Students @ SJSUSpartan SquadStudents artwork

Program Philosophy

The forensics program exists to foster life-long learning skills for competitors. This activity should be an enjoyable learning experience. If you win along the way, that's great, but our goal is learning. We don't compete to win, we compete to learn.

Earning Units

Intramural Tournament Fall 2013

If you're a COMM 20 or 96PS (Public Speaking) student, use your informative and/or persuasive speeches to compete in Platform Speaking for our end of the semester tournament.

Want to test your debating skills? If you are a COMM 40 student, we invite you to compete in Parliamentary Debate. We've also added a new event for COMM 21 students -- an Oral Interpretation competition.

Intercollegiate Competition

We also field a traveling team that competes intercollegiately. This involves weekend travel to tournaments throughout California, the United States, and occasionally the world - (China, Portugal, Canada, Czech Republic, Argentina, Hungary, Italy and Belgium so far!) Sign up for 191A, 191B, or 191C and earn a unit for every tournament that you attend. For more information, stop by one of our practice sessions (Tues. or Thurs. 3:00-5:30 in HGH 219 or drop by our office HGH 214).


Too busy to travel? Make a difference, be a judge. We offer:

  • COMM 91J Judge Training
    • 1 unit credit/noncredit
    • Learn to judge competitive speaking events.
  • COMM 191J Judging
    • 1 unit credit/noncredit (up to 3 units)
    • Judge local area high school tournaments and/or SJSU intramural competitions

Forensics Updates

COMM 140P - Face-Off Winners Spring 2010

Four teams went 3-0 but 1st and 2nd places were based on speaker points.

photo of Art and Riley

2nd place team of Art Martinez and Riley Knight

Photo of Rachel and Jory

Rachel Micheletti and Jory Wilson

photo of Patrick and Andrew

1st place team Patrick Ferrell and Andrew O'Gorman

photo of Page and Cody

 Top 1st place team Page Dickson and Cody Gordon

photo of top 5 speakers

Top 5 speakers: 1. Riley Knight; 2. Cody Gordon; 3. Mitch Colbert; 4. Page Dickson; 5. Jory Wilson