The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot is an engaging, true story of Henrietta Lacks, her family, and how her cells became immortal.  The cells have been used in medical research for decades although her family only found out about it decades later.  There will be many opportunities to engage with the book and connect with others on campus this fall.

Book Discussion Opportunities

Clark Hall 100h

Tuesday, August 30 Noon – 1 pm

Wednesday, August 31 2 – 3 pm

Thursday, September 8 Noon – 1 pm

Tuesday, September 28 3 – 4 pm

Wednesday, October 5 1 – 2 pm

Thursday, October 13 3 – 4 pm

Wednesday, October 19 Noon – 1 pm

Monday, November 7 Noon – 1 pm

Wednesday, November 16 1 – 2 pm

Thursday, December 1 2 – 3 pm in Campus Village options, at Living Learning Center, Bldg. B

Monday, September 12 6 – 7 pm

Thursday, September 29 5 – 6 pm

Additional Events

Check website to confirm time and location

Take a break and enjoy a movie on a related topic:
o Miss Evers' Boy – Wednesday, September 14
o Gattaca - Thursday, October 20
o Extraordinary Measures - Tuesday, November 15 in Clark 117

View HeLa Cells on Campus

Hosted by our resident authority Professor Brandon White
in DH 644:
o Aug 24 Wed 11 -12
o Sept 6 Tues. 12 - 1 pm
o Sept 21 Wed 11 -12
o Oct 5 Wed 11 -12
o Oct 18 Tues 12 - 1 pm
o Nov 2 Wed 11 -12
o Dec. 6 Tues. 12 - 1 pm

Lectures

Meet David Lacks, Henrietta's Son

Hear what Henrietta's son has to say about his mother, the HeLa cells, the book by Skloot, and more.
Monday, October 3 from 3 – 4 pm in ENG 189

"Our Cells, Ourselves: Henrietta Lacks, HeLa cells, and Ethical Issues in Biomedical Research"

Philosophy Professor Janet Stemwedel
Wednesday, September 21 at 4 pm in ENG 285

"HeLa Cells: Applications and Uses"

Biology Professor Brandon White,
Wednesday, October 26, noon, MLK 225/229

“Doing Oral and Family History: From Henrietta Lacks to Silicon Valley" 

History Professor Margo McBane
Monday, November 21 at 2:30 pm., MLK 255