Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc.

Zeta Phi Beta website banner

About Zeta Phi Beta

Zeta Phi Beta was founded on the simple belief that sorority elitism and socializing should not overshadow the real mission for progressive organizations­―to address societal mores, ills, prejudices, poverty, and health concerns of the day. Founded January 16, 1920, Zeta Phi Beta began as an idea conceived by five coeds at Howard University in Washington D.C.: Arizona Cleaver, Myrtle Tyler, Viola Tyler, Fannie Pettie and Pearl Neal. These five women, also known as our Five Pearls, dared to depart from the traditional coalitions for black women and sought to establish a new organization predicated on the precepts of Scholarship, Service, Sisterly Love and Finer Womanhood. It was the ideal of the Founders that the Sorority would reach college women in all parts of the country who were sorority minded and desired to follow the founding principles of the organization.

Zeta Phi Beta's national and local programs include endowment of its National Educational Foundation, community outreach services and support of multiple affiliate organizations. Zeta chapters and its auxiliary groups have given untotaled hours of voluntary service to educate the public, assist youth, provide scholarships, support organized charities and promote legislation for social and civic change.

Founder Viola Tyler was often quoted to say "[In the ideal collegiate situation] there is a Zeta in a girl regardless of race, creed, or color, who has high standards and principles, a good scholarly average and an active interest in all things that she undertakes to accomplish."


Laurel Chapter


Zeta Phi Beta Flag

Chapter Information

  • Designation: Psi Mu Chapter
  • President: Laskyeya White
  • Websites: National
  • SJSU Founding: rechartered September 15, 2011
  • National Founding: January 16, 1920 at Howard University in Washington DC
  • 2014 Service / Philanthropy: 42 hours of service / $19 raised for charity
  • Scholarship: Fall 2016 - 2.82, Spring 2016 - 3.33, Fall 2015 - 2.95
  • Colors: Royal Blue and White
  • Flower: White Rose
  • Symbol: White Dove
  • Motto: "Scholarship, Sisterly Love, Service, Finer Womanhood"
  • Nicknames: Zetas, Sisters of the Dove
  • Famous Alumnae: Zora Neale Hurston (famed Harlem Renaissance author), Sheryl Underood (comedienne), Ja'net Dubois (actress, singer), Esther Rolle (actress), Dionne Warwick (singer), Sarah Vaughn (jazz singer), Evelyn J. Fields (retired Rear Admiral and NOAA Director), Towanda Braxton (singer), Alyce Gullantee (first black woman psychiatrist to receive an Emmy), Violette N. Anderson (first African American woman to practice law at the U.S. Supreme Court)
  • Annual Events: Making Strides Against Breast Cancer Walk, Storks Nest, Z-H.O.P.E., Finer Womanhood Week, and March of Dimes Walk


Awards and Recognition (2015-16)

  • Silver Laurel Chapter (2015 Standards of Excellence)
  • Spring 2016 Highest GPA in Council (NPHC)
  • Spring 2016 Highest GPA in All Four Councils (IFC, NPHC, PHC, USFC)
  • 2015 Overal Most Improved NPHC Chapter