Faculty

Earth Viewed from Space

“…this program is exactly what I want to do, and such dynamic and committed professors and advisors keep me motivated.”

— Marion Blair, Graduate Student

Donate Online


Office Hours

Professors

Lynne Trulio

Lynne Trulio

Professor and Department Chair
Ph.D., Ecology, University of California, Davis
Lynne.Trulio@sjsu.edu

Gary A. Klee

Gary Klee

Professor
Ph.D., Geography, University of Oregon
KleeGary@comcast.net

Rachel E. O'Malley

Rachel O'Malley

Professor
Ph.D., Biology, University of California, Santa Cruz
Rachel.OMalley@sjsu.edu

Associate Professors

Katherine Kao Cushing

Katherine Cushing

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Civil and Environmental Engineering, Stanford University
Katherine.Cushing@sjsu.edu

Will Russell

William Russell

Associate Professor
Ph.D, Environmental Science Policy & Management, University of California, Berkeley
Will.Russell@sjsu.edu

Assistant Professors

Alexander Gershenson

Alexander Gershenson

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Environmental Studies, University of California, Santa Cruz
Alexander.Gershenson@sjsu.edu

Dustin Mulvaney

Dustin Mulvaney

Assistant Professor 
Ph.D., Environmental Studies, University of California, Santa Cruz
Dustin.Mulvaney@sjsu.edu

Other Faculty

 

Walter Arenstein

Lecturer
M.S., Environmental Studies/Education, City University of New York
warenstein2@gmail.com


Shannon Bane

Lecturer
M.S., Environmental Studies, San José State University
Shannon.Bane@sjsu.edu


Jessie Denver

Lecturer
M.A., Environment & Community, Antioch University
Jessie.Denver@sjsu.edu


Patrick Ferraro

Lecturer
M.S., Civil Engineering, San José State University
ptferraro5@gmail.com


Philip Higgins

Lecturer
M.S., Environmental Studies, San José State University
Philip_Higgins@hotmail.com


Rachel Lazzeri-Aerts

Lecturer
M.S., Environmental Studies, San José State University
Rachel.SJSU@gmail.com


Ada Marquez

Lecturer
M.S., Environmental Studies, San José State University
Ada.Marquez@sjsu.edu


Bruce Olszewski

Lecturer and Director of Center for Development of Recycling (CDR)
M.S., Environmental Studies, San José State University
Bruce.Olszewski@sjsu.edu


Jeanine Pfeiffer

Lecturer
Ph.D., Ecology, University of California, Davis
Jeanine.Pfeiffer@gmail.com


Terry Trumbull

Lecturer
LL.M., George Washington University
terryt1011@aol.com

Emeritus Faculty

 

Donald Aitken

Founding Chair of the Department


Les Rowntree

Professor
Ph.D., Environmental Geography, University of Oregon (retired 2005)
rowntree@berkeley.edu


Frank Schiavo

Donate to the Frank Schiavo Environmental Scholarship, an endowed scholarship that provides funds to worthy students every year. Your donation helps Frank's legacy live on.
M.S., Physical Science, San José State University (retired 2003)
Research Interests: Nuclear Power & Weapons; Transportation; Organic Agriculture; Passive Solar Home Design; Environmental Education
Courses Taught: Introduction to Environmental Issues; Solar Home Design; Environmental Studies for Teachers


Donald Anthrop

Professor
Ph.D., Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
dfanthrop@yahoo.com
Research Interests: Water Quality: Erosion and Sedimentation; Water Resource Management: Federal and State Water Projects and Reclamation; Agricultural Drainage; Evaporation Ponds; Waterfowl Research; and Wildlife Habitat Development and Restoration