About Us

International Student Advising

Approximately 3,200 international students, from more than 100 countries, study at San Jose State University and about 2,000 students engage in practical training experiences after completion of their degree programs through OPT and STEM OPT employment authorization.

Our University is strongly committed to campus globalization and to providing quality support and services for visiting students and scholars on immigration, academic, and cultural adjustment matters.

International Student Advisors offer in-person, email, and phone advising daily as well as weekly workshops throughout the year. Advising appointments may be requested and will be scheduled at the discretion of International Student Advisors.

Click here to learn more about the international student population at SJSU. 


Location:
Student Union - CIES
Phone: 408.924.5920 
Email: international-office@sjsu.edu


Office Hours: Monday - Friday 9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

  • Answers to general inquiries
  • Submit service requests
  • Document drop-off/pick-up

Advising Hours:        Monday - 2:00 - 4:00 p.m.
                                   Tuesday - 9:00 - 11:00 a.m.
                                   Wednesday - 2:00 - 4:00 p.m.
                                   Thursday - 9:00 - 11:00 a.m. & 2:00 - 4:00 p.m.
                                   Friday  - 2:00 - 4:00 p.m.

  • One-on-one advising on complex matters
  • No appointment necessary
  • First come, first serve

Weekly Workshops

  • No registration necessary
  • Individual guidance provided as time permits

F-1 Employment:

Every Friday 10:30 - 11:30 a.m.

Change of Status to F-1:

First and third Friday of the month 9:30 - 10:30 a.m.


Staff List and Contact Information

 

Parinaz ZartoshtyDirector of ISSS
Parinaz Zartoshty
parinaz.zartoshty@sjsu.edu
408.924.6571

 

Katerina Salas-NatchovaAssistant Director of ISA
Katerina Salas-Natchova
katerina.salas@sjsu.edu
408.924.6391

 

Evelyn Tsao

SEVIS Compliance Coordinator
Evelyn Tsao
evelyn.tsao@sjsu.edu
408.924.6106

 

Ariel Tam

SEVIS Records Coordinator
Ariel Tam 
Ariel.tam@sjsu.edu
408.924.6986

 

Kenneth Ing

INTERIM SEVIS Records Coordinator
Kenneth Ing
international-office@sjsu.edu 
408.924.6986

 

Khim

Office Coordinator
Khim Lok
khim.lok@sjsu.edu
408.924.5922

 

Ella Connolly

International Student Advisor
Ella Connolly
ella.connolly@sjsu.edu 
408.924.5913

  

James CoonInternational Student Advisor
James Coon
james.coon@sjsu.edu 
408.924.2742

 

International Student AdvisorLinda Harris
Linda Harris
linda.harris@sjsu.edu 
408.924.2650

 

International Student AdvisorSoo-Jin Sohn
Soo-Jin Sohn
soo-jin.sohn@sjsu.edu
408.924.7892

The International Student Advising (ISA) is a unit under the International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS), formerly known as International Program and Services (IPS).