About Us

International Student Advising

Approximately 3,200 international students, from more than 100 countries, study at San Jose State University and about 2,000 students engage in practical training experiences after completion of their degree programs through OPT and STEM OPT employment authorization.

Our University is strongly committed to campus globalization and to providing quality support and services for visiting students and scholars on immigration, academic, and cultural adjustment matters.

International Student Advisors offer in-person, email, and phone advising daily as well as weekly workshops throughout the year. Advising appointments may be requested and will be scheduled at the discretion of International Student Advisors.

Click here to learn more about the international student population at SJSU. 


Location:
 Student Union - CIES
Phone: 408.924.5920 
Email: international-office@sjsu.edu

Attention!
The ISSS office will be closed on Fridays for the duration of the summer. Regular hours will resume the week of August 21st. 

Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8 AM - 5 PM

  • Answers to general inquiries
  • Submit service requests
  • Document drop-off/pick-up

Monday & Thursday 1 PM - 4 PM Tuesday & Wednesday 9 AM - 12 PM

  • One-on-one advising on complex matters
  • No appointment necessary
  • First come, first serve

Weekly Workshops

  • No registration necessary
  • Individual guidance provided as time permits

F-1 Employment:

Thursday 10:30-11:30 AM | Friday 3:00-4:00 PM

Attention!
During the months of June and July employment workshops will only be held on Thursdays. 

Change of Status to F-1:

First and third Tuesday of the month 3:00-4:00 PM


Staff List and Contact Information

 

No PhotoDirector of ISSS
Parinaz Zartoshty
parinaz.zartoshty@sjsu.edu
408.924.6571

 

No PhotoAssistant Director of ISA
Katerina Salas-Natchova
katerina.salas@sjsu.edu
408.924.6391

 

No Photo

SEVIS Compliance Coordinator
Evelyn Tsao
evelyn.tsao@sjsu.edu
408.924.6106

 

No Photo

SEVIS Records Coordinator
Ariel Tam 
Ariel.tam@sjsu.edu
408.924.6986

 

Khim

Office Coordinator
Khim Lok
khim.lok@sjsu.edu
408.924.5922

 

No Photo

International Student Advisor
Ella Connolly
ella.connolly@sjsu.edu 
408.924.5913

 

No Photo

International Student Advisor
Melissa Paschuck
melissa.paschuck@sjsu.edu 
408.924.5897

 

No PhotoInternational Student Advisor
James Coon
james.coon@sjsu.edu 
408.924.2742

 

The International Student Advising (ISA) is a unit under the International Student and Scholar Services (ISSS), formerly known as International Program and Services (IPS).