Faculty

 

raghu agarwal

Raghu Agarwal, PhD Texas A&M

Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
Research Interests:  finite element analysis, computer-aided design
(408) 924-3845 · raghu.agarwal@sjsu.edu · Dr. Agarwal's website

fred barez

Fred Barez, PhD UC Berkeley, ASME Fellow

Professor
Research Interests:  electronics packaging, magnetic recording, fiber optics
(408) 924-4298 · fred.barez@sjsu.edu · Dr. Barez' website

Bsshash

Saeid Bashash, PhD Clemson University

Assistant Professor
Research Interests: Control Systems, Mechatronics, Power and Energy Systems, Internet of Things
(408) 924-8355 · Saeid.Bashash@sjsu.edu     Dr. Bashash's Website

winncy du

Winncy Du, PhD Georgia Tech, PE, ASME Fellow

Professor
Research Interests: mechatronics, robotics, machine vision, pattern recognition
(408) 924-3866 · winncy.du@sjsu.edu · Dr. Du's website

furman

 Buff Furman, PhD Stanford, PE

Professor
Research Interests:  precision machine design, mechatronic systems, mechanical measurement
(408) 924-3817 · burford.furman@sjsu.edu · Dr. Furman's website

Gosselin

Kathryn Gosselin, PhD University of Connecticut

Assistant Professor
Research Interests:  Aerodynamics, combustion, optical diagnostics, renewable energy
(408) 924-8354 · kathryn.gosselin@sjsu.edu

tai-ran hsu

Tai-ran Hsu, PhD McGill University, ASME Fellow

Professor 
Research Interests:  MEMS design & packaging, thermomechanics, fracture mechanics
(408) 924-3905 · tai-ran.hsu@sjsu.edu · Dr. Hsu's website

lee

John Lee, PhD MIT

Professor 
Research Interests:  MEMS, microfluidics, microfabrication processes
(408) 924-7167 · sang-joon.lee@sjsu.edu · Dr. Lee's Webpage

nicole okamoto

Nicole Okamoto, PhD University of Illinois

Professor and Department Chair
Research Interests:  heat transfer, HVAC, electronic systems cooling
(408) 924-4054 · nicole.okamoto@sjsu.edu · Dr. Okamoto's Webpage

jinny rhee

Jinny Rhee, PhD Stanford

Professor and Associate Dean of Engineering
Research Interests:  renewable energy, energy efficiency, and electronics cooling
(408) 924-3876 · jinny.rhee@sjsu.edu, · Dr. Rhee's website

yee

Raymond Yee, PhD UC Berkeley, PE

Professor 
Research Interests:  mechanical design, materials behavior, fracture mechanics, FEA/CAD,  stress analysis
(408) 924-3935 · raymond.yee@sjsu.edu · Dr. Yee's website

Vimal

Vimal Viswanathan, PhD  Texas A&M 

Assistant Professor 
Reserach Interests: engineering design, new product development, design creativity and innovation, mechatronics systems design
(408) 924-3841 vimal.viswanathan@sjsu.edu Dr. Viswanathan's Website