Faculty/Staff Contacts

The Kinesiology Department is comprised of 20 full-time faculty, 48 part-time faculty, and 5 staff. Phone, email, and brief descriptive information are listed below. If you have program-specific questions, you should contact the appropriate coordinator/manager directly.

Kinesiology Department Coordinators/Managers

Position Name Office Phone Email Contact
Department Chair Masucci, Matt; Ph.D. SPX 102 (408) 924-3010 matthew.masucci@sjsu.edu
Undergraduate Program Coordinator Tamar Semerjian; Ph.D. SPX 116 (408) 924-3069 tamar.semerjian@sjsu.edu
Undergraduate Advising Manager Chin, Jessica; Ph.D. SPX 173F (408) 924-3042 jessica.chin@sjsu.edu
Graduate Program Coordinator Butryn, Ted; Ph.D. SPX 173B (408) 924-3021 theodore.butryn@sjsu.edu
General Education Program Coordinator Plato, Peggy; Ph.D. SPX 174 (408) 924-3032 Peggy.Plato@sjsu.edu
Activity Program Coordinator Chen, Gong; Ph.D. SPX 109 (408) 924-3033 gong.chen@sjsu.edu

>Back to Top

Kinesiology Full-Time Faculty

Name Area of Expertise Office Phone Email Contact
Armstrong, Cole, Ph.D. Sport Management SPX 113   cole.armstrong@sjsu.edu
Butler, Stanley; Ed.D. Pedagogy; Activity Specialist SPX 173J (408) 924-3044 stanley.butler@sjsu.edu
Butryn, Ted; Ph.D. Sport Psychology SPX 173B (408) 924-3068 theodore.butryn@sjsu.edu
Chen, Gong; Ph.D. Activity Specialist SPX 109 (408) 924-3033 gong.chen@sjsu.edu
Chin, Jessica; Ph.D. Physical Cultural Studies SPX 173F (408) 924-3039 jessica.chin@sjsu.edu
Cisar, Craig; Ph.D. Exercise Physiology SPX 117 (408) 924-3018 craig.cisar@sjsu.edu
Han, KyungMo; Ph.D. Athletic Training SPX 173G (408) 924-3041 kyungmo.han@sjsu.edu
Kao, Jim; Ph.D. Motor Development/ Biomechanics SPX 173H (408) 924-3026 james.kao@sjsu.edu
Masucci, Matt; Ph.D Department Chair; Interdisciplinary SPX 102 (408) 924-3010 matthew.masucci@sjsu.edu
Megginson, Nancy; Ph.D. Adapted Physical Activity SPX 173A (408) 924-3014 nancy.megginson@sjsu.edu
Payne, Greg; PED Motor Development SPX 166 (408) 924-2904 greg.payne@sjsu.edu
Plato, Peggy; Ph.D. Exercise Physiology SPX 174 (408) 924-3032 peggy.plato@sjsu.edu
Reekie, Shirley; Ph.D. International Sport;
Sport History
SPX 173K (408) 924-3020 shirley.reekie@sjsu.edu
Schmidlein, Robert, Pedagogy SPX 114 (408) 924-3019 robert.schmidlein@sjsu.edu
Semerjian, Tamar; Ph.D. Sport Psychology SPX 116 (408) 924-3069 tamar.semerjian@sjsu.edu
Shifflett, Bethany; Ph.D. Measurement and Evaluation SPX 173C (408) 924-3016 bethany.shifflett@sjsu.edu
Tsuruike, Masaaki; Ph.D. Athletic Training SPX 115 (408) 924-3040 masaaki.tsuruike@sjsu.edu
Wughalter, Emily, Ph.D. Motor Learning SPX 164 (408) 924-3043 emily.wughalter@sjsu.edu

Kinesiology Department Adjunct Faculty

Name Area of Expertise
Habier, Daniel; M.D. Athletic Training

>Back to Top

Kinesiology Department Part-Time Faculty

Name   Phone Email Contact
Dr. Andrews, Vernon SPX 173D (530) 514-3943 vernon.andrews@sjsu.edu
Ayers, Albert Jr. SPX 170 (408) 745-0633 bud.ayers@gmail.com
Barry, Frank   (408) 891-4054 frank.barry85@gmail.com
Beggs, Tom   (831) 809-8304 beggs@cruzio.com
Behler, Martha      
Bohigian, Daniel SPX 156   daniel.bohigian@sjsu.edu
Brown, Christopher   (408) 210-0758 christopher@calsportscenter.com
Bruga, Kathy SPX 170 (408) 924-3023 kbruga@comcast.net
Cai, Lei   (408) 838-8318 lei.cai@sjsu.edu
Caughlan,Suzanne SPX 170   Suzanne.Caughlan@sjsu.edu
Chavez, Roberto   (408) 924-3010  
Clair, Janet YUH 244 (408) 924-3042 janet.clair@sjsu.edu
Crespo, Oscar     oscar.crespo@sjsu.edu
Crockett, Matthew      
Daum, David      
David, Oscar     od_dance@yahoo.com
Deges, Zecheria     zecheria.deges@sjsu.edu
Fonda, James SPX 170   james.fonda@sjsu.edu
Ghiasvand, Farzaneh YUH 244 (408) 924-3022 farzaneh.ghiasvand@sjsu.edu
Gonzalez, Matthew     matthew.gonzalez@sjsu.edu
Imura, Hisashi     hisashi.imura@sjsu.edu
Jeffery, Karin SPX 156    
Keeling, Jonathan SPX 170 (408) 924-1580 jonathan.keeling@sjsu.edu
Kirkendall, Kristine      
Kwok, Ray   (408) 924-3010 raymond.kwok@sjsu.edu
Laraya, Justine SPX 111 (408) 924-3035 justine.laraya@sjsu.edu
Li, Krislyn SPX 170    
Linafelter, Junko SPX 156
  garyjunko@netzero.net
Marsall, Marcus      
May, Chris SPX 173E
(408) 924-3048 christian.may@sjsu.edu
Medina, Arman     arman.medina@sjsu.edu
Montgomery, Dick; Ph.D. SPX 173E (408) 924-3054 richard.montgomery@sjsu.edu
Murphy, Daniel SPX 110 (408) 924-3057 daniel.murphy@sjsu.edu
Nakano, Shintaro     shintaro.nakano@sjsu.edu
Olliges, Sandy YUH 244
  sandyolligessensei@comcast.net
Pate, Lee M. SPX 170   lee.pate@sjsu.edu
Schachner, Jennifer SPX 112   jennifer.schachner@sjsu.edu
Schmidt, Jordan      
Schmitt, Hans     hans.schmitt@sjsu.edu
Smith, Jenna     jenna.smith@sjsu.edu
Tomimbang, Adriane SPX 170   adrianecris.tomimbang@sjsu.edu
Uchida, Yosh      
Wallace, Sarah      
Weng, Daniel; Ph.D. SPX 170 (408) 924-3058 drcweng@aol.com
Wilburn, Therren     therren.wilburn@sjsu.edu
Wilkin, Linda SPX 173E (408) 924-3019 linda.wilkin@sjsu.edu
Williams, David SPX 170
(408) 924-3017 judodave@mac.com
Zimmerman, Mary     zimmerman.mm@gmail.com

>Back to Top

Kinesiology Department Staff

Position Name Office Phone Email Contact
Instructional Support Technician I Bui, Vy SPX 108 (408) 924-3045 vy.bui@sjsu.edu
Instructional Support Technician III Flynn, Pamela SPX 103 (408) 924 3046 pamela.flynn@sjsu.edu
Administrative Support Assistant II Kwong, Winston SPX 106 (408) 924-3011 winston.kwong@sjsu.edu
Administrative Support Coordinator II Mercer, Jodi SPX 105 (408) 924-3012 jodi.mercer@sjsu.edu
Instructional Support Assistant II Sennewald, Curt SPX 128 (408) 924-3049 curt.sennewald@sjsu.edu

>Back to Top