Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

Members of Alpha Kappa Alpha
About Alpha Kappa Alpha

Alpha Kappa Alpha is the first Greek-lettered sorority established and incorporated by African-American college women. The sorority was founded on January 15, 1908 at Howard University in Washington, D.C. by a group of twenty students, led by Ethel Hedgeman Lyle. Forming a sorority broke barriers for African-American women in areas where little power or authority existed due to a lack of opportunities for minorities and women in the early 20th century. Alpha Kappa Alpha was incorporated on January 29, 1913.

After the organization's establishment over a century ago, Alpha Kappa Alpha has helped to improve social and economic conditions through community service programs. Members have improved education through independent initiatives, contributed to community-building by creating programs and associations, such as the Mississippi Health Clinic, and influenced federal legislation by Congressional lobbying through the National Non-Partisan Lobby on Civil and Democratic Rights. The Sorority works with communities through service initiatives and progressive programs relating to education, family, health, and business.


Alpha Kappa Alpha flag

Chapter Information

  • Designation: Zeta Psi Chapter
  • President: Ashley Washington
  • Website: National
  • Active Members: 17
  • SJSU Founding: Delta Nu Chapter — 1954, Zeta Psi Chapter — 1972
  • National Founding: January 15, 1908 at Howard University in Washington DC
  • Service / Philanthropy: Supports the American Heart & Stroke Awareness; Partnership with National Alliance of Mental Illness; Partnership with Africare; Alzheimer's Disease and Caregiver Support
  • Scholarship: Spring 2015–3.21, Fall 2014–3.29
  • Colors: Salmon Pink and Apple Green
  • Flower: Tea Rose
  • Symbol: Ivy Leaf
  • Motto: "By Culture and By Merit"
  • Nicknames: AKAs
  • Famous Alumnae: Loretta Divine (actress), Phylicia Rashad (actress), Toni Morrison (Nobel Prize-winning author), Star Jones (attorney, author, television host), Wanda Sykes, (comedienne, actress), Azie Taylor Morton (1st and only African-American United States Treasurer), Sheila Jackson-Lee (Congresswoman (TX)), Althea Gibson (1st African-American to win a Grand Slam in tennis)
  • Annual Events: n/a

Awards and Recognition (2014–2015)

  • Chapter Advisor of the Year Award — Dionne Morgan