2015-16 RSCA events and workshops

Many research, scholarship and creative activity-related sessions are being offered this fall. They represent the collaborative efforts of the staff of the Office of Research, the Research Foundation, the Tower Foundation, the Martin Luther King, Jr. Library, the Center for Faculty Development as well as a number of faculty members and administrators across campus.

The University Grants Academy

Information session. (This particular program is open to tenured and tenure-track faculty only.)

Friday, Sept. 4, noon to 1 p.m., IRC 210,

Thursday, Sept. 10, 1-2 p.m., via WebEx


Colleague Collaboration Connection

Like speed dating, for researchers

Thursday, Sept. 17, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., MLK 255/257

 

The Responsible Conduct of Research

All about ethics, professional & personal responsibility, IRB, & IACUC in planning, conducting and disseminating your research, scholarship and creative activity Thurs

Thursday, Oct. 1, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., MLK 255/257


Moving from Idea to Proposal

Workshop on drafting a proposal summary as a first step toward seeking funding for your work

Friday, Oct. 2, 9:30-11:45 a.m., IRC 210


Tips from Journal Editors and Librarians

Lunch and Learn Panel – SJSU colleagues share their expert advice (as editors and the like)

Monday, Oct. 5 or Tuesday, Oct. 6, noon to 1:15 p.m., MLK 255/257


Introduction to the Research Foundation

Focus on PreAward process

Thursday, Oct. 15, 11:30 a.m. to 1:15 p.m., MLK 255/257


What you need to know about budgets

For preparing a RSCA grant proposal

Wednesday, Oct. 21, 3 to 4 p.m., IRC 210 and via WebEx

Local and State Governments as RSCA Funders

How to find out about these opportunities

Monday, Nov. 9, noon to 1 p.m., RC 210 and via WebEx

Writing Marathon

Just writing, uninterrupted, for one, two or three days. Coffee, tea, lunch and a quiet and supportive environment provided.

Thursday, Nov. 12, Friday, Nov. 13, and Monday, Nov. 16, from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m. in MLK 213 and 225/229


Tour of Research Foundation, the College of International and Extended Studies, and the Mineta Transportation Institute

An SJSU campus Point of Pride event

Friday, Nov. 13, 10 a.m. to 1 p.m., 210 N. 4th street (free parking in parking structure adjacent to the building)

Foundations as RSCA Funders

Which have funded SJSU faculty RSCA?

Tuesday, Nov. 17, noon to 1 p.m., IRC 210 and via WebEx

The federal government as RSCA Funder

What agencies have funded SJSU faculty? For what kinds of projects?

Wednesday, Nov. 18, noon to 1 p.m., IRC 210 and via WebEx

Taking the bite out of forms

Learning to navigate the *!$*?#forms that can make proposal writing and submission a challenge

Thursday, Nov. 19, 11:30 a.m. to 1 p.m., MLK 255/257

Understanding The Proposal Review Process

How to increase your chances of a favorable outcome

Wednesday, Dec. 9, from 2-3 p.m., IRC 210 and via WebEx

Creation of surveys and survey items

Workshop on how to create effective surveys

Multiple dates in spring 2016


For more information

For more information on these or other RSCA supports, contact Amy Strage (amy.strage@sjsu.edu), Gilles Muller (gilles.muller@sjsu.edu) or Amy D'Andrade (amy.dandrade@sjsu.edu). They also open to suggestions of other ways to support faculty in their RSCA agendas.

Visit the Center for Faculty  Development for other support services.