Delta Gamma (Women's) Fraternity

Members of Delta Gamma

About Delta Gamma

Delta Gamma was founded in 1873 in Oxford, Mississippi at the Lewis School for Girls (near the University of Mississippi) by three young women, Anna Boyd Ellington, Eva Web Dodd, and Mary Comfort Lenard, who found a common bond of friendship and loyalty. Their friendship and goals of furthering their educational and cultural interests inspired similar groups to also join under the same name and insignia of Delta Gamma. Our motto and constant goal is to, "Do Good." Today, Delta Gamma is one of the oldest and largest women's fraternities in the United States and Canada.

Delta Gamma offers to women of all ages a rich heritage; continuity based on sound and tested principals of personal integrity, personal responsibility and intellectual honesty. Throughout its existence at SJSU, Delta Gamma has won Panhellenic awards for most spirited chapter, highest GPA, and a regional award for our collumnae (collegiate and alumnae) programming. In 2010, Delta Gamma, Gamma Eta received the 2010 Patricia Peterson Danielson Award for the second year in a row, Standout Sorority of the Year, Outstanding Grade Point Average for New Members and one of it’s members receive the award for Woman of the Year and Honorable Mention. Gamma Eta members are focused on school work and achieving good grades but also loves participating in our chapter’s philanthropies, club and intramural sports as well as sisterhood activities and spending time bonding together.


Laurel Chapter


Delta Gamma House

Learn more about our chapter house.


Delta Gamma Motto

Chapter Information

  • Designation: Gamma Eta Chapter
  • President: Korryn Williamson
  • Websites: Chapter and National
  • SJSU Founding: 1948
  • National Founding: December 25, 1873 at the Lewis School for Girls in Oxford MS
  • Scholarship: Fall 2016 - 2.96, Spring 2016 - 3.00, Fall 2015 - 3.00
  • Colors: Bronze, Pink, Blue
  • Flower: The Delta Gamma Cream Colored Rose
  • Symbol: Anchor
  • Motto: "Do Good"
  • Nickname: DG, DeeGee
  • Famous Alumae: Joan Lunden (t.v. host), Julia Louis-Dreyfus (actress), Mary Landrieu (Senator (LA)), Christine Lahti (actress), Patricia Heaton (actress), Mary Fran (actress), Ann Coulter (political commentator, author)
  • Annual Events: Anchor Splash

Awards and Recognition (2015-16)

  • Silver Laurel Chapter (2015 Standards of Excellence)