H&A Marketing and Communications

HA Group Photo

Who We Are

The H&A Marketing and Communications Team is a division of the College of Humanities and the Arts supporting the College and the Hammer Theatre. Managed by the Director of Marketing and Communications, the team is a student-staffed incubator that provides pre-professional marketing training and project work for SJSU students in five areas – digital marketing, editorial, graphic design, media, and web. Our team fosters partnerships with the College and Hammer Theatre to promote programs and events via various marketing services. Each division of the team is specialized to produce effective project-specific marketing solutions to efficiently accomplish the client’s marketing goals.

What We Do

Website Development, Design, and Maintenance

  • Partner with Marketing Director to design, build, and update College and Hammer websites

  • Upload marketing materials such as newsletters, email blasts, and media to applicable websites

  • Ensure ADA accessibility compliance

Graphic Design – Graphic Design for Branding and Marketing Materials

  • Design promotional materials including posters, postcards, brochures, and t-shirts

  • Create accompanying graphics for H&A and Hammer Theatre marketing purposes

Editorial – Copy Editing and Content Management

  • Create and maintain written marketing materials, including copy and layout for ads, brochures, and web-based projects

Media – Photos and Videos

  • Take and edit photos and/or videos of H&A and Hammer Theatre events

  • Create media projects to support college branding, identity, and event marketing efforts

Director

Sheryl Spann

Sheryl G. Spann
Director of Marketing and Communications
Sheryl.Spann@sjsu.edu

Graphic Designers

Mariella Perez

Mariella Perez
BFA Graphic Design, '17
Mariella.Perez@sjsu.edu

Javier Yep

Javier Yep
BFA Graphic Design, '17
Javier.Yep@sjsu.edu

Ariel Soon Graphic Design

Ariel Soon
BFA Graphic Design, '18
Ariel.Soon@sjsu.edu

Minjee Kim Graphic Design

Minjee Kim
BA Design Studies, '18
Minjee.Kim@sjsu.edu

Web Developers

David Vu Web Developer

David Vu
BS Computer Science, '19
David.d.vu@sjsu.edu

Michael Jarrett Photographer

Yuki Kuroshima
BS Computer Science, '18
Yuki.Kuroshima@sjsu.edu

Michael Jarrett Photographer

Jameson Thai
BS Computer Science, '18
Jameson.Thai@sjsu.edu

Media

Aaron Pettigrew Photographer

Aaron Pettigrew
BFA Photography, '18
Aaron.Pettigrew@sjsu.edu

Michael Jarrett Photographer

Michael Jarrett
BFA Radio-Telvision-Film, '18
Michael.Jarrett@sjsu.edu

Editor and Media Specialist

Kristin Lam Editor

Kristin Lam
BA Journalism, '18
Kristin.s.lam@sjsu.edu

Olivia Lee Editor

Olivia Lee
MA English, '19
Olivia.h.lee@sjsu.edu

Lance Wyndon Editor

Lance Wyndon
BA English, '18
Lance.Wyndon@sjsu.edu