Kappa Sigma Fraternity

Members of Kappa Sigma

About Kappa Sigma

On December 10, 1869, five students at the University of Virginia met in 46 East Lawn and founded the Kappa Sigma Fraternity in America. William Grigsby McCormick, George Miles Arnold, John Covert Boyd, Edmund Law Rogers Jr. and Frank Courtney Nicodemus established the fraternity based on the traditions and of the ancient order in Bologna. These five founders became collectively known as the "Five Friends and Brothers." In 1872, Kappa Sigma initiated Stephen Alonzo Jackson, who would go on to transform a struggling local fraternity into a strong international Brotherhood. The organization attributes much of its success to Jackson noting that, "Since his death in 1892, the success of the Order is the direct result of Jackson’s devotion 'to make Kappa Sigma the leading college fraternity of the world.'"

The Kappa Sigma Fraternity at SJSU has been devoted to our four core principles: scholarship, leadership, fellowship and service. Members are focused on community service, participating in other fraternity and sorority philanthropies and scholastic excellence.



Kappa Sigma House

Learn more about our chapter house.


Kappa Sigma flag

Chapter Information

  • Designation: Theta Iota Colony
  • President: Grant Jaholkowski
  • Websites: National and Twitter (@KappaSigmaSJSU)
  • SJSU Founding: April 24, 1965
  • National Founding: December 10, 1869 at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville VA
  • Scholarship: Fall 2016 - 2.65, Spring 2016 - 2.65, Fall 2015 - 2.72
  • Colors: Scarlet, White and Emerald Green
  • Flower: Lily of the Valley
  • Symbol: Star and Crescent
  • Motto: "Bononia Docet / Bologna Teaches"
  • Nickname: Kappa Sig
  • Famous Alumni: Jimmy Buffett (singer), former Senator Robert J. Dole (KS), Robert Redford (actor), Ted Turner (media mogul), Edward R. Murrow (broadcasting legend)
  • Annual Events: Beauty Bowl and Powderpuff Football Fundraiser (spring)