Faculty

raghu agarwal

Raghu Agarwal, PhD Texas A&M

Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
Research Interests:  finite element analysis, computer-aided design

(408) 924-3845 · raghu.agarwal@sjsu.edu · Dr. Agarwal's website

fred barez

Fred Barez, PhD UC Berkeley, ASME Fellow

Professor
Research Interests:  electronics packaging, magnetic recording, fiber optics

(408) 924-4298 · fred.barez@sjsu.edu · Dr. Barez' website

winncy du

Winncy Du, PhD Georgia Tech, PE, ASME Fellow

Professor
Research Interests: mechatronics, robotics, machine vision, pattern recognition

(408) 924-3866 · winncy.du@sjsu.edu · Dr. Du's website

buff furman

Buff Furman, PhD Stanford, PE

Professor
Research Interests:  precision machine design, mechatronic systems, mechanical measurement

(408) 924-3817 · burford.furman@sjsu.edu · Dr. Furman's website

andrew hsu

Andrew Hsu, PhD Georgia Tech, ACE Fellow

Professor and Dean of Engineering
Research Interests: aerodynamics, turbulent combustion, and fuel cell technology

(408) 924-3800 · andrew.hsu@sjsu.edu · Dr. Hsu's biography

tai-ran hsu

Tai-ran Hsu, PhD McGill University, ASME Fellow

Professor and Department Chair
Research Interests:  MEMS design & packaging, thermomechanics, fracture mechanics

(408) 924-3905 · tai-ran.hsu@sjsu.edu · Dr. Hsu's website

john lee

John Lee, PhD MIT

Associate Professor 
Research Interests:  MEMS, microfluidics, microfabrication processes

(408) 924-7167 · sang-joon.lee@sjsu.edu · Dr. Lee's website

nicole okamoto

Nicole Okamoto, PhD University of Illinois

Professor and Associate Chair
Research Interests:  heat transfer, HVAC, electronic systems cooling

(408) 924-4054 · nicole.okamoto@sjsu.edu · Dr. Okamoto's website

jinny rhee

Jinny Rhee, PhD Stanford

Professor
Research Interests:  renewable energy, energy efficiency, and electronics cooling

(408) 924-3876 · jinny.rhee@sjsu.edu, · Dr. Rhee's website

raymond yee

Raymond Yee, PhD UC Berkeley, PE

Professor 
Research Interests:  mechanical design, materials behavior, fracture mechanics, FEA/CAD,  stress analysis

(408) 924-3935 · raymond.yee@sjsu.edu · Dr. Yee's website