Pi Kappa Alpha Fraternity

Members of Pi Kappa Alpha

About Pi Kappa Alpha

Pi Kappa Alpha was founded at the University of Virginia on March 1, 1868, by six students: Robertson Howard, Julian Edward Wood, James Benjamin Sclater Jr., Frederick Southgate Taylor, Littleton Waller Tazewell Bradford and William Alexander. According to its preamble, the fraternity was created "for the establishment of friendship on a firmer and more lasting basis; for the promotion of brotherly love and kind feeling; for the mutual benefit and advancement of the interests of those with whom we sympathize and deem worthy of our regard; We have resolved to form a fraternity, believing that, thus we can most successfully accomplish our object."

Originally chartered at SJSU on March 3, 1950, the chapter has long been a part of SJSU’s Greek Life. After a short time off campus, the chapter returned in 2002 and has striven to be the best Fraternity on campus as well as competing with other Pike chapters nationwide. For the past several years the chapter has won consecutive excellence awards at nationals.


Silver Laurel Chapter


Pi Kappa Alpha House

Learn more about our chapter house.


Pi Kappa Alpha flag

Chapter Information

  • Designation: Delta Pi Chapter
  • President: Jose Laguna
  • Websites: Chapter and National
  • Active Members: 85
  • SJSU Founding: March 3, 1950; rechartered April 20, 2002
  • National Founding: March 1, 1868 at the University of Virginia in Charlottesville VA
  • 2014 Service / Philanthropy: 1345 Hours of service, $8,000 raised for charity
  • Scholarship: Spring 2015–2.76, Fall 2014–2.70
  • Colors: Garnet and Old Gold
  • Flower: Lily of the Valley
  • Symbols: The Oak Tree, Shield and Diamond, White Horse, Dagger and Key
  • Motto: "Once a Pike, Always a Pike"
  • Nickname: Pike, PiKA, Pi Kap
  • Famous Alumni: Senator Jon Kyle (AZ), Tim Mcgraw (country singer), Jon Stewart (comedian and t.v. personality), E. Gordon Gee (President of Ohio State University)


Awards and Recognition (2014-2015)

  • Chapter Advisor of the Year Award (Fraternity) — Derek Ytreeide
  • Member of the Year Award (Fraternity) — Adil Charki
  • Excellence in Collaboration Award
  • Silver Laurel Chapter (2014 Standards of Excellence – 1668 points, 83%)