Faculty News

  • Congratulations to lecturers Laura Guardino, Robert Cirivilleri, and Katharine Chilton on their successuful use of the 15A Course Redesign Grant!
  • Congratulations to Dr. Hou on the publication of her book Negotiating Socialism in Rural China: Mao Peasants, and Local Cadres in Shanxi 1949-1953!
  • Dr. Hilde's book was recently featured on BookTV!
  • Congratulations to Dr. Hilde for her being awarded the fellowship for the Center for Advanced Study in the Behavioral Sciences at Stanford during the 2017-2018 academic year! 

Department News


photography provided by GradImages

Graduation 2017

Graduation 2017 will take place in the Student Union Theater on May 24th, 2017 from 4-6:30PM (light refreshments to follow). Graduation regalia is required and can be purchased at the SJSU student store. Tickets will be available for $15 per person through credit card puchase via SJSU's cashnet system. Graduates do not have to purchase a ticket for themselves but they must confirm their intent to participate in the ceremony with the department staff. Graduates will be given further instruction via e-mail. 

Use this link to purchase tickets to the History department graduation:

San Jose State University will also hold a graduation ceremony for all students who graduated Summer '16, Fall '16, and Spring '17.  The event will be held Saturday, May 27, 2017 at Spartan Stadium.  The event starts at 9:00 a.m. (graduates must arrive at 8:00 a.m. to line up) and lasts until approximately 11:00 a.m.  There is no cost to attend and no tickets are required (the stadium seats 31,000 people so there will be plenty of room).

 History Honors Luncheon 2017

The 42nd Annual Honors Luncheon is set to take place April 28th at the Saint Claire Hotel in San Jose. Please join us in celebrating our scholarship recipients by contacting the department for your invitation to this prestigious event. 

Congratulations to the 2017 History Scholarship Winners!

Alesander Amoroso

Benjamin Brown

Leslie Corona

Aaliyah Gadsen

Janelle Jankowski

Angelica Lopez

Michael Paradela

Victor Rodriguez

Corey Rogers

William Schultz