Award for Outstanding Thesis

An Outstanding Thesis Award will be available for 1-2 theses completed in the 2015/2016 academic year.  The winners will each receive $500.  In addition, the winners will be presented at the University’s commencement ceremony in May and will sit with the platform party. Interested students are encouraged to contact your faculty advisor or department early in the Spring as your thesis must be nominated by your college.

Each college is invited to nominate one outstanding thesis for consideration for this prestigious award.  Students with degrees awarded in May, August, and December of 2015 and those with degrees to be awarded in May 2016 are eligible.  We continue to include the prior May degree recipients so that high quality work completed too late for last year’s college selection process can participate this year.  One restriction remains; nominees sent forward to the Graduate Studies & Research Committee last year may not be nominated again.  The deadline for this year’s competition is March 4, 2016.  Colleges may forward their nominee anytime before the March 4 deadline.

Those nominated must provide an electronic copy of the thesis, a reference letter from the master's committee chairperson, and the Outstanding Thesis Award Information Form (completed by the nominee). In addition, a second letter of reference from the college committee or dean should be provided. The letters should indicate the reasons for the nominee's selection, including some indication of the contribution made by the thesis to knowledge in the field. We ask in addition that the student fill out the Permission to Publish form and return it to the Graduate Studies office; this may be done after the final selection of the Outstanding Theses by the GS&R Committee and notification of the student of the award.  

Please contact Dr. David Bruck at with any questions you have about this process.

Past Winners of the Outstanding Thesis Award

The 2012-2013 winners of the Outstanding Thesis Award are

Shruthi Thirumalai
Thesis Title: Opto-acoustic Interrogation and Ultrasound Imaging of Acoustically Sensitive Microcapsules
Thesis Chair: Mallika Keralapura
Electrical Engineering, Spring 2012

 Sarah Swift
Thesis Title: Low-tech, Eye-Movement-Accessible AAC and Typical Adults
Thesis Chair: Wendy Quach
Communicative Disorders and Sciences, Spring 2012