Faculty & Staff Directory

School of Music Faculty 

Janet Averett

Janet Averett

Woodwinds Area Coordinator,
Clarinet

408.924.4682
janet.averett@sjsu.edu 

 placeholder

Jesse Barrett

Oboe

408.924.4679
jesserexbarrett@gmail.com

Brian Belet

Brian Belet

Music Systems & Theory Area Coordinator

Advisor, BA Music 

408.924.4632
brian.belet@sjsu.edu

dahveed behroozi

Dahveed Behroozi

Jazz Studies
Jazz Piano

dahveedbehroozi@gmail.com

Sandra Bengochea

Sandra Bengochea

Voice

408.924.4658
sandra.bengochea@sjsu.edu

Jeffery Benson

Jeffrey Benson

Director of Choral Activities

408.924.4645
jeffrey.benson@sjsu.edu

Sharon Brook

Sharon Brook

Keyboard Studies, Collaborative Piano

408.924.4651
sharon.brook@sjsu.edu

 placeholder

Forrest Byram

Tuba

408.924.4653
forrest.byram@sjsu.edu

Yuen Chou

Yueh Chou

Bassoon

408.924.4666
yueh.chou@sjsu.edu
 

Fred Cohen

Fred Cohen

Director,School of Music and Dance

Orchestra

408.924.4677
fred.cohen@sjsu.edu

 placeholder

Lou De La Rosa

Music Education

l.delarosa.sjsu@gmail.com

 placeholder

Jon Dryden

Jazz piano

408.924.4679
jondryden@yahoo.com

picturePaulEllison

Paul Ellison

Music History, General Music

paul.ellison@sjsu.edu

Joseph Frank

Joseph Frank

Voice

408.924.4659
joseph.frank@sjsu.edu

 placeholder

John Freeman

Trumpet

408.924.4653
john.freeman@sjsu.edu

Pablo Furman

Pablo Furman

Associate Director

Composition Area Coordinator,
Composers Forum Director

408.924.4646
pablo.furman@sjsu.edu 

placeholder 

Ren Geisick

Vocal jazz

408.924.4678
rengeisick@gmail.com

Peter Gelfand

Peter Gelfand

Cello

408.924.4668
pqmg@sbcglobal.net

Jennifer Gerlanvh

Jennifer Gerlach

Summer Masters

 
Gordon Haramaki

Gordon Haramaki

Music History Area Coordinator,
Collegium Musicum Director,
Graduate Coordinator

408.924.4634
gordon.haramaki@sjsu.edu
 

Timothy Harris

Timothy Harris

World Music

408.924.4673
timothy.harris@sjsu.edu

placeholder 

Michael Hernandez

Saxophone
Saxophone Ensemble

408.924.4673
michaelnhernandez@gmail.com

Diana Hollinger

Diana Hollinger

Music Education Area Coordinator

408.924.4631
diana.hollinger@sjsu.edu

Tom Hornig

Thomas Hornig

Brass Area Coordinator

Trombone/Euphonium

408.924.4647
thomas.hornig@sjsu.edu

Kara Ireland D'Ambrosio

Kara Ireland D'Ambrosio

Music Education

408.924.4656
kara.irelanddambrosio@sjsu.edu

SarahJones_Hayes

Sarah Jones-Hayes

Violin; Orchestra

408.924.4648
sarah.jones-hayes@sjsu.edu

placeholder 

Tom Langan

Jazz Studies, Music Systems and Theory, General Studies 

408.924.4678
thomas.langan@sjsu.edu

Galen Lemmon

Galen Lemmon

Percussion Area Coordinator,
SJSU Percussion Ensemble Director

408.924.4681
galen.lemmon@sjsu.edu

Frank Levy

Frank Lévy

Keyboard Studies

408.924.3884
franklevy960@gmail.com

Jason Lewis

Jason Lewis

Jazz Studies
Jazz Drumset
Jazz Combo

408.924.4660
jason.lewis@sjsu.edu

Jeffrey Lewis

Jeffrey Lewis

Jazz Trumpet
Jazz Combo 
Latin Jazz

408.924.4680
jeffrey.lewis@sjsu.edu

Steven Lin

Steven Lin

Classical Guitar

408.924.4333
steven.lin@sjsu.edu

Aaron Lington

Aaron Lington

Jazz Studies Area Coordinator,
Jazz Orchestra,
Jazz Saxophone

408.924.4636
aaron.lington@sjsu.edu

Victoria Lington

Victoria Lington

Keyboard Studies

408.924.4650
victoria.lington@sjsu.edu

 placeholder

Craig Mckenzie

Marching Band Director,
Music Education

408.924.4643
craig.mckenzie@sjsu.edu

placeholder 

Kate Johnson Metcalf

General Education

408-924-4673
kate.j.metcalf@gmail.com  

Jennifer Mitchell 

Jennifer Mitchell

Voice 

jennifer.alexis.mitchell@gmail.com

Gwendolyn Mok

Gwendolyn Mok

Keyboard Studies Area Coordinator

408.924.4637
gwendolyn.mok@sjsu.edu

Bruce Moyer

Bruce Moyer

Strings Area Coordinator,
Double Bass

408.924.4668
bruce.moyer@sjsu.edu

 

Carl Oser

Voice

 
Catherine Payne

Catherine Payne

Flute

408.924.4333
catherine.payne@sjsu.edu

 placeholder

Dan Robbins

Jazz Bass

408.924.4668
daniel.robbins@sjsu.edu

 placeholder

Mauricio Rodriguez

Music Systems and Theory

408.924.7347
mauricio.rodriguez@sjsu.edu

placeholder 

Abi Ramirez Romero

General Music

408.924.3407
abigail.romero@sjsu.edu

 Robin Sacolick

Robin Sacolick

Music in World Cultures,

General Music

408.924.4678
profsacolick@yahoo.com
 placeholder

Jacque Scharlach

Voice

jwilson1897@gmail.com

placeholder 

Caitlyn Smith Franklin

French horn

408.924.4653
caitlyn.smithfranklin@sjsu.edu

Jonathan Smucker 

Jonathan Smucker

Voice

jonathan.smucker@sjsu.edu

 placeholder

Simona Snitkovskaya

Opera Theater

408.924.4658
simona.sniksovskaya@sjsu.edu

Joan H. Stubbe

Joan H. Stubbe

General Music

408.924.4649
joan.stubbe@sjsu.edu

Namik Sultinov

Namiq Sultanov

Keyboard Studies

408.924.4650
namiq.sultanov@sjsu.edu

Karen Kirk Thielen

Karen Kirk Thielen

Harp

408.924.4666
karen.thielen@sjsu.edu

Rick Vandivier

Rick Vandivier

Jazz Guitar

408.924.4680
richard.vandivier@sjsu.edu

 placeholder

Stephen Vasiliou

Audio recording & technology

408.924.7347
stevenvasiliou@gmail.com

 placeholder

David Vickerman

Director of Bands

408.924.6971
david.vickerman@sjsu.edu

PaulYonemuraPic 

Paul Yonemura

Music Education

pyonemura@comcast.net

 
 

School of Music & Dance Staff

Lucy Yamakawa Cox

 

Lucy Yamakawa Cox

Financial Analyst

 

408.924.4672
lucy.yamakawacox@sjsu.edu
  
Ernie Martinez

Ernie Martinez

Piano Technician

408.924.4641
ernie.martinez@sjsu.edu 

Anita McClintick

Renee McClintick

Program Analyst 

408.924.4676
anita.mcclintick@sjsu.edu

Paul Olivo

Paul Olivo

Resource Center Librarian

408.924.4639
paul.olivo@sjsu.edu

placeholder 

Eliza Rentschler

Scheduling Analyst

 

Collaborative Pianists and Staff Accompanists

Sharon Brook

Sharon Brook

Keyboard Studies

408.924.4651
sharon.brook@sjsu.edu 

Victoria Lington

Victoria Lington

Keyboard Studies

408.924.4650
victoria.lington@sjsu.edu

avatar

David Stein

Keyboard Studies

408.924.5041
david.stein@sjsu.edu