Committees administered by the Office of the Provost 

College of Graduate Studies Dean Search

Position Profile:

Reporting to the provost, the dean will serve as the chief academic officer for graduate education at SJSU. As such, she/he will champion the importance of the graduate mission of the University as a passionate spokesperson and effective leader in all aspects of graduate academic matters, e.g., curriculum, enrollment, retention and time-to-degree, financial support for graduate students and competitive support packages, and collaboration with deans, program directors, chairs and graduate faculty. The dean will help foster an inclusive environment that diversifies our graduate student population and develops graduate programs that align with our mission as an HSI and AANAPISI campus. Paramount will be the design of programs that fit student needs, working across organizational units in order to grow and develop these contemporary graduate programs. 

With a burgeoning reputation for innovation and transformative learning experiences, the graduate dean will emphasize both growth and innovation, while remaining committed to SJSU’s core values, i.e., developing and nurturing graduate programs that provide students’ opportunities to contribute to the common good of society while pursuing career-focused aspirations. Thus, graduate education at SJSU serves as the catalyst for future accomplishment in an environment that is increasingly global and information-based.

The dean must work effectively with departments, faculty, staff, and other senior administrators to define, articulate, and successfully implement a distinctive vision for the College of Graduate Studies. As a member of the provost's Academic Affairs Leadership Team, the dean works with the president, provost, and other deans and senior administrators to manage the university's resources to accomplish the college and university goals.

For more information and to apply (Job ID #25093), visit:

Search Committee:

Chair: Carlos Sanchez

  • John Briggs, Analyst, Institutional Research
  • Lionel Cheruzel, Professor, Chemistry
  • Julia Dunn, Graduate Student, MFA Creative Writing
  • Heather Lattimer, Dean, Lurie College of Education
  • Carlos Sanchez, Professor, Philosophy
  • Karthika Sasikumar, Professor, Political Science
  • Birsen Sirkeci, Associate Professor, Electrical Engineering