Faculty/Staff Contacts

The Kinesiology Department is comprised of 20 full-time faculty, 48 part-time faculty, and 5 staff. Phone, email, and brief descriptive information are listed below. If you have program-specific questions, you should contact the appropriate coordinator/manager directly.

Kinesiology Department Coordinators/Managers

Position Name Office Phone Email Contact
Department Chair Reekie, Shirley; Ph.D. SPX 56 (408) 924-3010 shirley.reekie@sjsu.edu
Undergraduate Program Coordinator Tamar Semerjian; Ph.D. SPX 72 (408) 924-3069 tamar.semerjian@sjsu.edu
Undergraduate Advising Manager Clair, Janet SPX 60 (408) 924-3042 janet.clair@sjsu.edu
Graduate Program Coordinator Masucci, Matt; Ph.D. SSC 515 (408) 924-3021 matthew.masucci@sjsu.edu
General Education Program Coordinator Plato, Peggy; Ph.D. SPX 84 (408) 924-3032 Peggy.Plato@sjsu.edu
Activity Program Coordinator Chen, Gong; Ph.D. SSC 517 (408) 924-3033 gong.chen@sjsu.edu

>Back to Top

Kinesiology Full-Time Faculty

Name Area of Expertise Office Phone Email Contact
Butler, Stanley; Ed.D. Pedagogy; Activity Specialist SSC 514 (408) 924-3044 stanley.butler@sjsu.edu
Butryn, Ted; Ph.D. Sport Psychology SSC 512 (408) 924-3068 theodore.butryn@sjsu.edu
Chen, Gong; Ph.D. Activity Specialist SSC 517 (408) 924-3033 gong.chen@sjsu.edu
Chin, Jessica; Ph.D. Physical Cultural Studies SPX 106 (408) 924-3039 jessica.chin@sjsu.edu
Cisar, Craig; Ph.D. Exercise Physiology SPX 105 (408) 924-3018 craig.cisar@sjsu.edu
Han, KyungMo; Ph.D. Athletic Training SPX 59 (408) 924-3041 kyungmo.han@sjsu.edu
Kao, Jim; Ph.D. Motor Development/ Biomechanics SSC 513 (408) 924-3026 james.kao@sjsu.edu
Lilienthal, Sonja; Ph.D. Sport Management SPX 216A (408) 924-3031 sonja.lilienthal@sjsu.edu
Masucci, Matt; Ph.D Interdisciplinary SSC 515 (408) 924-3021 matthew.masucci@sjsu.edu
Megginson, Nancy; Ph.D. Adapted Physical Activity SPX 104 (408) 924-3014 nancy.megginson@sjsu.edu
Payne, Greg; PED Motor Development MH 428 (408) 924-2904 greg.payne@sjsu.edu
Plato, Peggy; Ph.D. Exercise Physiology SPX 84 (408) 924-3032 peggy.plato@sjsu.edu
Reekie, Shirley; Ph.D. Department Chair;
International Sport;
Sport History
SPX 56 (408) 924-3010 shirley.reekie@sjsu.edu
Semerjian, Tamar; Ph.D. Sport Psychology SPX 72 (408) 924-3069 tamar.semerjian@sjsu.edu
Shifflett, Bethany; Ph.D. Measurement and Evaluation SPX 83 (408) 924-3016 bethany.shifflett@sjsu.edu
Tsuruike, Masaaki; Ph.D. Athletic Training SPX 71 (408) 924-3040 masaaki.tsuruike@sjsu.edu
Wilkinson, Susan; Ph.D. Pedagogy SSC (408) 924-3034 susan.wilkinson@sjsu.edu
Wughalter, Emily, Ph.D. Motor Learning SPX 76 (408) 924-3043 emily.wughalter@sjsu.edu

Kinesiology Department Adjunct Faculty

Name Area of Expertise
Habier, Daniel; M.D. Athletic Training

>Back to Top

Kinesiology Department Part-Time Faculty

Name   Phone Email Contact
Dr. Andrews, Vernon SPX 301 (530) 514-3943 vernon.andrews@sjsu.edu
Anecito, Nicole      
Ayers, Albert Jr.  SPX 301 (408) 745-0633 bud.ayers@gmail.com
Baker, James     bowlersaisle@yahoo.com
Barry, Frank   (408) 891-4054 frank.barry85@gmail.com
Beggs, Tom   (831) 809-8304 beggs@cruzio.com
Behler, Chris SC 106   pocketsoccer@yahoo.com
Brown, Christopher   (408) 210-0758 christopher@calsportscenter.com
Brown, Holly SPX 72 (408) 924-3035 Holly.Brown@sjsu.edu
Bruga, Kathy SPX 301 (408) 924-3023 kbruga@comcast.net
Cai, Lei SPX 301 (408) 838-8318 lei.cai@sjsu.edu
Castellano, Jay   (408) 757-8073 jay_castellano@hotmail.com
Caughlan, Laurence SPX 301 (408) 924-3027 Laurence.Caughlan@sjsu.edu
Caughlan,Suzanne SPX 301   Suzanne.Caughlan@sjsu.edu
Chavez, Roberto   (408) 924-3010  
Clair, Janet SPX 60 (408) 924-3042 janet.clair@sjsu.edu
David, Oscar     od_dance@yahoo.com
Deges, Zecheria     zecheria.deges@sjsu.edu
Farias, Darren     darren.farias@sjsu.edu
Friedrich, Rob  SPX 71  (408) 924-3019 bbcoachrob@yahoo.com
Ghiasvand, Farzaneh  SPX 60  (408) 924-3022  
Haack, Matthew     matthew.haack@sjsu.edu
Haber, Dan     dhab1207@yahoo.com
Kirkendall, Kristine      
Kloeppel, Tiffany  SPX 71  (408) 924-3019  
Kwok, Ray   (408) 924-3010 raymond.kwok@sjsu.edu
Linafelter, Junko SPX 301   garyjunko@netzero.net
Mano, Gary SPX 301   ghmano@yahoo.com
May, Chris SPX 301 (408) 924-3048 christian.may@sjsu.edu
McClure, Daniel SPX 301   daniel.mcclure@sjsu.edu
McKown, Joel      
Mitchell, Ying     ying.mitchell@sjsu.edu
Monobe, Ellie      
Montgomery, Dick; Ph.D. SPX 301 (408) 924-3054 richard.montgomery@sjsu.edu
Moreno, Karen SPX 301   karen.moreno@sjsu.edu
Murphy, Daniel SPX 301 (408) 924-3057 daniel.murphy@sjsu.edu
Nguyen, Anh-Dao   (408) 924-1327 adn10s@yahoo.com
Olliges, Sandy SPX 301   sandyolligessensei@comcast.net
Pate, Lee M.   (408) 924-3019 lee.pate@sjsu.edu
Rader, David     d-rader@pacbell.net
Schachner, Jennifer SPX 59   jennifer.schachner@sjsu.edu
Schlimmer, Erick      
Scott, Ryan      
Sullivan, Michael SPX 301   michael.sullivan@sjsu.edu
Toney, Philrene      
Trader, Andrea      
Uchida, Yosh      
Wada, Jack      
Weng, Daniel; Ph.D.   (408) 924-3058 drcweng@aol.com
Wilkin, Linda SPX 71 (408) 924-3019 linda.wilkin@sjsu.edu
Williams, David SPX 301 (408) 924-3017 judodave@mac.com
Yan, Jin     jinny1994@yeah.net
Zimmerman, Mary     zimmerman.mm@gmail.com

>Back to Top

Kinesiology Department Staff

Position Name Office Phone Email Contact
Instructional Support Technician I Bui, Vy SPX 85 (408) 924-3045 vy.bui@sjsu.edu
Instructional Support Technician III Flynn, Pamela SPX 85 (408) 924 3046 pamela.flynn@sjsu.edu
Administrative Support Assistant II Kwong, Winston SPX 56 (408) 924-3011 winsfton.kwong@sjsu.edu
Administrative Support Coordinator II Mercer, Jodi SPX 56 (408) 924-3012 jodi.mercer@sjsu.edu
Instructional Support Assistant II Sennewald, Curt SPX 64 (408) 924-3049 curt.sennewald@sjsu.edu

>Back to Top