Math Department Scholarships

Every spring, the Mathematics Department awards scholarships to deserving mathematics majors and graduate students. The purposed of these awards is to encourage academic excellence by honoring our best students. These scholarships are funded through donations by friends of the department. Information and application forms are available in the spring semester and scholarship winners are honored at a reception which is usually held on the afternoon of Study and Conference Day, also known as Dead Day of the Spring Semester. The Department of Mathematics Scholarships were first awarded in 1983. Each, year, mathematics faculty members contribute to this fund to honor academic achievement and encourage further academic studies.

How do I apply for a Math Department Scholarship?

You will need to download the Scholarship Application (pdf) or pick one up from the Math Office (MH 308). The one form will automatically apply to all scholarships. Applications are typically due in early April. Together with the filled out form you will need to submit a short one page essay about your academic and career goal plans, your (unofficial) SJSU transcripts and the names of three faculty members that are willing to provide letters of recommendations for you. It would be a good idea to contact these professors ahead of time, to ask if they are willing to write you a letter. To receive a scholarship you should have a GPA of at least 3.5 in your major - your major must be Mathematics to receive a Mathematics Department Scholarship. You must have taken at least one upper division or graduate course in the Mathematics Department and you must be enrolled at SJSU in the semester preceding the awards.

What Scholarships are there?

A woman who entered SJSU in 1943 in mathematics sponsors the Morton Future Teacher Award. She graded papers for the chair of the department at that time, Howard Myers. Her maiden name was Rafferty. She also go a masters degree from this department writing her thesis under Vern Hoggatt. This scholarship is renewable.

The Richard C. Dieckmann Scholarship was first awarded in 1983. Professor Dieckmann was a highly regarded member of the mathematics faculty here for many years. He endowed a scholarship fund by a gift from hi estate to reward and encourage academic excellence by a math major.

The Kenneth C. Bradshaw Award for Outstanding Teaching Assistant has been given each year since 1993 to the most outstanding teacher among the graduate students. Kenneth C. Bradshaw was a gifted teacher and an Associate Chair in the Department. As associate chair, he was best known for the many small, but mighty, steps he took to improve the quality of life for students. The department faculty endowed this award in his honor after he retired.

The Franklin B. Fuller Scholarship Fund was established in 1977 to honor the memory of a past chair of the mathematics department. Affectionately known as a "prune picker" due to his local roots, Professor Fuller also has local roots in the Department having earned bachelor's and master's degrees at San Jose State before taking a job with NASA Ames Research Center. He maintained ties with the department throughout his career by teaching here part-time while working for NASA. After retiring from NASA in 1970, Professor Fuller came to teach full-time, and became department chair in 1974. Many generous contributions were made to this scholarship fund by his coworkers at NASA as well as his friends in this department.

The Paul F. Byrd Award was first awarded in 1994. Professor Byrd was a distinguished applied mathematician and faculty member in the Department of Mathematics for 30 years. He is best remembered for his knowledge of applied mathematics, his ability to learn independently, his love for solving monthly problems, his readiness and willingness to transmit his knowledge to students and colleagues, and his capacity to fight for social justice. His former student, Kent Okasaki was the prime instigator in establishing the scholarship in honor of his thesis advisor using  his HP stock options to endow the scholarship. Professor Byrd's family and colleagues have also contributed to the establishment of this annual award in his memory.

The Hoggatt Award for Outstanding Research Potential is the most distinguished of all of our scholarship awards. Since 1981, the prize has been awarded each spring to a student with the greatest research potential, based on faculty recommendations. This award is named for Verner E. Hoggatt, former faculty member founded a mathematical journal called the Fibonacci Quarterly. He supervised a record number of 39 theses in the department. (39 by the way is 3 times the 7th Fibonacci number.) One of his students, Marjorie Bicknell-Johnson writes that Vern Hoggatt particularly encouraged  young women in mathematics. This, despite the fact that he made her rewrite her first paper claiming it sounded as if it were written for the Ladies Home Journal. The Fibonacci Association funds this award every year in honor of its founder.

SJSU Scholarships

The financial aid office of San Jose State University awards scholarships based on scholastic achievement and financial need. Most of those scholarships require the completion of 8 graduate or 12 undergraduate credits with a GPA of 3.0 or better. Application deadlines are typically mid April