College Awards and Semester Highlights

College of Applied Sciences and Arts


SJSU Air Force ‘Warriors’ Take Home Trophy

In March, cadets from Air Force ROTC Detachment 045 participated in the Warrior Challenge, a fierce competition at Spartan Stadium where they championed over their rivals from Fresno State University.
Cadet Wing Commander Monica Tran (pictured above with Lt. Col. Douglas Lomsdalen) was pleased that she and her teammates were able to bring the trophy home after losing it last year to Fresno.


Helen Stevens Scholarship

Helen L. Stevens Scholarship Helps Students Learn Overseas

Twelve students received the inaugural Helen L. Stevens Faculty-Led Program Scholarship from the College of Applied Sciences and Arts. Stevens helped to select the 12 students who received $500 toward their summer travel programs. The students are also part of a pilot effort to increase opportunities for international experiences being undertaken by CASA students, with an ultimate goal of making some type of international education required for all graduates of the 10 departments and schools in the college.
Scholarship winners:

  • Aly Mauro
  • Cynthia Ting
  • Aleli Blanco
  • Cedric Tumanut
  • Jayne Baltazar
  • Jennifer Leocadio
  • Lesley Paige
  • Michael Celso
  • Samantha Rodgers
  • Crystal Diaz
  • Kelli Daley
  • Kayla Koterbay


Circle of Learning

First Cohort of First Circle of Learning Scholars Completed their Degrees

Preserving endangered languages, addressing health literacy challenges, digitizing tribal records, and managing tribal collections―just a glimpse of where the first Circle of Learning scholars to earn their graduate degrees are heading with their new knowledge and leadership skills.

The Circle of Learning (COL) program was launched in 2010, with a goal to increase the number of American Indian and Alaska Native librarians and archivists who are prepared to serve tribal communities. It’s a noteworthy goal if you consider that less than 0.3% of our nation's librarians are American Indians and Alaska Natives.

In December 2013, the first five COL scholars completed the Master of Library and Information Science (MLIS) program at the School of Library and Information Science at San José State University (SJSU). Another nine COL scholars are on track to earn their MLIS degrees in May 2014.

Although the 19 Circle of Learning scholars are just now completing their graduate degrees, they are already making a huge impact on their communities, from Alaska to New Mexico. Click here to read more.


Faculty Awards

  • Ashwini Wagle – CASA Committee to Enhance Equity and Diversity Award
  • Kasuen Mauldin – 2014 California Dietetics Association Excellence in Research Award and CSU Program for Education and Research in Biotechnology, travel grant
  • Marjorie Freedman – 2013 Champions of Health Award from the California Center for Public Health Advocacy
  • Tamara McKinnon - SJSU Annual Service Learning and Community Engagement Award, faculty lecturer
  • Michelle Holschuh, Michael Stehens and Melba Tomeo – 2013 Excellence in Online Teaching Award (Web-based Information Science Education Consortium)
  • Suzy Ross - SJSU Annual Service Learning and Community Engagement Award, faculty lecturer
  • Lynne Andonion - SJSU Annual Service Learning and Community Engagement Award, faculty professor
  • Winfred Schultz-Krohn – SJSU Outstanding Professor Award
  • Pamela Richardson – Award of Excellence, Occupational Therapy Association of California
  • Deborah Bolding – Roster of Fellows, American Occupational Therapy Association


Student Awards

  • Derek Jenkins, Tyler Broder, Kristen Dava, Andrew Clift - American Legion General Military Excellence Award
  • Megan Etkind, Jacob Lambert, Jacob Tierney, Jason Bassett - American Legion Scholastic Excellence Award
  • Isra Ahmad – SJSU Outstanding Senior Award
  • Stephanie Wong and Christina Cobb – First place, best special section, California College Media Association Annual Awards
  • Chris Phillips – Gold and silver place, Silicon Valley’s American Advertising Federation American Advertising Awards, radio student category
  • SJSU Iota Chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma – National Criminal Justice Honor Society Outstanding Leadership Award and Outstanding Yearbook Award
  • Debbie Reese - CASA Committee to Enhance Equity and Diversity Award
  • American Library Association Student Chapter of the Year
  • Abby Barton – 2014 Maddak Award, student division