Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Members of Delta Sigma Theta

About Delta Sigma Theta

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded January 13, 1913 at Howard University by 22 illustrious college women. A wide range of programs addressing health, education, international involvement, and the strengthening of the African American community have emerged and evolved over the years. In realizing its mission, Delta Sigma Theta provides an extensive array of public service through its Five-Point Program Thrust of Physical and Mental Health, Educational Development, Economic Development, International Awareness and Involvement, and Political Awareness and Involvement.

Eta Omega Chapter was chartered in December 1970 at San José State University by four women: Cheryl Dunlap, Jocelyn Larrimore, Virginia Roberts, and Veronica Tyler. Since its chartering, Eta Omega has emphasized Delta principles of sisterhood and public service.


Bronze Laurel Chapter


Delta Sigma Theta Flag

Chapter Information

  • Designation: Eta Omega Chapter
  • President: Kenyatta Yarn
  • Website: Chapter and National
  • SJSU Founding: December 19, 1970
  • National Founding: January 13, 1913 at Howard University in Washington DC
  • Scholarship: Fall 2016 - 2.88, Spring 2016 - 2.77, Fall 2015 - 3.14
  • Colors: Crimson and Cream
  • Flower: African Violet
  • Symbol: Fortitude
  • Motto: "Intelligence is the Torch of Wisdom"
  • Nicknames: Deltas, DST
  • Famous Alumnae: Brigadier General Hazel Johnson Brown, Ph.D. (first African American female general), Shirley Chisholm (first black female member of Congress, first black and female candidate for President), Myrlie Evers-Williams (widow of civil rights leader Medgar Evers), Ruby Dee Davis (famed actress), Alexis Herman (former Secretary of Labor for the Clinton administration)
  • Annual Events: Soul Food Social, Walk for Water, May Week, Crimson Dream Bachelor’s Auction, Breast Cancer and AIDS awareness walks / fundraising


Awards and Recognition (2015-16)

  • Bronze Laurel Chapter (2015 Standards of Excellence)