Faculty

Spring 2020

Office hours are first day instruction 1/23/20 until last day of instruction 5/11/2020. 

Photo Name, Title, Education Office, Contact, Office Hours

Tenured/

 Tenure Track

 
Katherine Cushing

Katherine Cushing
Professor

Director and Advisor, Global Studies Program
Ph.D., Civil and Environmental Engineering, Stanford University

WSQ 111E

katherine.cushing@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-6951

Office Hours: 
Thurs. 12:00 - 2:00 p.m.  & by appt.

Davis

Kathryn Davis
Professor

Ph.D., Geography, University of California, Berkeley

WSQ 115E
kathryn.davis@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-5485

Office Hours:
Weds. 10:30 - 12:00 p.m. 

Students must use the following link to sign up for office hours:

https//profdavis.youcanbook.me 

Klee

Gary Klee
Professor

Ph.D., Geography, University of Oregon

WSQ 115A
kleegary@comcast.net

(408) 924-5455

Office Hours: 
Fri. 9:30 - 10:30 a.m. by appt. only

Metha Klock

Metha Klock
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Biological Sciences, Louisiana State University

WSQ 115C
metha.klock@sjsu.edu

(408)924-5427

Office Hours: 
Tues 12:00 - 2:00 p.m. 

Mulvaney

Dustin Mulvaney
Associate Professor

Ph.D., Environmental Studies, University of California, Santa Cruz

WSQ 115A
dustin.mulvaney@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-5439

Office Hours: 
By appointment only. Please contact Dr.Mulvaney to arrange. 

OMalley

Rachel O'Malley
Professor

Department Acting Chair
Ph.D., Biology, University of California, Santa Cruz

WSQ 118A

rachel.omalley@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-5424

Office Hours: 
Wed. 1:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. & by appt.

Prado

Carolina Prado
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Environmental Science, University of California, Berkeley

WSQ 113A

carolina.prado@sjsu.edu

Office Hours:
Tues & Thurs 10:30 - 11:30 a.m. by appt via:

 https://www.wejoinin.com/sheets/koitk
rampini

Costanza Rampini
Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Environmental Studies, University of California, Santa Cruz

WSQ 111C
costanza.rampini@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-8979

Office Hours: 
Tuesdays 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. or by appointment

Russell

William Russell
Professor

Graduate Program Coordinator
Ph.D., Environmental Science Policy and Management, University of California, Berkeley

WSQ 115B
will.russell@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-5487

Office Hours: 
Wed. 12:00 - 1:00 p.m. or by appt.

Trulio

Lynne Trulio
Professor

Department Chair
ERC Faculty Advisor
Ph.D., Ecology, University of California, Davis

WSQ 118B

lynne.trulio@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-5439

Office Hours: 
Tues. 10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m    Thurs. 2:00 - 4:00 p.m. by appointment only

Lecturers

   
Delaveau

Benoit Delaveau
Lecturer

M.S., Environmental Studies, San José State University

WSQ 111B
benoit.delaveau@gmail.com
(650) 288-6653

Office Hours: 
Wed. 12:00 - 1:00 p.m.

Ferraro

Patrick Ferraro
Lecturer

M.S., Civil Engineering, San José State University

WSQ 115A
ptferraro5@gmail.com
(408) 293-1852

Office Hours:
Mon. 12:00 - 1:00 p.m.

Robert Foran

Robert Foran
Lecturer

M.S., Environmental Studies, San José State University

 

WSQ 111E
robert.foran@sjsu.edu
(415) 940-4917


Office Hours: 
Mon & Weds. 1:30 - 2:45 p.m. by appt

     
no_img Sung Jay Ou
Lecturer

Clark 404N
sungjay.ou@sjsu.edu

Office Hours: 
Mon. and Weds 10:15 - 11:15 a.m. 

 

 no_img

Rachel Lazzeri-Aerts
Lecturer

M.S., Environmental Studies, San José State University

WSQ 111B
rachel.sjsu@gmail.com
(408) 924-7688
(408) 475-3507

Office Hours:
Tues & Thurs 10:15 - 11:15 am by appt only

Olszewski

Bruce Olszewski
Lecturer

Director, Center for the Development of Recycling 
M.S., Environmental Studies, San José State University

WSQ 115D

bruce.olszewski@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-5350

Office Hours: 
Tues. & Thurs. 1:30 - 3:30 p.m., Fri. by appt.

 no_img

Mary Poffenroth
Lecturer

mary.poffenroth@sjsu.edu
(408) 924-4831

Office Hours:
Tues/Thur 10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. online (zoom, skype, or facetime) or by appt.

 Bernadette White Bernadette White
Lecturer
WSQ 111A

bernie.marie@gmail.com

Office Hours: 
Fri. 2:00 - 3:00 p.m. 

 no_img

Chiao Su
Lecturer

 

WSQ 115B
cheng.su@sjsu.edu
(408) 924 - 8977 

Office Hours:  
Tues. & Thurs. 11:00 - 12:00 p.m.

 trumbell

Terry Trumbull
Lecturer

LL.M., George Washington University

WSQ 115C
terryt1011@aol.com
(650) 321-7538

Office Hours:   
Mon & Weds 12:00 - 1:30 p.m.

Emeritus

   
Aitken

Donald Aitken
Founding Chair
Professor

donaldaitken@earthlink.net

 no_img

Donald Anthrop
Professor

Ph.D., Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley

dfanthrop@yahoo.com

Rowntree

Lester Rowntree
Professor (Retired in 2005) 

Ph.D., Environmental Geography, University of Oregon
 

rowntree@berkeley.edu

Shiavo

Frank Schiavo
Lecturer (Retired in 2003)

M.S., Physical Science, San José State University 

Donate to the Frank Schiavo Environmental Scholarship
An endowed scholarship that provides funds to worthy students every year. Your donation helps Frank's legacy live on.