Student Awards

Graduates at Commencement

Each year in the Spring semester, the Department of Linguistics and Language Development recognizes its outstanding students each year through awards established in the names of faculty, alumni, and friends of the department. Current bequests include the Doris Yankley Memorial Scholarship, the Philip Cook Outstanding Student Scholarship, the Charles Stewart Memorial Outstanding Student Scholarship, the Martha Bean Memorial Scholarship, and the LLD Alumni Association Scholarship.

To be eligible for an award, a student may nominate him/herself, or be nominated by a member of the faculty or another student in the department. The final selection is made by the graduate faculty. Minimum qualifications for each of these awards include: current enrollment in a degree program in the Department of LLD; successful completion of at least nine units of work in LLD, excluding prerequisites; a minimum grade point average of either 3.25 (Yankley) or 3.75 (Cook and Stewart) in the currently enrolled program, excluding prerequisites. For the Yankley, demonstration of financial need; for the Cook and Stewart, demonstrated special scholarly achievement(s), professional activity, and/or service to the department.

The Martha Bean Memorial Scholarship is for any part-time or full-time, fully matriculated undergraduate or graduate student majoring in either Linguistics or Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages. Applicants must have demonstrated commitment to community services among diverse groups, have completed either 9 undergraduate or 6 graduate units in LLD with a GPA of 3.0, and write a one-page statement describing what they have learned from their community service.

Nominations for the 2014-2015 academic year are due on April 25. We now accept nominations for the Martha Bean Memorial Scholarship, the LLD Alumni Scholarship and the Doris Yankley Memorial Scholarship. Completed forms should be emailed to Dr. Roula Svorou.

To contribute to these scholarship funds, or to establish a scholarship fund in another name, please contact the Department of Linguistics main office or the SJSU Foundation.