Tenured & Tenure-Track Faculty

The Department of Kinesiology is comprised of 22 tenured and tenure-track faculty, 20 lecturers, 35+ activity instructors, and 4 staff. Phone, email, and brief descriptive information are listed below. If you have program-specific questions, please contact the appropriate coordinator/manager directly.

 

Cole Armstrong
Cole Armstrong, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Sport Management
Spartan Complex 114
Dr. Stanley Butler
Associate Professor
Physical Activity &
General Education
Spartan Complex 173J
Dr. Theodore Butryn
Ted Butryn, Ph.D.
Professor
Sport Sociology & Sport Psychology 
Graduate Program Coordinator 
Spartan Complex 173B

 Seung Ho Chang

Seung Ho Chang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Motor Development & Teacher Education
Spartan Complex 111
Dr. Gong Chen
Gong Chen, Ed.D.
Professor
Physical Activity Specialist
Physical Activity Program Coordinator
Spartan Complex 109
408-924-3033
gong.chen@sjsu.edu

Jessica Chin

Associate Professor
Research &
Core Specialist 
Undergraduate Coordinator
Spartan Complex 173F
Craig Cisar
Professor
Exercise Physiology & Exercise Sciences
Spartan Complex 117

Dr. Mike Dao

Mike Dao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Sport History & Int'l Physical Culture
Spartan Complex 113
408-924-2904
michael.dao@sjsu.edu
 
David Daum 
David Daum, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Physical Education - 
Teacher Education
PETE Program Director 
Spartan Complex 113
 KyungMo Han
KyungMo Han, Ph.D., ATC, CSCS
Professor
Professional Athletic Training Program Director
Spartan Complex 173A
 
Dr. JJ Hanigan
JJ Hannigan, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Biomechanics
Spartan Complex 173G
408-924-3014
 

Areum Jensen

Assistant Professor
Clinical Exercise Physiology
Spartan Complex 175
 
Dr. Li Jin
Li Jin, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor 
Biomechanics
Spartan Complex 111
408-924-3046
 
Jihyun Lee
Assistant Professor
Adapted Physical Education & Teacher Education
Spartan Complex 112
408-924-1986
jihyun.lee01@sjsu.edu

Matthew Masucci Bio Pic

(Curently Serving as Interim Assoc. Dean - CHHS)
Sport Philosophy & Cultural Studies
MacQuarrie Hall 430
408-924-3010
matthew.masucci@sjsu.edu

Dr. Peggy Plato

Peggy Plato, Ph.D.
Professor
Applied Exercise Physiology 
General Education Program Coordinator
Spartan Complex 174
408-924-3032
peggy.plato@sjsu.edu

Shirley Reekie

Professor
Sport History & Comparative Sport Studies
Spartan Complex 173K
408-924-3020
shirley.reekie@sjsu.edu
Dr. Tamar Semerjian
Professor
Sport & Exercise Psychology
Dept. Chair
Spartan Complex 103
408-924-3069
tamar.semerjian@sjsu.edu

Bethany Shifflett

Bethany Shifflett, Ph.D.
Professor
Psychometrics, Measurement & Evaluation 
Internship Manager
Spartan Complex 173C
408-924-3016
bethany.shifflett@sjsu.edu

Erin Siebert

Assistant Professor
Adapted Physical Activity & Teacher Education
Spartan Complex 173D
408-924-3207
erin.siebert@sjsu.edu

Masaaki Tsuruike

 
Masaaki Tsuruike, Ph.D., ATC
Associate Professor
Athletic Training
Graduate Athletic Training Program Director
Spartan Complex 173H
408-924-3040
masaaki.tsuruike@sjsu.edu

Emily Wughalter

Emily Wughalter, Ed.D.
Professor
Motor Learning
Spartan Complex 166
408-924-3043
emily.wughalter@sjsu.edu
 
 
 

 

 
       

 
Back to Top