Faculty & Staff by Area



Dr. Edward Harris- Director of Bands

Scott Pierson-Director of Athletic Bands

Natalie Chia- Symphonic Band Conductor

Music Education

Dr. Diana Hollinger  - Area Coordinator. Undergraduate Coordinator

Dr. Jeffrey Benson - Director of Choral Activities

Kara Ireland D’Ambrosio - (elementary music)

Dale Wolford - (instrumental music)


Dr. Kathryn James Adduci - Area Coordinator (trumpet)

Kevin Rivard (French horn)

Tom Hornig  (trombone)

Dr. Matthew Tropman  (tuba/euphonium)

Music Systems & Theory

Dr. Brian Belet - Area Coordinator

Dr. Pablo Furman  (composition)

Dr. Michael Adduci

Dr. Victoria Lington


Dr. Pablo Furman - Area Coordinator

Dr. Brian Belet  (music systems & theory)

Hagé van Dijk  (recording)


Galen Lemmon - Area Coordinator


Dr. Gordon Haramaki - Area Coordinator, Graduate Coordinator

Dr. William Meredith - Beethoven Center Director


Bruce Moyer - Area Coordinator (bass)

Michael DiGiacinto - Director of Orchestra

Steven Lin  Guitar Ensemble (guitar)

Diane Nicholeris (violin)

Karen Kirk Thielen  (harp)

Peter Gelfand (cello)

Jazz Studies

Dr. Aaron Lington  - Area Coordinator  (saxophone)

Dahveed Behroozi (piano)

Jason Lewis  (drums)

Jeff Lewis  (trumpet & Latin Jazz)

John Shifflett  (bass)

Rick Vandivier  (guitar)

Scott Whitfield (trombone)

Vocal Performance

Layna Chianakas  - Area Coordinator (mezzo-soprano)

Dr. Jeffrey Benson - Director of Choral Activities

Joseph Frank - (tenor)

Michael DiGiacinto - Music Director of Opera Theatre

Sandra Bengochea

Krassen Karagiozov

Keyboard Studies

Dr. Gwendolyn Mok - Area Coordinator

Sharon Brook  (piano and staff accompanist)

Dr. Victoria Lington  (piano and staff accompanist)

David Simi (organ)

Joan H. Stubbe (piano and general education)

Dr. Namiq Sultanov  (piano)


Dr. Janet Averett - Area Coordinator (clarinet)

Dr. Michael Adduci  (oboe and English horn)

Dr. Yueh Chou  (bassoon)

Catherine Payne  (flute)

Dale Wolford (saxophone)



Joseph Frank - School of Music and Dance Director

Ernie Martinez - Piano Technician

Anita McClintick - Administrative Analyst

Paul Olivo - Resource Center Librarian

Scott Pierson - SJSU Marching Band Director 

Lucy Yamakawa-Cox - Financial Analyst