Faculty

Department Administration

Our Department is governed by a series of committees. Generally, a student from both the undergraduate and graduate programs holds a seat on many of these committees. If you're interested in our Department governance or have a suggestion, see the appropriate committee and/or contact the committee chair. Click here for department administration.

John Engell
Chair
Faculty Offices 102
408.924.4499
john.engell@sjsu.edu
Kelly Harrison
Director of Writing Programs
Faculty Offices 222
408.924.4496
kelly.harrison@sjsu.edu
Susan Shillinglaw
Major Advisor
Faculty Office 118
408.924.4487
susan.shillinglaw@sjsu.edu
Alan Soldofsky
Director of Creative Writing
Faculty Offices 106
408.924.4432  
alan.soldofsky@sjsu.edu
A. Noelle Brada-William 
Associate Chair &
MA and GA Coordinator

Faculty Offices 102 
408.924.4439 

noelle.brada-williams@sjsu.edu
Nancy Stork 
Major Advisor
Faculty Offices 218 
408-924-4477 
Nancy.Stork@sjsu.edu
Andrew Fleck
Currently on Sabbatical 
Faculty Offices 111
408.924.4457
andrew.fleck@sjsu.edu
Bonnie Cox
Coordinator of Honors Program 
Faculty Offices 128
408.924.4449 
bonnie.cox@sjsu.edu

Balance Chow
Major Advisor
Faculty Offices 224 
408-924-4430 
Balance.Chow@sjsu.edu

Mary Warner
Director of the English Credential Program
Faculty Offices 127
408.924.4417
mary.warner@sjsu.edu
 Jonathan Lovell 
Associate Director of the English Credential Program, San Jose 
Area Writing Project 
Faculty Offices 127 
408.924.4437 
jonathan.lovell@sjsu.edu
 

 Faculty

We have a large number of faculty, including full time, lecturers and teaching associates. In the Alphabetical listing, you'll find email addresses, phone numbers, office locations and interests for all of our faculty. For a view of our department's strengths, see the Specialty listing. We also have a long list of treasured Emeritus faculty as well as list of recent faculty publications.

 

Staff

Our dedicated and intrepid staff can answer many of your questions or send you to the right advisor or faculty member. You'll also find the Department Office address and phone number here.