Orientation Leader Commitment

Training and Development

One of the highest-rated components of our Frosh Orientation program is the interaction new students have with their Orientation Leaders. Our leaders go through an extensive, yet rewarding training process that helps prepare them for interactions with new students and parents. In addition to planning and facilitating orientation sessions, applicants should be prepared for the following commitments.

UNVS 199 Class: Orientation Leadership Studies

In the Spring semester, all new Orientation Leaders are required to enroll in this 3-unit, academic course. During this class, students learn details related to campus operations and specific resources designed to aid the orientation process. Additional topics include student development theory, diversity, health/wellness, teamwork, and interpersonal skills. Students will be given the opportunity to understand how their unique team will effectively operate and support the overall orientation process. 

The mandatory UNVS 199 class takes place on Tuesday evenings from 4:30–7:15 p.m.

Retreat Group Photo

Frosh Orientation Staff Retreat

Our overnight staff retreat usually held the first weekend of February provides the first opportunity for all Frosh Orientation staff to come together and get to know one another.

Frosh Orientation Program

All Orientation staff must be available for all Frosh Orientation sessions. This includes living in on-campus housing and being available from 10pm the night before each session through 5pm the second day of each session.

Final Training- June 1-5 (entire week commitment)

Sessions

Session #1- Tuesday, June 19-Wednesday, June 110
Session #2- Tuesday, June 16-Wednesday, June 17
Session #3- Tuesday, June 23-Wednesday, June 24
Session #4- Tuesday, June 30,-Wednesday, July 1
Session #5- Tuesday, July 7-Wednesday, July 8
Session #6- Tuesday, July 14-Wednesday, July 15
Session #7- Tuesday, July 21-Wednesday, July 22
Session #8- Tuesday, July 28-Wednesday, July 29