2006 Announcements

UPC Funds: Conference for Faculty (pdf)

As you know, President Kassing has approved funding several University Planning projects related to the theme of Investment in Faculty. As a result of the UPC’s recommendation and the President’s action each probationary or tenured faculty member will be entitled to receive an allocation of up to $750.00 to fund travel to professional conferences. These funds may be used to supplement other funds (Lottery Professional Development funds and college and department professional development funds) but not to substitute for them.

Appointment of the Associate Vice President for Institutional Research

Dr. Sutee Sujitparapitaya was announced as the future Associate Vice President for Institutional Research. He will assume his duties effectiveAugust 1, 2006.  (Posted7/7/06)

Appointment of the Dean of the College of Science

Dr. J. Michael Parrish was announced as the future Dean of the College of Science. He will assume his duties during the summer of 2006 from Dr. Vida Kenk, who has served with distinction as Interim Dean since January 2005.  (Posted5/19/06)

Appointment of the Dean of the College of Social Sciences

Dr. Timothy Hegstrom was announced as the new Dean of the College of Social Sciences on May 16, 2006. Dr. Hegstrom has served as the Interim Dean since June 2004 and was the Associate Dean of that college for two years prior to that.  (Posted5/19/06)

Appointment of the Dean of the College of Humanities and Arts

Karl Toepfer was appointed as the new Dean of the College of Humanities and the Arts. Dr. Toepfer, who has served as Interim Dean of that College since November 2004, previously held the position of. Associate Dean.  (Posted 5/09/06)

Appointment of Associate Vice President for Faculty Affairs

Dr. Joan Merdinger was announced as the new Associate Vice President for Faculty Affairs on April 4, 2006. Her appointment is effective immediately. Dr. Merdinger has served as Interim AVP for Faculty Affairs since July 2004. Prior to assuming the position in the Office of Faculty Affairs she served as the MSW Program Director and the MSW Field Education Director.  (Posted4/11/06)