.Sams@sjsu.edu

 

Georgia Saratsiotis
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 219
408-924-4473
Georgia.Saratsiotis@sjsu.edu

 

E.D. "Sweeney" Schragg
Lecturer
BA Literature, University of California, Santa Cruz, 1995 ; MFA, Fiction Writing, San José State University, 2003

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-4069 
Sweeney.Schragg@sjsu.edu

Emily Selle
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4486
Emily.Selle@sjsu.edu

 
Susan Shillinglaw

Susan Shillinglaw
Professor Majors Advisor
PhD University of North Carolina, 1985

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4487
Susan.Shillinglaw@sjsu.edu

Interests: American Literature, Steinbeck

 

Dalia Sirkin
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-5089
Dalia.Sirkin@sjsu.edu

 SJSU logo

Ryan Skinnell
Assistant Professor
PhD, Arizona State University, 2011

Faculty Offices 111
408-924-4457
Ryan.Skinnell@sjsu.edu




Amanda Smith
Teaching Associate 

Faculty Offices 108
408-924-4071
Amanda.Smith@sjsu.edu

Alan Soldofsky
Professor, Creative Writing and MFA Director and Advisor, & Poets & Writers Coalition Faculty Advisor
MFA, Iowa, 1972

Faculty Offices 106
408-924-4432
Alan.Soldofsky@sjsu.edu

Interests: Contemporary Poetry, Modern American Poetry, Robinson Jeffers

SJSU Logo

Owen Sonntag
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 222 
408-924-4496
Allison.Stdennis@sjsu.edu

 

Julie Sparks
Lecturer
PhD, Penn State, 1999

Faculty Offices 128
408-924-4434
Julie.Sparks@sjsu.edu

Interests: Bernard Shaw, Drama, British Literature, World Literature, Rhetoric and Composition




Allison St. Dennis
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 223 
408-924-4956
Allison.Stdennis@sjsu.edu

 

Nancy Stork

Nancy Stork 
Professor
PhD, University of Toronto, 1985

Faculty Offices 218
408-924-4477
Nancy.Stork@sjsu.edu

Interests: Medieval Literature, Editor of Translations from the Inquisition Record of Jacques Fournier

 

Nick Taylor

Nick Taylor
Associate Professor, Director of Steinbeck Center
MFA, Virginia, 2005

Faculty Offices 219
408-924-4458
Nicholas.Taylor@sjsu.edu

Interests: Creative Writing - Fiction

 

Mark Thompson

Mark Thompson
Assistant Professor & Director of Professional and Technical Writing Program
PhD, Carnegie Mellon University, 2013

Faculty Offices 110
408-924-4433
Mark.Thompson@sjsu.edu 

Interests: Rhetoric of the Workplace, Argumentation in Institutional Settings, Accommodation of Expert Knowledge to General Audiences

SJSU logo

Au-Co Tran
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 109
408-924-4065
AuCo.Tran@sjsu.edu

SJSU logo  

Shara Tran
Teaching Associate

Faculty Offices 215
408-924-5064
Shara.Tran@sjsu.edu


Roohi Vora
Lecturer
MA, San José State University, 2003

Faculty Offices 118
408-924-4428
Roohi.Vora@sjsu.edu

 

Mary Warner 

Mary Warner
Professor, English Education Director, Co-Director of the San José Area Writing Project
PhD, University of Michigan, 1992

Faculty Offices 127
408-924-4417
Mary.Warner@sjsu.edu

Interests: Young Adult Literature, Bible as Literature, Professional Development of Secondary-Level English Teachers

 

Mary Williams
Lecturer
MA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 116
408-924-4579
Mary.Williams@sjsu.edu

 

William Wilson

William Wilson
Professor
PhD, Virginia, 1979

Faculty Offices 223
408-924-4510
William.Wilson@sjsu.edu

Interests: 19th-Century British Literature, Contemporary Irish Literature

 

Candice Wynne
Lecturer
MFA, San José State University

Faculty Offices 221
408-924-5093
Candice.Wynne@sjsu.edu